We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly Scottish Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Edinburgh Thistle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Edinburgh Thistle Hotel
Ranked #91 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Ellesmere, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly Scottish Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed in the family room for two nights during the Edinburgh Festival. The staff were friendly and the bedroom large and spotlessly clean. The hotel is in a quiet area but within walking distance of the city. The only slight negative was that the family room consisted of two double beds rather than the usual double and twins - but the beds were comfortable and we all enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thistlehot, Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review, 11 September 2014
Dear Helen R

Firstly we would like to Thank you for staying at the Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, I am please to hear that you found our staff friendly and that our family rooms were spotless, also that you enjoyed your stay with us.We look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Neil F.
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    275
    231
    77
    26
    16
See reviews for
121
257
49
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

as one of my first reviews, I was very lucky to stay at such a great place. nice central location, so much to do nearby. receptionist was great and helpful, she even gave us a little map of the golden mile. We had a unfortunately poor stay the night before at another location and staying here may up for it. we will definitely be back

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tim550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thistlehot, Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review, 11 September 2014
Dear Tim550

Firstly we would like to Thank you for staying at the Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, i am please to hear that our staff were helpful and that our hotel made up for your recent back experience at another hotel, making your trip a happy one in the end. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Neil F.
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Arrived a bit late and was locked out no staff,nobody to call. Had to book into another hotel. Spoke to the manager next day but he was not interested. So we had to pay double for one night. The toilet smells damp and shower handle is rusty. Very dated and expensive. Will cross this one of my Edinburgh list. Had to check into the Tune hotel and they couldn't be more helpful..

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thistlehot, Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review, 22 February 2015
Dear John F.

Firstly I would like to Thank You for staying with us at the Edinburgh Thistle Hotel and for your recent feedback.

I am sorry that you found that the toilet had a damp smell and that the shower handle was a bit dirty. This was addressed by our Housekeeping department and the handle has now been changed.

As for the Arriving a bit late it does state on our confirmation that we emailed you that reception closes at 23:30 if you are going to be later that this please contact the hotel to make alternative arrangements. Our reception staff had rang you at 23;00 and received no answer, your Friday night therefor ran as a "NO SHOW".


Regards

Neil F.
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosario, Argentina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

A few minutes walk to the Old Town. Excellent place to stay and awesome staff. I would recommend this place to everyone. The room is large and absolutely nice. Neighbourhood is quite and safe at all hours.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cuervo222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thistlehot, Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear Cuervo222,

Firstly I would like to thank you for choosing the Edinburgh Thistle Hotel for your visit to the city. I am pleased to hear that your found us an "Excellent place to stay and awesome staff" & that your room was " large and absolutely nice". We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Regards


Neil F.
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Friendly staff, lovely rooms, comfortable beds and perfect walking distance to the city centre in a quiet location with good transport links. This was the second time I've stayed at the hotel and I will be back. I recommend this hotel to friends and family. Good value for money in a lovely character property.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thistlehot, Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear LeggoGreggo,

Firstly i would like to Thank You for staying with us at the Edinburgh Thistle Hotel and for your recent feedback. I am pleased to hear that our staff are friendly and that you find our hotel Good value for money. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Regards

Neil F.
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Staff at the Thistle were really friendly and helpful. This made our stay stress - free and enjoyable. I would recommend it for anyone attending the conference centre as it is in easy walking distance.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Claire C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thistlehot, Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Claire C

Firstly we would like to Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Edinburgh Thistle Hotel & for you recent feedback. I am please to hear that you found Our Staff "really friendly and helpful". We look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Neil F.
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

The staff at the Thistle Hotel, with special kudos to Neil Fisher, was so very friendly and helpful that it seemed we had private concierge service throughout our stay. We enjoyed 2 nights one week and 3 nights another week while we were visiting Edinburgh and both times we were greeted with great enthusiasm. While our requests were simple and possibly ordinary the staff always went above and beyond the simple and responded extraordinarily. Great place to stay, wonderful location, friendly pub inside the hotel - all enhanced by the treatment from the staff.

Room Tip: We aware that there is no elevator so choose lower rooms if you have trouble with stairs. However...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maureen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thistlehot, Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear Maureen J,

Firstly we would like to Thank You for choosing the Edinburgh Thistle Hotel for your recent trip, and for taken the time to leave us some feedback. I am please you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and that the staff greeted you with great enthusiasm and when above and beyond to make your stay a remarkable one.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kindest Regards

Neil F
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
Thistle Edinburgh City Centre, The King James
West End
Cityroomz Edinburgh
Cityroomz Edinburgh
#85 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
West End
Brooks Hotel Edinburgh
Brooks Hotel Edinburgh
#86 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Channings Hotel
#31 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,206 reviews
West End
Leonardo Hotel Edinburgh City Centre (Haymarket)
West End
The Bonham
The Bonham
#56 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edinburgh Thistle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edinburgh Thistle Hotel

Property: Edinburgh Thistle Hotel
Address: 59 Manor Place, Edinburgh EH3 7EG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#37 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#44 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Edinburgh Thistle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Edinburgh Thistle Hotel is located in the prestigious, quiet and residential west end area of Edinburgh New Town.The hotel is central and near to Edinburgh Castle, the Edinburgh International Conference Centre (EICC) and of course the renowned Princes Street with its vast array of stylish shops and stores. Established in 1924, the hotel has retained most of its original period features, having once been a Georgian Town House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Agoda, HotelsClick, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Edinburgh Thistle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Edinburgh
Edinburgh Thistle Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing