We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Edinburgh Thistle Hotel
Ranked #103 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Everything is good, I like the traditional style of the hotel. However, there are something that need to be considered : 10 pounds for 1 day using wifi (although the price for 2 days were 520 pounds), the receptionist was sometime unfriendly (or maybe because we are Asian ethic)
The worst thing is when I met problem with the wifi connection, the receptionist didnt care about it. And when we checked out, she even slander us cheating (she said we didnt pay for the wifi internet). Although I knew that might be a mistake in their communication, it make me feel so bad :(

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Namtran87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (684)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

406 - 412 of 685 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2013

Hotel was not up to the standard one associates with the 'Thistle' brand name.
The building itself was lovely outside inside would benefit from refurbishment.

Continental breakfast included in price was very poor both quality and choice. When asked if we could take some toast and fruit to our bedroom instead of eating in the dining room was informed 'we don't allow that, as you may get mice in the bedrooms if you take food to your room'. We did note although no restaurant facilities available after breakfast you could order in a takeaway meal which the staff would carry to your room and charge you £2.50 for this privelege, (obviously it appears this type of food not subject to the mice concern!!!)

Staff generally were helpful and friendly. Would not stay in this hotel when I next return to Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rhona h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

The hotel was fine for our needs as we were out all day. The staff were very attentive and friendly and breakfast was continental style although we could have had a cooked one for an additional charge. The rooms were clean and well maintained but over all I think the hotel is ready to be modernised. In a nice area of Edinburgh with a 20 minute walk to the station.

Room Tip: There is no lift so choose a room on 1st or 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Drlipman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

This was our last hotel on our weeks visit to Scotland. It is not the best, it was ok for our needs. It was very busy due to festivities but in nice area. Edinburgh beautiful City, so much to see here and round Scotland. Staff were friendly but breakfast was awful.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rafeal P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

It was difficult for us to find an hotel in festival period by booking only 2 weeks in advance. We selected the Thisytle because their description said there was a parking place. But they have not. They indicate to you some place at 1.5 km.
In our room the curtains and stores fell down as soon as we touched them. The flushing mechanism of the toilets was out of order. The mattres
was tired. The continental breakfeast is correct (equivalent of the one of a 2 star hotel). And this for a high price (around 200 euros per night. Hotel to book only if there is no alternative.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thistlehot, Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

Dear guest,

First I would like to apologise for the inconvenience you experience at the hotel during your stay.
A week prior to your arrival we had a roof maintenance day in prevision of the winter and this is a yearly routine check up. The workers access the roof through the windows and unfortunately did not reset the curtains properly , if I recall it was fixed straight away.
regarding the parking we do have a private parking holding 4 cars about 100 meters from the hotel, I checked on the system and the parking was free during your stay.
However the parking is £ 15 for 24 hours and it is up to the customers to use it or not.
I checked with the staff reception in attendance on this day and no booking was made for parking space .
I would like to say it was a pleasure having you as guests and we hope you enjoyed Edinburgh.
The Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Stayed at the hotel during the edinburgh tattoo, but the hotel was quiet, room was good size and clean, staff friendly and continental breakfast was what you would expect. Would book this hotel again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claireibra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

I arrived to be told my room had the door open to keep the air flowing; yes and that was to keep the damp smell down.
Breakfast was two sittings! 0730 - 0830 and 0830-930. I arrived for breakfast at 0840 where the restaurant was full except for a single table by the door. I sat and waited for 10 mins before being told I had to wait. Two families arrived and were told to go away for ten mins. When I was served I asked if I could have a cook breakfast served after another 10 mins a plated breakfast arrived, however, I had not indicated what I wanted I just got what I was given; it was awful. Only one waitress where everything was served by her, incredible.
The city centre is about 20 mins walk away and public transport is limited. I was travelling on business and next time I travel to Edinburgh I will stay in a real Thistle Hotel not this Faulty Towers type place.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank musictraveller360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Broughton & Calton
Regent House Hotel
Regent House Hotel
#129 of 151 in Edinburgh
18 reviews
West End
Ritz Edinburgh
Ritz Edinburgh
#147 of 151 in Edinburgh
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leith
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
#83 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,245 reviews
West End
Brooks Hotel Edinburgh
Brooks Hotel Edinburgh
#86 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,167 reviews
West End
Cityroomz Edinburgh
Cityroomz Edinburgh
#96 of 151 in Edinburgh
903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edinburgh Thistle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edinburgh Thistle Hotel

Address: 59 Manor Place, Edinburgh EH3 7EG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#37 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#44 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £58 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Edinburgh Thistle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Edinburgh Thistle Hotel is located in the prestigious, quiet and residential west end area of Edinburgh New Town.The hotel is central and near to Edinburgh Castle, the Edinburgh International Conference Centre (EICC) and of course the renowned Princes Street with its vast array of stylish shops and stores. Established in 1924, the hotel has retained most of its original period features, having once been a Georgian Town House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Edinburgh Thistle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Edinburgh
Edinburgh Thistle Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing