We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thistle Hotel - perfectly placed for everything Edinburgh has to offer”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Edinburgh Thistle Hotel
Ranked #95 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Thistle Hotel - perfectly placed for everything Edinburgh has to offer”
Reviewed 9 March 2012

We stayed at the Thistle Hotel from 03/03/12 to 05/03/12. The hotel itself is a beautiful Georgian building in the West End of Edinburgh's New Town. It's only a few minutes walk from Haymarket Station so I would recommend that you use this station if travelling by train. The room was large & spacious with a generous sized bed and small bathroom but the lack of bath was no problem as we would not have used it. There was also a large flat screen tv.

Continental breakfast was included in our room rate and was also very generous. There is a choice of juices, tea or coffee, choice of cereals, toast, pain au chocolate, fresh fruit, yogurts and warm croissants!

The staff were all very friendly & helpful and when we checked out they kindly offered to have our bags while we finished off our visit.

Edinburgh is a beautiful city which we really enjoyed visiting. Whether you want to go sightseeing or shop there is something for everyone. I would recommend this hotel to everyone as it is well placed for everything Edinburgh has to offer and has the added bonus of the character of the building as well as being in a quiet street which ensures a good night sleep!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FiBol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thistlehot, Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review on your recent stay at the Edinburgh Thistle Hotel. We are very much delighted to know that the hotel met all your expectations and you really enjoyed your visit in Edinburgh.

Rightly said, Edinburgh is a beautiful city whether you want to go sightseeing or shopping there is something for everyone.

Thank you for recommending us on Trip Advisor, and we will be happy to welcome you again soon.

Kind regards
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    284
    234
    81
    27
    17
See reviews for
124
269
50
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

My young son and I were made to feel very welcome during our recent stay. John on reception was so very kind and helpful in arranging a room with a dvd player for my young son to use during our stay. The hotel was very clean indeed and had a cared for feeling to the place. I really would recommend this hotel and i would like to thank the staff for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thistlehot, Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review, 10 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time and review on your recent stay at the Edinburgh Thistle Hotel. We are delighted to know that you and your son had a wonderful stay at the hotel.

We at the Thistle try our best to make all our guests happy in what ever way we can and make them feel comfortable.

I will pass on your good comments to my team.

Thank you once again and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind regards
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanidloes, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 March 2012

My daughter, grandson (8 months) and I had a wonderful stay at this hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble for them. It is a lovely hotel, clean and full of character. I certainly would go back and would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank May L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thistlehot, Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review on your recent stay at the Edinburgh Thistle Hotel. We are delighted to know you had a wonderful stay and found the hotel lovely, clean and full of character.

Glad to know that you would like to come back, we will be more then happy to welcome you again.

Kind regards
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

What a delightful experience the hotel and its staff provide - such lovely people, spacious rooms, the atmosphere is lovely. Would have no hesitation recommending this lovely hotel and will definitely be back. A short walk into the city centre and its quiet location makes this hotel ideal for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thistlehot, Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Dear Guest,

We at the Thistle are delighted to read your review and would like to thank you for your time and lovely comments.

Glad to know that you had a wonderful experience at the hotel and I am happy that the staff met your expectations.

Thank you once again and we will be more then happy to welcome you in the near future.

Kind regards
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Not to be confused with the chain of hotels under the same name, this delightful establishment is full of character and helpful staff. The location in a quiet and pleasant street is a relatively short distance from the City Centre. The building is traditional with tall, clean, spacious rooms. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff and the breakfasts are fantastic. I use the hotel regularly on frequent business trips and recommend it without reservation.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thistlehot, Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking time and comment on your recent stay at the Edinburgh Thistle Hotel.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel good value for money. Pleased to know that the hotel location, the staff and the breakfast met your expectations.

Thank you once again for your nice comments and we will be more then happy to welcome you in the near future.

Kind regards
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

lovely people running the hotel, we use it regularly for business clients and for friends and family.

excellent location, would definately recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank golzari_ramin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thistlehot, Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your time and feedback. We are delighted to know that you have always enjoyed staying with us and look forward to coming back again.

Thank you once again and we are more then happy to welcome you again.

Kind regards
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

In a location that is quiet but within walking distance of Haymarket and the City Centre. The hotel is clean & comfortable and the staff are friendly and helpful. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. Really enjoyed the Scottish breakfast and loved the character of the building. Would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thistlehot, Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review, 3 February 2012
Dear Guest,

We at the Thistle would like to thank you for taking time and comment on your recent stay with us.

Glad to hear that the Thistle staff, hotel location and the full Scottish breakfast met your expectations.

Thank you once again and we will be happy to welcome you again in the near future.

Kind regards
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Cityroomz Edinburgh
Cityroomz Edinburgh
#83 of 148 in Edinburgh
794 reviews
Southside & Holyrood
Edinburgh City Hotel
Edinburgh City Hotel
#21 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,242 reviews
West End
Haymarket Hub Hotel
Haymarket Hub Hotel
#141 of 148 in Edinburgh
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Brooks Hotel Edinburgh
Brooks Hotel Edinburgh
#87 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,091 reviews
West End
Ritz Edinburgh
Ritz Edinburgh
#143 of 148 in Edinburgh
385 reviews
West End
Grosvenor Gardens Hotel
Grosvenor Gardens Hotel
#130 of 148 in Edinburgh
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edinburgh Thistle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edinburgh Thistle Hotel

Property: Edinburgh Thistle Hotel
Address: 59 Manor Place, Edinburgh EH3 7EG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#37 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#44 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Edinburgh Thistle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Edinburgh Thistle Hotel is located in the prestigious, quiet and residential west end area of Edinburgh New Town.The hotel is central and near to Edinburgh Castle, the Edinburgh International Conference Centre (EICC) and of course the renowned Princes Street with its vast array of stylish shops and stores. Established in 1924, the hotel has retained most of its original period features, having once been a Georgian Town House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Edinburgh Thistle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Edinburgh
Edinburgh Thistle Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing