We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“suited our needs and clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Edinburgh Thistle Hotel
Ranked #90 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“suited our needs and clean”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We stayed here on our way back home after a few days away. Impressed with the hotel and the cleanliness which for me is so important. Enjoyed a good nights sleep before back home.---------------------

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thistlehot, Front Office Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Stephen

We would like to thank you for chosing the Thistle Hotel for you stay, we are also very pleased to hear that you for the hotel staff friendly and that you were impressed by the cleanliness

Regards

Neil
Duty Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    284
    234
    80
    27
    16
See reviews for
122
269
50
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alicante, Spain
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2014

the hotel is fantastic and well located, and all the stuff working there are very friendly and helpful. We are a group of adult students from Spain, and we have been in the hotel several times. All the people in the group (more or les 20 people), were very happy about everything!!
I recommend it!!!

Room Tip: all the rooms are fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank maria e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thistlehot, Front Office Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear maria

we thank you for staying with us and are please to hear that your visit was great as usual, and you found out staff nice and helpful. We look forward to welcoming you back to stay at the thistle hotel in the future

Regards

Neil
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 March 2014

The hotel is 5/10 mins away from edinburgh city centre, got parked easy enough. The hotel was nice and quiet considering that the edinburgh tatoo was on. I would recommend if your looking for a nice quiet time and a lovely room. Staff were nice as well.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claireibra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thistlehot, Front Office Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear claireibra,

we thank you for staying with us and are please to hear that the stay was to your satisfaction, and you found out staff nice and friendly. We look forward to welcoming you back to stay at the thistle hotel in the future

Regards

Neil
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larvik, Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Stayed for a long weekend, nice hotel and staff. God place to stay for a town visit. Walking distance to center of town and shopping streets.........................................................................

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Stig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thistlehot, Front Office Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Stig,

We thank you for staying with us, and are pleased that the stay was a pleasant one for you. We hope to welcome you back again to stay with us in the future

Regards

Neil
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

The service was friendly and helpful. Location is good as it's only a 20 minute walk to the main attractions. The single room was adequate. ..nothing special but for bed & breakfast it was very overpriced. Not worth the exorbitant price.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jmm_19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thistlehot, Front Office Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear Jmm_19,

we are sorry to hear that you felt we were over priced for a B & B. Our standard single is a new room and I am sorry you found it just adequate for your stay. We hope this would not stop you saying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Stayed for a night in December whilst moving house and had a very comfortable nights sleep followed by a satisfying breakfast. The rooms are large and well decorated and the building well styled with a lot of original features, the location was great tucked away in a residential area but only a few minutes from city centre.

Room Tip: There is no lift so if you don't like stairs might be best to ask for a room on one of the lower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank adifferentbeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thistlehot, Front Office Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear adifferentbeat,

we at the thistle appreciate your feedback and sorry you found the stairs difficult, we do offer lower floor rooms and look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in June.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Nova Scotia. Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Sevan of us stayed in the Hotel on Manor Place,Edinburgh for three days .[ Not The 5 star Thistle Hotel of the same name.] Staff excellant in every way. Place quaint , clean and close to downtown. .It is a heritage building that cannot be renovated which means there is no elevator ...but there are three floors of very steep stairs . Rooms are reasonably well appointed but narrow and older [ but functional furniture] . Grossly overpriced in my opinion . [ Check yourself BEFORE booking. ] Good full breakfast ...if you want to buy it , again at a gross overprice. ] Otherwise take the continental that is provided . ] Hotel management cannot help it but the view out the breakfast room is along the back side of several buildings with outside drain and sewer pipes. Suggest the hotel close the blinds at breakfast time .

Room Tip: Ask for Ist floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Dublintours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thistlehot, Front Office Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear Dublintours,

we are sorry that you feel we are over priced, and the breakfast was over charged, however we do appreciate your feedback and suggestion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Cityroomz Edinburgh
Cityroomz Edinburgh
#83 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
West End
Brooks Hotel Edinburgh
Brooks Hotel Edinburgh
#88 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,067 reviews
Channings Hotel
#37 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Bonham
The Bonham
#52 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,319 reviews
New Town
Frederick House Hotel
Frederick House Hotel
#114 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
West End
Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edinburgh Thistle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edinburgh Thistle Hotel

Property: Edinburgh Thistle Hotel
Address: 59 Manor Place, Edinburgh EH3 7EG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#37 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#44 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Edinburgh Thistle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Edinburgh Thistle Hotel is located in the prestigious, quiet and residential west end area of Edinburgh New Town.The hotel is central and near to Edinburgh Castle, the Edinburgh International Conference Centre (EICC) and of course the renowned Princes Street with its vast array of stylish shops and stores. Established in 1924, the hotel has retained most of its original period features, having once been a Georgian Town House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Edinburgh Thistle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Edinburgh
Edinburgh Thistle Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing