We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant service. Couldn't ask for better.”
Review of Piries Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Piries Hotel
Ranked #134 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Reviewed 1 March 2013

We booked through laterooms for a 3 night stay at the Piries hotel. The staff were very warm and welcoming and were more than happy to answer any questions we had. When we arrived there was a problem with their delivery of linen so they put us in a suite free of charge when we only paid for a standard room. The room was lovely. No problems whatsoever. They even let us use their bowls for our cereal. Top quality service. Good location, only a short walk down the road to princes street. Close to the cinema and lots of food places to choose from. A bus stop is located just down the road from hotel with easy access to the airport, the zoo and pretty much everywhere. Couldn't have chosen a better hotel to stay at, it was that good we booked an extra night. Would 100% recommend this hotel to anyone thinking of staying in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mercerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khaledibrahim, General Manager at Piries Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your time and feedback on your recent stay at Piries Hotel, Edinburgh

I am delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and Piries with its team was up to your expectations

Once again thank you and I hope we can welcome you in near future

Regards

Khaled Ibrahim
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (659)
There are newer reviews for Piries Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

318 - 324 of 659 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2013

Dont normally bother to write reviews, but feel very strongly about how bad this place was. Staff completely clueless, worst night sleep in most uncomfortable bed ever and the total discourteosness from other guests arriving back at all hours making as much noise as possible with noone keeping tabs on them...just awful!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank b p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khaledibrahim, General Manager at Piries Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at Piries Hotel, Edinburgh

I am sorry to hear that you haven't slept well due to the noise caused by other guests..It was a Rugby weekend and the cheer for Scotland wasn't easy for the night staff to control

I hope you can give us another opportunity in near future to extend our hospitality further

Kind Regards

Khaled Ibrahim
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013

Decent room at a good price extremely close to Haymarket station, never tried the breakfast. Only around a 10/15 minute walk away from central Edinburgh (or a very cheap train ride to Waverley station)

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JRose91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khaledibrahim, General Manager at Piries Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time and feedback on your recent stay at Piries Hotel, Edinburgh

I am delighted to learn that your experience with us was up to your expectation and I hope we can welcome you again in near future to extend our hospitality further

Kind Regards
Khaled Ibrahim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013

Room was fine until went into ensuite mouldy ceiling and live bulb hanging out of fitment, mattress needs replaced too soft ended up in middle of bed whether we wanted to or not...
Staff very friendly though and not too far out of the city, easy access to Haymarket train station and bus routes.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Dougie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khaledibrahim, General Manager at Piries Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at Piries hotel, Edinburgh..

I am delighted to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us and I hope we can welcome you once again

With regards to the ceiling light and mould mentioned in your comments. I would like to say that these points has now been fixed.. P Lease accept my apology

Regards

Khaled Ibrahim
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

stayed here recently and have to say i had 2 of the best nites sleep in a while.
close to the haymarket train station.My room was clean and spacious the shower was amazing
i choose a package that had a continetal breakfast which was fine and all self service
would stay here again

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mackie29_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khaledibrahim, General Manager at Piries Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments and feedback on your stay at Piries Hotel, Edinburgh

I appreciate your valued time and custom..

Kind Regards

Khaled Ibrahim
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2013

We arrived in the evening to the Piries after walking from the Waverly Station. We were pleased with our room which was clean and looked as if it had been re-furbished and had a large modern TV.

The interesting walk to the centre of Edinburgh, walking up Princess Street, took us 25 minutes (we are rarther slow now!) and we enjoyed seeing some of the sights we had time for expecially the Royal Yacht Britannia and the Castle.

The young staff were very pleasant and a charming young lady from Argentina, made us a chicken pannini to have with our evening drink! A very pleasant stay and would recommend for a budget holiday stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cottyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khaledibrahim, General Manager at Piries Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at Piries Hotel, Edinburgh

I am delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us during your visit to Edinburgh

I hope we can welcome you once again in near future

Kind Regards

Khaled Ibrahim
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

Not the usual standard I'm used to and pretty basic for the price. Room was small but clean & functional - decor less than inspiring. If I had not went with friends on a package with show included, I would not have stayed here. I have stayed in comparable hotels in London and £170 would have got me so much more there. The continental breakfast is a bit of a cop out and has no place in Edinburgh! Very disappointed. The only good comment I can make is that the staff are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khaledibrahim, General Manager at Piries Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at Piries Hotel, Edinburgh

I hope you had a good time with us despite your highlighted points

Once again thank you for your customs

Regards
Khaled Ibrahim
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Ritz Edinburgh
Ritz Edinburgh
#143 of 150 in Edinburgh
409 reviews
West End
Travelodge Edinburgh Haymarket Hotel
West End
The Original Raj Hotel
The Original Raj Hotel
#139 of 150 in Edinburgh
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Haymarket Hub Hotel
Haymarket Hub Hotel
#135 of 150 in Edinburgh
133 reviews
West End
Brooks Hotel Edinburgh
Brooks Hotel Edinburgh
#86 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,134 reviews
West End
Cityroomz Edinburgh
Cityroomz Edinburgh
#91 of 150 in Edinburgh
859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Piries Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piries Hotel

Address: 4-8 Coates Gardens, Edinburgh EH12 5LB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #134 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range: £50 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Piries Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Lastminute, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Piries Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piries Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing