We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A badly maintained hotel to be booked only when other hotels are full. No parking place.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Edinburgh Thistle Hotel
Ranked #98 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A badly maintained hotel to be booked only when other hotels are full. No parking place.”
Reviewed 15 August 2013

It was difficult for us to find an hotel in festival period by booking only 2 weeks in advance. We selected the Thisytle because their description said there was a parking place. But they have not. They indicate to you some place at 1.5 km.
In our room the curtains and stores fell down as soon as we touched them. The flushing mechanism of the toilets was out of order. The mattres
was tired. The continental breakfeast is correct (equivalent of the one of a 2 star hotel). And this for a high price (around 200 euros per night. Hotel to book only if there is no alternative.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thistlehot, Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Dear guest,

First I would like to apologise for the inconvenience you experience at the hotel during your stay.
A week prior to your arrival we had a roof maintenance day in prevision of the winter and this is a yearly routine check up. The workers access the roof through the windows and unfortunately did not reset the curtains properly , if I recall it was fixed straight away.
regarding the parking we do have a private parking holding 4 cars about 100 meters from the hotel, I checked on the system and the parking was free during your stay.
However the parking is £ 15 for 24 hours and it is up to the customers to use it or not.
I checked with the staff reception in attendance on this day and no booking was made for parking space .
I would like to say it was a pleasure having you as guests and we hope you enjoyed Edinburgh.
The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    290
    241
    87
    29
    18
See reviews for
134
273
50
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Stayed at the hotel during the edinburgh tattoo, but the hotel was quiet, room was good size and clean, staff friendly and continental breakfast was what you would expect. Would book this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claireibra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 August 2013

I arrived to be told my room had the door open to keep the air flowing; yes and that was to keep the damp smell down.
Breakfast was two sittings! 0730 - 0830 and 0830-930. I arrived for breakfast at 0840 where the restaurant was full except for a single table by the door. I sat and waited for 10 mins before being told I had to wait. Two families arrived and were told to go away for ten mins. When I was served I asked if I could have a cook breakfast served after another 10 mins a plated breakfast arrived, however, I had not indicated what I wanted I just got what I was given; it was awful. Only one waitress where everything was served by her, incredible.
The city centre is about 20 mins walk away and public transport is limited. I was travelling on business and next time I travel to Edinburgh I will stay in a real Thistle Hotel not this Faulty Towers type place.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank musictraveller360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

The Thistle Hotel in Edinburgh is located in the New Town, in a typical Georgian house. We stayed in room 24 (2 double bed) which was very spacious with high ceiling. The room was clean with TV and hairdryer (which was a bit on a small size and overheated if used more than few minutes a go).The bathroom is quite small with a shower (with free dispenser of shampoo, hand wash and shower gel) and would benefit from more shelves and a mixer tap. There's no lift but the staircase is big and airy enough so you're not feeling you have to rush up the stairs. As well there are a lot of drawings and paintings of Scotland you can admire on your way to your room. The room was a bit noisy as the cars need to take a detour in front of the hotel (due to the work done, few streets away, for the tram). The continental breakfast consists of tea or coffee, croissants, toasts with choice of jams, marmelades and butter, fruit salad (nice and fresh), cereals (cornflakes, branflakes,etc) and fruit yogurt. The staff is happy to bring you more toasts if you want to.The staff is very friendly and always helpful. the hotel is 10 min walk from the heart of Edinburgh (Princes Street) so very convenient. I would definitely stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birkeland, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Nice, old fashioned and small hotel with a personal style and good, friendly service. Nice rooms with very high ceiling. The center of the building is a large staircase with rooms around the edges. The room was clean and had a big, comfy bathroom. One day we skipped breakfast and came in a little later after a morning stroll, and then they brought us a packed lunch instead! The only minus was that we had to pay a little extra for wifi, but it was no big deal. The place was also pretty close to the city centre, with a bus nearby for the days when we were tired of walking.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hanspivar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2013

The Thistle Hotel is a beautiful small hotel in a Georgian House, very charming with friendly and helpful staff who went the extra mile to meet our needs. The hotel is clean and comfortable and accessible to Edinburgh's major attractions with a 10 minute walk or quick bus ride. There is no lift, a small inconvenience in exchange for the beauty and history of the building. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a lower floor if taking stairs is a difficulty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Very nice, old fashioned, small hotel. Clean and cozy. Perfekt for a weekend trip when all you need is a bed and breakfast. There is no lift in the hotel and all rooms are upstairs. Water pressure in the bathroom is not very good, 3rd floor, so it takes a while to get the shampoo out of your hair. Wi-fi has an overcharge and reception on it is not as good, better to ask for the password in restuauranger with free wi-fi. Overall a good hotel and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helena N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Grosvenor Gardens Hotel
Grosvenor Gardens Hotel
#126 of 149 in Edinburgh
72 reviews
West End
Cityroomz Edinburgh
Cityroomz Edinburgh
#88 of 149 in Edinburgh
827 reviews
West End
Apex Haymarket Hotel
Apex Haymarket Hotel
#74 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Bonham
The Bonham
#50 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,357 reviews
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Channings Hotel
#41 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edinburgh Thistle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edinburgh Thistle Hotel

Property: Edinburgh Thistle Hotel
Address: 59 Manor Place, Edinburgh EH3 7EG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#37 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#44 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Edinburgh Thistle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Edinburgh Thistle Hotel is located in the prestigious, quiet and residential west end area of Edinburgh New Town.The hotel is central and near to Edinburgh Castle, the Edinburgh International Conference Centre (EICC) and of course the renowned Princes Street with its vast array of stylish shops and stores. Established in 1924, the hotel has retained most of its original period features, having once been a Georgian Town House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Edinburgh Thistle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Edinburgh
Edinburgh Thistle Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing