We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money!”
Review of Piries Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Piries Hotel
Ranked #138 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Spent little time in the hotel however the room was more than adequate for an overnight stay and considering the price was very good value for money. Very friendly staff. Only complaints would of been the fire alarm briefly going off at around 9AM for no apparent reason and location is a bit of a walk from the city centre but overall would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SHillman93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khaled101, General Manager at Piries Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at Piries Hotel, Edinburgh

I am delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us

Once again thank you and I hope we can welcome you once again in near future

Regards

Khaled Ibrahim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (688)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

287 - 293 of 688 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2014

arrived at hotel after an early morning flight. Room not ready - that was quite acceptable but staff could have been a bit more kind. Left bags and came back later. Checked in by different receptionist who was much friendlier. Internet cost high and not free in public areas so no choice but to purchase. Breakfast just ok. Location was good though.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rover5262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khaled101, General Manager at Piries Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at Piries Hotel, Edinburgh

I am delighted that your stay with us was enjoyable

Once again thank you and I hope we can welcome you in near future to extend our hospitality further

Regards

Khaled Ibrahim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Recently stayed at this hotel on a break booked via Superbreaks (note great value for money), we were upgraded to junior suite automatically which was great. Overall, staff pleasant, building in need of updating. To be honest was good base for exploring the city over 3 days so no complaints.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Andyhaverson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khaled101, General Manager at Piries Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at Piries Hotel, Edinburgh

I am delighted to learn that yopur stay with us was enjoyable and the upgraded room was satisfactory

Once again thank you and looking forward to welocme you in near future

Regards

Khaled Ibrahim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Stayed in Edinburgh over the easter bank holiday we spent very little time in this hotel due to the vast amounts to see and do.
The Piries hotel is very clean and and has all the facilities you need to make your stay comfortable.the staff were very helpful and the locals are very friendly.

On the down side this hotel has no parking which is a nightmare and very expensive in this part of the city so travel by train if possible.

the location of this hotel is 8/10 with only a 5-10 min walk in to the center.

I would recommend this hotel for your stay and is very worthy of its 3 star raiting.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gordonfrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khaled101, General Manager at Piries Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at Piries Hotel, Edinburgh

I am delighted that Piries hotel have met your expectation and you have emjoyed your trip to Edinburgh

Once again thank you for your custom and looking forward to welcome you in near future

Kind Regards

Khaled Ibrahim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

It started badly. I had emailed a request for a room with a view, meaning upstairs, but was placed in a dungeon with a 20 cm slit-view of pedestrian legs, too cramped for a table, and TV so high on the wall one had to lie on the bed to watch it. Next day I was removed upstairs, and this was perfect, a view of the 'garden' topped by city chimney pots. Clean and spacious, excellent bed, TV and teabags, etc. Bathroom modern, yet shower lava-hot and impossible to adjust to warm. Ceiling lights, therefore hard to shave with chin in shadows - pretty typical for the UK.
Piries is located close to Haymarket station, the Airlink bus - trams to airport and city centre soon - splendid Asian restaurants and Thomson's Bar, a heritage pub.

Room Tip: Keep away from the cellar rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Senorbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khaled101, General Manager at Piries Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent feedback on your stay at Piries Hotel, Edinburgh

I am glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us

Looking forward to welcome you in near future

Kind Regards

Khaled Ibrahim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Hotel is in a good location and is reasonably comfortable. Breakfast is quite poor but does the job I suppose.

My biggest issue was the very rude receptionist who abruptly told me she was 'too busy' when I asked for service at the bar. Another huge issue was the shower, 10 of us stayed there and all rooms had a shower that was either freezing or blistering hot.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Visiting110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khaled101, General Manager at Piries Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments on your stay at Piries Hotel, Edinburgh

I have communicated your comments with regards to the reception to the hotel duty manager for further training. However, rest assure that all our staff are highly trained on guest satisfaction

Furthermore the maintenance department are looking into the shower as mentioned on your comments

Meantime I am positive that you have enjoyed your stay with us

Looking forward to welocome you in near future

Regards

Khaled Ibrahim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

stayed here for four nights in april .freindly and helpful staff. rooms were small but very warm and clean.only complaint i have is when nyou come outside front door there are wheelie bins at the corner (notbelonging to hotel)with rubbish on ground.great location

0

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikebuckleyten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khaled101, General Manager at Piries Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at Piries Hotel, Edinburgh

I am delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us

Looking forward to welcome you in near future

Regards

Khaled Ibrahim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Hotel Twenty
#148 of 151 in Edinburgh
568 reviews
West End
Apex Haymarket Hotel
Apex Haymarket Hotel
#70 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Haymarket Hub Hotel
Haymarket Hub Hotel
#132 of 151 in Edinburgh
238 reviews
West End
Ritz Edinburgh
Ritz Edinburgh
#147 of 151 in Edinburgh
419 reviews
Corstorphine
The White Lady
The White Lady
#44 of 151 in Edinburgh
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Piries Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piries Hotel

Address: 4-8 Coates Gardens, Edinburgh EH12 5LB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #138 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range: £35 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Piries Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Piries Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piries Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing