We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Piries Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$375
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$333
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$193
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$347
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$280
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$210
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$160
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Grassmarket Hotel(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$225
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$199
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$329
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$305
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
The Scotsman Hotel(Edinburgh)
US$231
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$176
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$245
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$221
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$186
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$108
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$164
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$152
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (693)
Filter reviews
693 results
Traveller rating
103
248
181
72
89
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
103
248
181
72
89
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshaymarket stationcity centretram stopcouple of nightslarge roomnice staytea and coffee making facilitiesprinces streetwould stay againstayed here for one nightedinburgh airportmurrayfieldbusesscotlandhairdryerpubscastle
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
305 - 310 of 693 reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2014

having booked to stay from 20-27 dec at the piries was a bit sceptical having read previous reviews.however upon arrival was greeted by a pleasant receptionist, who informed us that we had been upgraded to room 15,which is a large and spacious room with a modern bathroom and t.v .continental breakfast was plentiful with a varied selection .the hotel itself is only a short bus journey into the town centre(or a 20 min walk)and the train station only a few minutes away.overall the hotel is clean and tidy and the staff very friendly and polite .would definately use this hotel again and reccomend to family and friends.THANKS FOR A WONDERFUL STAY

Room Tip: room 15 spacious and quiet
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peter g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khaledibrahim, General Manager at Piries Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time and feedback on your recent stay at Piries Hotel, Edinburgh

I am delighted that your stay with us was enjoyable and I hope we can have more opportunities to welcome you in near future

Kind Regards

Khaled Ibrahim
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Having read the reviews on here I was dreading our stay at The Piries! I was not expecting much but it was a good price and within walking distance of Edinburgh centre. However, I did like the fact the hotel manager reads all trip advisor reviews, responds and implements changes based on guest feedback.

When we arrived we were greeted by a lovely lady on reception and put in room 25. It's a good size room with a modern bathroom. It had a luggage rack and flat screen TV with tea and coffee making facilities. I requested more milk which was no trouble. A lovely young man on reception sorted this.

Negatives:
On the first day we choose not to have the house keeping team service our room but by the second day the towels were damp and the bedlinen was dirty (I'd eaten chocolate biscuits in bed with a coffee!) so decided to have the room serviced. Unfortunately they simply flipped the duvet over to hide the marks and instead of replacing the towels (which had been placed on the bathroom floor!) folded them back up and put them over the chair. They didn't even give us fresh cups!

To end on a positive note, if you're only staying one or two nights this hotel is perfect. It's a slightly better standard than a travel lodge but similar idea. It's close to Edinburgh (25min walk) and the staff are just lovely. I so wanted to give them a brilliant review but I could not overlook the house keeping issue.

Overall it was good value for money and a nice place to stay. Also there is an artisan bakery on the corner which does lovely breakfasts for anyone not having breakfast at the hotel.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Rao433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khaledibrahim, General Manager at Piries Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments on your recent at at Piries Hotel, Edinburgh.

I am delighted that the Piries was the place to be during your visit to Edinburgh..

With regards to Housekeeping issues please accept my apology. However, I have passed your points to the hotel duty manager who will be discussing the issues moving forward to a better performance

Once again thank you and looking forward to welcome you in near future

Kind Regards

Khaled Ibrahim
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

my wife and i stayed at piries on 16-18 dec 13.for a weekday break.and visit to relatives.
the staff were very helpful and friendly.we were upgraded to room 22 (large family room) which was very clean and warm.
hotel very handy for access to edinburgh .walking/bus/train.
continental breakfast was perfect.and plentifull.
piries is a friendly ,warm ,welcoming hotel.
the hotel staff are smart/clean and helpfull.special thanks to "lazsio"
we will use this "value"hotel again and recommend to friends.

Room Tip: room 22 perfect
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harryronnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khaledibrahim, General Manager at Piries Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time and feedback on your recent stay at Piries Hotel, Edinburgh

I am delighted that your stay with us was enjoyable and comfortable

Once again thank you for your customs and hope we can welcome you in near future to extend our hospitality further

Kind Regards

Khaled Ibrahim
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

My fiance and I stayed at the Piries hotel 30/11/13-01/12/13, 1 night. We checked in and after waiting 2 minutes we were greeted by a polite young lady on reception. When asked if it was ok to park our car outside the hotel we were informed that it was a short stay chargable car park and that Piries hotel do not provide a car park, and then directed us to a nearby long stay car park about a mile away which cost £12.50 for 24 hours so please consider this extra cost if travelling by car. Also there was a lot of cars that had had number plates ripped off during the night so please consider finding a more secure one. The hotel itself was average. It was a very small room with just enough room for a double bed and a tiny bathroom. The toilet was making a loud 'grunting' noise everytime we flushed, as well as when the shower was running. The TV struggled to find a signal as we were in a basement room. The room also had a real 'fusty' smell. The breakfast the following morning was average, do not expect a fry up as it is continental food i.e bread, ham, cheese. Aswell as yoghurts, muffins, cereal an crossiants. Overall our stay was very good for the little cost we paid to stay and will return again in the future.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank raindrops123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khaledibrahim, General Manager at Piries Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time and feedback on your recent stay at Piries Hotel, Edinburgh

I take your comments on board and pass to the relevant department to resolve immediately.

With regards to car park. unfortunately is not easy to facilitate such request with Edinburgh council

May I take this opportunity once again and thank you for your valuable comments

Looking forward to welcome you in near future

Kind regards

Khaled Ibrahim
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

The Hotel is Good, just avoid taking Room 50, 51 & 52.

For initial stay we was offered Room 27, which was perfect. Then on our next visit we were offered room 52 which felt Haunted, Unclean and DIFFERENT. Its actually next door, so its scary.

But the staff at the reception was awesome. They put us back to Room 27.

RE: Breakfast.
They need more Vegan / Vegetarian Options. Also otherwise its very basic breakfast.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 50, 51 and 52
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank m10d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khaledibrahim, General Manager at Piries Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at Piries Hotel, Edinburgh

I am delighted that your stay with us was enjoyable and the team were helpful through out your stay

With regards to comments on pacific rooms will be passed to maintenance department to resolve immediately with action plan

Once again thank you for your custom and looking forward to welcome you in near future

Kind Regards

Khaled Ibrahim
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews