We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Edinburgh Thistle Hotel
Ranked #90 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Ullapool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pleasant place”
Reviewed 14 September 2013

My first visit to Edinburgh n stay at Thistle hotel.The upper floor rooms are quiter.Excellent staff members n good hospitality .Scottish traditional bar n well stocked.Left one suitcase n took trip to highlands.Planned visit next week again

Room Tip: Upper rooms are quiter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Skype2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    284
    234
    81
    27
    16
See reviews for
123
269
50
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ostfildern, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

A small but nice hotel in walking distance of the Castle. The hotel staff was absolutely wonderful and we felt right at home. We had a family room to the back which was nice and quiet. The bar is well equipped and the perfect place for one or two nightcaps with the kids just upstairs. The Thistle is an excellent base for exploring Edinburgh on foot and all in all it was a perfect stay. If we're in Edinburgh again we'll be back :)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Isabel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
preston
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

Nice twin room. Good location. Bad points room too hot no AC, couldnt open window as too noisy. Breakfast very good on first morning but on second hot buffet was lukewarm. Nice friendly staff and we were able to leave our cases last day whilst we went shopping.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Welikethelakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

The Thistle is off the beaten track and could easily be missed. This is a plus because it is quiet and cozy. It has the feel of an old country pub. The stairs are a killer, but the rooms are perfectly adequate. The manager, the night manager/bartender and the breakfast staff were all pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ET-PR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We come from Luxemburg and had the chance to stay in that cute and cosy Thistle Hotel, 59 Manor place in Edinburgh during our August vacation this year.
We had the chance to meet Annick and Gregory Favier the managers of the hotel and they were so friendly and attentive it was a pleasure, they helped us trough all our stay and recommended us for the restaurants, visits etc..

The rooms were lovely and well decorated, and spacious and more than clean and the breakfast (continental or Scottish breakfast) was very nice to start the day.
I would surely recommend this hotel without a doubt, and we are planning another stay this Chrismas with my husband and have already booked our room.
So if you need a stay in Edinburgh go to the Thistle Hotel 59 Manor place and ask Annick and Greg.

Room Tip: Big and well decorated and very clean bedrooms and hotel very well situated in Edinburgh!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Everything is good, I like the traditional style of the hotel. However, there are something that need to be considered : 10 pounds for 1 day using wifi (although the price for 2 days were 520 pounds), the receptionist was sometime unfriendly (or maybe because we are Asian ethic)
The worst thing is when I met problem with the wifi connection, the receptionist didnt care about it. And when we checked out, she even slander us cheating (she said we didnt pay for the wifi internet). Although I knew that might be a mistake in their communication, it make me feel so bad :(

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Namtran87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Hotel was not up to the standard one associates with the 'Thistle' brand name.
The building itself was lovely outside inside would benefit from refurbishment.

Continental breakfast included in price was very poor both quality and choice. When asked if we could take some toast and fruit to our bedroom instead of eating in the dining room was informed 'we don't allow that, as you may get mice in the bedrooms if you take food to your room'. We did note although no restaurant facilities available after breakfast you could order in a takeaway meal which the staff would carry to your room and charge you £2.50 for this privelege, (obviously it appears this type of food not subject to the mice concern!!!)

Staff generally were helpful and friendly. Would not stay in this hotel when I next return to Edinburgh.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rhona h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Cityroomz Edinburgh
Cityroomz Edinburgh
#84 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
West End
Brooks Hotel Edinburgh
Brooks Hotel Edinburgh
#89 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,070 reviews
Channings Hotel
#37 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Bonham
The Bonham
#51 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,319 reviews
New Town
Frederick House Hotel
Frederick House Hotel
#113 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
West End
Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edinburgh Thistle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edinburgh Thistle Hotel

Property: Edinburgh Thistle Hotel
Address: 59 Manor Place, Edinburgh EH3 7EG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#37 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#44 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Edinburgh Thistle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Edinburgh Thistle Hotel is located in the prestigious, quiet and residential west end area of Edinburgh New Town.The hotel is central and near to Edinburgh Castle, the Edinburgh International Conference Centre (EICC) and of course the renowned Princes Street with its vast array of stylish shops and stores. Established in 1924, the hotel has retained most of its original period features, having once been a Georgian Town House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Edinburgh Thistle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Edinburgh
Edinburgh Thistle Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing