We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, Quaint, Close to All”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Edinburgh Thistle Hotel
Ranked #98 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Charming, Quaint, Close to All”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Our stay was excellent. From the moment we walked in the door, Annick greeted us as if we had just stepped into the home of our great aunt. We stayed in the Manor Suite; huge open space, almost like a studio apt, comfy bed & a view overlooking the street with large impressive windows. Having just come from EU, we forgot to get USA-->UK power adapters and Annick was kind enough to loan us one of hers. Location is perfect! We walked everywhere from there. Every staff member was extremely helpful & went out of their way when we needed something. We will definitely stay there again when visiting Edinburgh.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jipsee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thistlehot, Front Office Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Dear Jipsee,

We would like to thank you for choosing the Edinburgh Thistle Hotel for your trip to Edinburgh, we are pleased to hear that you had a remarkable stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future,

Regards

Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    284
    234
    81
    27
    17
See reviews for
124
269
50
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Solvesborg, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Its the second time we have stayed in Thistle hotel and we found it super as the last time.
We like the old fashion stile in the entrance and restaurang/pub. The atmosphere, staff, breakfest and the nice rooms fullfill all the expectations. Perfect distance to the city centre.
Next stay will defentive be the Thistle again.
Lena & Co. Sweden
..

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LenaFV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thistlehot, Front Office Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Dear LenaFV

We would like to thank you for you feedback and for choosing the Edinburgh Thistle Hotel to stay at for your trip to Edinburgh. I am please to hear that "the atmosphere, staff, breakfast and the nice rooms fulfilled all your expectations."

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Staff made us very welcome during our stay.Room 4 in the basement very cramp for a family of 3 and was kept awake by poor piano playing and other noises.i would stay at this hotel again but would avoid the basement.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 16alexm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thistlehot, Front Office Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Dear Alex

Firstly i would like to thank you for staying with us at the Thistle Hotel, and apologize for that you did not sleep very well due to some noises and the piano player next door. I am pleased to hear that the staff made you feel welcome and were helpful.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I har a Lovely stay at Thistle. The staff were great and very helpful. The breakfest offered was versitile so there is something for everyone. The room was great, high ceiling and a lot of space. If I return to Edinburgh then I will most definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarolineO4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thistlehot, Front Office Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Dear CarolineO4,

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, and that you found our staff to be "Helpful". As breakfast is the main meal of the day we try to cater for everybody.

We Look Forward to welcoming you back at the Thistle Hotel in the future

Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiavari, Italy
Level Contributor
155 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

I was in Thistle hotel for the festival,i had a good double room with my girlfriend.
Just close to the center.Ironing board and kettle were provided.No complain at all.Good price.I think to come back in my lovely Edinburgh where is always party time!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank simpleminds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thistlehot, Front Office Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Dear simpleminds

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel and had "No Complaints". We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Great welcoming hotel just round the corner from Haymarket Stn. Neil made me very welcome and I was given a single room on the basement floor. Room decent size with all that you might need. Bathroom spotless and nicely appointed. Bar served numerous whiskies and plenty of beer options. Massive tele on the wall for any sporting occasion was also in the bar area. Now the best bit....the cooked breakfast was second too none..2 of everything with toast and as much tea as you wanted. Although you pay extra for the brekkie it is worth it !. If I had one minor gripe it is that the single room is under the kitchen so being a light sleeper I was awake around 6 30. If Neil and the team are there next year I will be returning . Dave

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thistlehot, Front Office Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Dear David,

We thank you for you recent feedback, I am please to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, And that you will be returning next year for your "second to none" Full Scottish Breakfast.

Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredrikstad, Norway
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We had a great weekend on Thistle hotel.. The service was exellent, the rooms were big, nice and clean. The staff who worked there was very nice and helpful. Breakfast was really good! :)
We are going back next year!

Room Tip: Suite nr. 24 :) Thats the room we were staying on. But i think that all the rooms are really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lene Marie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thistlehot, Front Office Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Dear Lene Marie M,

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and will be returning next year. we are glad that you found our staff nice and helpful, and that you enjoyed Breakfast.

we look forward to seeing you next year

Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Cityroomz Edinburgh
Cityroomz Edinburgh
#83 of 148 in Edinburgh
793 reviews
West End
Haymarket Hub Hotel
Haymarket Hub Hotel
#141 of 148 in Edinburgh
18 reviews
Southside & Holyrood
Edinburgh City Hotel
Edinburgh City Hotel
#21 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Brooks Hotel Edinburgh
Brooks Hotel Edinburgh
#88 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,090 reviews
West End
The Bonham
The Bonham
#48 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,326 reviews
West End
Ritz Edinburgh
Ritz Edinburgh
#143 of 148 in Edinburgh
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edinburgh Thistle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edinburgh Thistle Hotel

Property: Edinburgh Thistle Hotel
Address: 59 Manor Place, Edinburgh EH3 7EG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#37 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#44 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Edinburgh Thistle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Edinburgh Thistle Hotel is located in the prestigious, quiet and residential west end area of Edinburgh New Town.The hotel is central and near to Edinburgh Castle, the Edinburgh International Conference Centre (EICC) and of course the renowned Princes Street with its vast array of stylish shops and stores. Established in 1924, the hotel has retained most of its original period features, having once been a Georgian Town House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Edinburgh Thistle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Edinburgh
Edinburgh Thistle Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing