We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A mixed experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Piries Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Piries Hotel
Ranked #133 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Sunderland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A mixed experience”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Hotel is in a good location and is reasonably comfortable. Breakfast is quite poor but does the job I suppose.

My biggest issue was the very rude receptionist who abruptly told me she was 'too busy' when I asked for service at the bar. Another huge issue was the shower, 10 of us stayed there and all rooms had a shower that was either freezing or blistering hot.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Visiting110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khaled101, General Manager at Piries Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments on your stay at Piries Hotel, Edinburgh

I have communicated your comments with regards to the reception to the hotel duty manager for further training. However, rest assure that all our staff are highly trained on guest satisfaction

Furthermore the maintenance department are looking into the shower as mentioned on your comments

Meantime I am positive that you have enjoyed your stay with us

Looking forward to welocome you in near future

Regards

Khaled Ibrahim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    218
    161
    60
    77
See reviews for
102
278
28
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 April 2014

stayed here for four nights in april .freindly and helpful staff. rooms were small but very warm and clean.only complaint i have is when nyou come outside front door there are wheelie bins at the corner (notbelonging to hotel)with rubbish on ground.great location

0

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikebuckleyten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khaled101, General Manager at Piries Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at Piries Hotel, Edinburgh

I am delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us

Looking forward to welcome you in near future

Regards

Khaled Ibrahim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

My partner and I had a wonderful stay at this hotel. The room was impeccably clean and spacious; the staff were friendly and informative and the location was perfect for exploring the city.

The hotel was easy to find from the airport bus and the 24-hour reception was beneficial, as it allowed us to check out without and worries.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wojiaotudo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khaled101, General Manager at Piries Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at Piries Hotel, Edinburgh

I am delighted that your stay with us was enjoyable

Once again thank you for staying with us and looking forward to welcome you in near future

Regards

Khaled Ibrahim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Booked this hotel through the BA website and got a fantastic deal. Though the rooms are small, they are clean and if you wanted any extras they were happy to oblige.

Located around the corner from Haymarket station, it is only a 20 minute walk from the Centre of Edinburgh, or there are numerous bus routes into town if you don't fancy a walk.

Would recommend at a great place to stop if you are on a city break, and will be spending most of you time out of the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khaled101, General Manager at Piries Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments and feedback on your stay at Piries Hotel, Edinburgh

I am delighted to learn that youir stay with us was enjoyable

Once again thank you for your feedback and looking forward to welcome you in near future

Regards

Khaled Ibrahim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

a good hotel ideally situated near the haymarket railway station and the sights of edinburgh.the room was small,but was clean and nicely decored.the staff were very polite and we enjoyed our stay.we stayed for the experience of edinburgh,the rooms were vrey good as a base.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fred k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khaled101, General Manager at Piries Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time and feedback on your recent stay at Piries Hotel, Edinburgh

I am delighted that Piries and its team have met your expectations

Once again thank you for your comments and customs

Looking forward to welcome you in near future to extend our hospitality further

Kind Regards

Khaled Ibrahim
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
n ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Paid £71 upfront for one night, double room but single occupancy.
Room was absolutely tiny, only 2 hangers for clothes (no drawers), tv keep freezing because of poor signal, very dark with cheap plywood decor, had to keep my light on at all times because I overlooked a wall with a ventilation system outside it so there was barely any natural light at all.

Bathroom was adaquate, tea and coffee was provided. The hotel was quite clean and the staff were polite but when I pointed out that my room was nothing like what I had seen pictures of when I booked they merely suggested I pay for an upgrade!
If there is such discrepancy in the standard of the rooms, this should be made clear before booking and the price adjusted accordingly.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank caNireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khaled101, General Manager at Piries Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Deat Guest

Thank you for taking the time and feedback on your recent stay at Piries Hotel, Edinburgh

I take all your highlighted points on board with immediate actions by our maintenance team

I hope these minor issues did not stop you enjoying Edinburgh

May I take this opportunity and assure you that Piries Hotel and its team strive to please all our guests and go the extra mile to ensure complete satisfaction


Kind Regards

Khaled Ibrahim
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Edinburgh hotels

Harlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

This was for the second night of my friend and I's visit to Scotland, the Piries Hotel was perfect just a short walk from the Haymarket train station and very nicely decorated with excellent facilties, our twin room was quite small but had a nice shower and flat screen TV. The reception was very helpful when we asked for more tea and milk and though the wifi was £10 for 24 hours the price of the room was well worth it. Would definitely recommend it and we walked into the centre of Edinburgh quite easily.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khaledibrahim, General Manager at Piries Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time and feedback on your recent stay at Piries Hotel, Edinburgh

I am delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us

Looking forward to welcome you once again to extend our hospitality further

Kind Regards

Khaled Ibrahim
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh
West End
The Original Raj Hotel
The Original Raj Hotel
#141 of 150 in Edinburgh
251 reviews
West End
Cityroomz Edinburgh
Cityroomz Edinburgh
#85 of 150 in Edinburgh
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Brooks Hotel Edinburgh
Brooks Hotel Edinburgh
#86 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,045 reviews
West End
Ritz Edinburgh
Ritz Edinburgh
#144 of 150 in Edinburgh
375 reviews
West End
Apex Haymarket Hotel
Apex Haymarket Hotel
#72 of 150 in Edinburgh
998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Piries Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piries Hotel

Property: Piries Hotel
Address: 4-8 Coates Gardens, Edinburgh EH12 5LB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #133 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Piries Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Piries Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piries Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing