We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Customer Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Edinburgh Thistle Hotel
Ranked #90 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Good Customer Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2011

We stayed here, the location was great for first time visitors to Edinburgh, room was very nice and service was great.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brandon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thistlehot, Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time and comment on your recent stay at the Edinburgh Thistle hotel.

Happy to know the hotel location suited you and the hotel services met your expectations.

Thank you once again and we will be more then happy to welcome you once again.

Kind regards
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    282
    234
    79
    27
    16
See reviews for
122
267
49
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Larkhall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2011

stayed for one night with two friends very clean, friendly staff willing to assist with any request with a smile Annick even looked after our bags to let us go shopping ! Would recommend without hesitation. Bar area good size and welcoming and homely.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcwhimag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thistlehot, Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking time and comment on your recent stay at the Edinburgh Thistle Hotel.

Glad to know you enjoyed your theatre trip in Edinburgh and had a lovely time at the hotel.

We at the Thistle will be very happy to welcome you on your next visit to Edinburgh.

Kind regards
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

Reasonably priced, traditional hotel run by friendly and helpful staff, situated in a quiet street but a short walk to Edinburgh City Centre. When I arrived, Late Rooms had failed to forward my booking details to the hotel, but this didn't seem to present a problem and I was quickly and efficiently found a comfortable and well-equipped room. Breakfast was of a good standard and served in the pleasant dining room on the first floor. I would stay again.

Room Tip: No lift - so avoid the third floor unless you are reasonably fit!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarcusPorciusCato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thistlehot, Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2011
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for taking time and comment on your recent stay at the Edinburgh Thistle Hotel.

Sorry to know that we did not have your booking details on arrival, it was quiet unusual as we normally receive two confirmations from laterooms one by fax and another by email and in this case we did not receive any, we did inform Laterooms about the same and I am glad my colleague soughted the problem quickly and efficiently.

Happy to know you enjoyed our breakfast and the Thistle hotel met your expectations.

Thank you for your nice comments and we will be happy to welcome you once again and extend our hospitality.

Kind regards,
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

I was drawn to stay at the Thistle by the wamth of the reviews for the hotel. Having now stayed for two nights here, I came away feeling that the hotel does all you would expect, but not to the point of a gushing five star review.

Let me explain. It's situated in the heart of the West End, in an elegant terraced Georgian town house, with much of the original fittings intact. You are only a short walk from the very heart of Edinburgh, so full marks there.

The hotel is independently run, certainly not part of the Thistle group in any way. It doesn't have a corporate approach, but rather a slightly offbeat feel only found in single site small hotels. It also doesn't have the corporate financial clout of a big refurbishment budgets to make everything look absolutely perfect. This is distinctly individual, slightly tired in places, and therefore to be seen as a value hotel rather than opulent or grand (faded grandeur perhaps). However, being a town house, the rooms are lofty and very spacious indeed. Beds very comfortable, though furniture and fittings are somewhat dated. However, everything as clean and acceptable.

The hotel staff are all friendly and helpful, unpretentious, and clearly want to get it right. And its their efforts that lifts the experience from average to pleasant.

As someone has previously commented, for location and staff, it's just fine for a comfortable overnight or two on business, and I would opt to stay there again. But for a special occasion, probably not.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abercorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thistlehot, Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking time and comment on your recent stay at the Edinburgh Thistle Hotel.

Delighted to know that the warmth of the reviews on Tripadvisor brought you here and I am happy you were NOT dissapointed.

Yes we proud ourselves as an independently run hotel and NOT a part of any Thistle group. We do have plans of refurbishment, we have already completed two of our en-suite rooms and work is still in progress. We try our best to upgrade the hotel and at the same time maintain the original features of this Georgian building. On your next visit to Edinburgh you may have the opportunity to stay in one of our refurbished en-suite rooms.

Glad to know the hotel location suited you, your bed was comfortable and the Thistle team met your expectations.

Thank you once again for your comments and we will be more then happy to welcome you in the near future.

Kind regards
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
79 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

I stayed in Thistle for one night, as I was on my way to a conference the following morning. Arrived late, but the reception was prepared and had my booking at hand. Nice room, very comfortable bed, large TV, tea and coffee. Wireless for 5pounds which worked perfectly.
Next morning breakfast with extremely helpful staf. I thought it was all self-service but was several times being asked if I needed anything. Very nice.
Check out was painless, and friendly, and the price was nice as well.
I will stay here again!

Room Tip: I stayed in room 24 which was fine but no specific reason to recommend this room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreenBeansSuisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thistlehot, Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time and comment on your recent stay at the Edinburgh Thistle Hotel.

I am happy, the room facilities, the breakfast and the staff were all up to your expectations.

Thank you for the lovely comments and we will be happy to welcome you in the near future.

Kind regards,
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iow
Level Contributor
94 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2011

Stayed while with work so did not get to see the best of this hotel, which we found very average, I would stay again if on business but would look for something a bit different if staying with wife or family, not bad just pretty average

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sean_iow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thistlehot, Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time and feedback on your recent stay at the Edinburgh Thistle Hotel.

Sad to read that you did not have much time to explore the best of this hotel as you were here on a business trip.

We do have spacious and tastefully decorated family rooms, two of our en-suite rooms have a spectacular view of the Edinburgh Castle, especially at night when it is illuminated. For guests wanting to relax and enjoy a drink, we have the Manor Lounge Bar with a very traditional Scottish ambience.

Thank you once again for your comments and we will be more then happy to welcome you once again and extend our hospitality.

Kind regards,
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2011

Very well situated. pressed all the right buttons for me and the misses, bed very comfy, food exellent, service very good, just a nice walk into the main shopping area, all in all very good.
PS A big thank you to the staff, definately deserve a pay rise
John

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thistlehot, Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review, 20 November 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time and comment on your recent stay at the Edinburgh Thistle Hotel.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Staff at the Thistle are always at their best when it comes to Customer satisfaction and I am happy they met your expectations.

We will be very happy to welcome you once again on your next visit to Edinburgh.

Kind regards
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Cityroomz Edinburgh
Cityroomz Edinburgh
#84 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
West End
Brooks Hotel Edinburgh
Brooks Hotel Edinburgh
#87 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Thistle Edinburgh City Centre, The King James
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Channings Hotel
#35 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,236 reviews
West End
The Bonham
The Bonham
#52 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,309 reviews
New Town
Frederick House Hotel
Frederick House Hotel
#111 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edinburgh Thistle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edinburgh Thistle Hotel

Property: Edinburgh Thistle Hotel
Address: 59 Manor Place, Edinburgh EH3 7EG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#37 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#44 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Edinburgh Thistle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Edinburgh Thistle Hotel is located in the prestigious, quiet and residential west end area of Edinburgh New Town.The hotel is central and near to Edinburgh Castle, the Edinburgh International Conference Centre (EICC) and of course the renowned Princes Street with its vast array of stylish shops and stores. Established in 1924, the hotel has retained most of its original period features, having once been a Georgian Town House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Edinburgh Thistle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Edinburgh
Edinburgh Thistle Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing