We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mcqueens”
Review of Piries Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Piries Hotel
Ranked #138 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Reviewed 21 December 2013

my wife and i stayed at piries on 16-18 dec 13.for a weekday break.and visit to relatives.
the staff were very helpful and friendly.we were upgraded to room 22 (large family room) which was very clean and warm.
hotel very handy for access to edinburgh .walking/bus/train.
continental breakfast was perfect.and plentifull.
piries is a friendly ,warm ,welcoming hotel.
the hotel staff are smart/clean and helpfull.special thanks to "lazsio"
we will use this "value"hotel again and recommend to friends.

Room Tip: room 22 perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harryronnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khaledibrahim, General Manager at Piries Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time and feedback on your recent stay at Piries Hotel, Edinburgh

I am delighted that your stay with us was enjoyable and comfortable

Once again thank you for your customs and hope we can welcome you in near future to extend our hospitality further

Kind Regards

Khaled Ibrahim
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (687)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

304 - 310 of 687 reviews

Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

My fiance and I stayed at the Piries hotel 30/11/13-01/12/13, 1 night. We checked in and after waiting 2 minutes we were greeted by a polite young lady on reception. When asked if it was ok to park our car outside the hotel we were informed that it was a short stay chargable car park and that Piries hotel do not provide a car park, and then directed us to a nearby long stay car park about a mile away which cost £12.50 for 24 hours so please consider this extra cost if travelling by car. Also there was a lot of cars that had had number plates ripped off during the night so please consider finding a more secure one. The hotel itself was average. It was a very small room with just enough room for a double bed and a tiny bathroom. The toilet was making a loud 'grunting' noise everytime we flushed, as well as when the shower was running. The TV struggled to find a signal as we were in a basement room. The room also had a real 'fusty' smell. The breakfast the following morning was average, do not expect a fry up as it is continental food i.e bread, ham, cheese. Aswell as yoghurts, muffins, cereal an crossiants. Overall our stay was very good for the little cost we paid to stay and will return again in the future.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank raindrops123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khaledibrahim, General Manager at Piries Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time and feedback on your recent stay at Piries Hotel, Edinburgh

I take your comments on board and pass to the relevant department to resolve immediately.

With regards to car park. unfortunately is not easy to facilitate such request with Edinburgh council

May I take this opportunity once again and thank you for your valuable comments

Looking forward to welcome you in near future

Kind regards

Khaled Ibrahim
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

The Hotel is Good, just avoid taking Room 50, 51 & 52.

For initial stay we was offered Room 27, which was perfect. Then on our next visit we were offered room 52 which felt Haunted, Unclean and DIFFERENT. Its actually next door, so its scary.

But the staff at the reception was awesome. They put us back to Room 27.

RE: Breakfast.
They need more Vegan / Vegetarian Options. Also otherwise its very basic breakfast.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 50, 51 and 52
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank m10d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khaledibrahim, General Manager at Piries Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at Piries Hotel, Edinburgh

I am delighted that your stay with us was enjoyable and the team were helpful through out your stay

With regards to comments on pacific rooms will be passed to maintenance department to resolve immediately with action plan

Once again thank you for your custom and looking forward to welcome you in near future

Kind Regards

Khaled Ibrahim
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

booked this hotel as i needed to be near the Hilton and hay market station,very nice hotel in a good location,staff very friendly and rooms clean and comfortable.Would definitely stay here again.The hotel is only 3 minutes walk from hay market station and there is lots of bars nearby.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank derek135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khaledibrahim, General Manager at Piries Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time and feedback on your recent stay at Piries hotel, Edinburgh

I am delighted that you stay with us was enjoyable

Looking forward to welcome you once again in near future

Kind Regards

Khaled Ibrahim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

This is my second visit to this hotel. Both times we have been made to feel very welcome and the rooms are well presented, clean and comfortable.

It is a good location for Edinburgh city centre if you don't mind a bit of a walk.

The breakfast is a little basic, but I would happily recommend this hotel to my friends.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Binkymalinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khaledibrahim, General Manager at Piries Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time and feedback on your recent stay with us at Piries hotel, Edinburgh

Myself and the team are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay as always and Piries becomes your home away from home

Once again thank you and looking forward to welcome you visit after visit

Regards

Khaled Ibrahim
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

I was in Edinburgh for work and I stayed one night at this hotel.
I specifically requested a "ensuite room" (with private toilet in the room).
Spacious room with high ceiling (in a historic building) very quiet, double bed (detachable) big and very comfortable.
Bathroom small but clean.
Staff were very friendly and accomodating.
Continental breakfast with the bare minimum, included in the price.
Only 15/20 minutes walk from the center and close to the bus stop in Haymarket.
Wifi only available for a fee (incredible to happen in 2013).
Unfortunately I had booked the following nights at another hotel, I would have loved to stay in this for the excellent treatment received.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marukoita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khaledibrahim, General Manager at Piries Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time and feedback on your recent stay at Piries Hotel, Edinburgh

I am delighted to learn that your stay was enjoyable with us

Once again thank you and hope we can have the opportunity to welcome you in near future

Kind Regards

Khaled Ibrahim
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Stayed here last night with my mum and brother very surprised after reading reviews, people at reception couldn't have been more helpful even giving us detailed maps to get round the roadworks. When we go to our room which was in a building a few doors down (meaning you have your own front door) anyway our room was massive, beds were comfy the place was clean and the bathroom was pretty new, it wasn't to noisy which I expected being pretty near to the centre, breakfast the next day was as advertised continental did the job, our only complaint was that there wasn't enough milk and sugar for three people in the room but I'm sure if I got off my bum and asked reception for more they would have supplied it overall a nice friendly hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ebony85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khaledibrahim, General Manager at Piries Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at Piries Hotel, Edinburgh

I am delighted to learn that your experience at Piries was excellent.

Your comment regarding the sugar &milk have been point out to the housekeeping to ensure there is sufficient for 3 guests

Once again thank you and hope we can welcome you in near future

Kind Regards

Khaled Ibrahim
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Hotel Twenty
#148 of 151 in Edinburgh
565 reviews
West End
Haymarket Hub Hotel
Haymarket Hub Hotel
#132 of 151 in Edinburgh
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Ritz Edinburgh
Ritz Edinburgh
#147 of 151 in Edinburgh
419 reviews
West End
Apex Haymarket Hotel
Apex Haymarket Hotel
#70 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,187 reviews
Leith
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
#85 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Piries Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piries Hotel

Address: 4-8 Coates Gardens, Edinburgh EH12 5LB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #138 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range: £33 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Piries Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Piries Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piries Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing