We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable first visit”
Review of Hemma

Hemma
Ranked #534 of 2,479 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Swedish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Old Town
Description: Hemma means AT HOME in Swedish. Hemma is a café/bar with great brunch, lunch, buffet, smörgåsbord platters, dinners and last but not least cakes. A family friendly haven daytime and a party place at night with lots of international and Scottish draught beer and cider on tap and an extensive cocktail list. Party/ Dinner/ Venue/Events just email us or call for booking of events. Välkommen! Anna & Mike
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,023 reviews
616 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 412 helpful votes
“Enjoyable first visit”
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Delightful staff who were most attentive in dealing with my two friends & their babies. On arriving first I was asked if we would need high chairs & were given a big table to accommodate the babies & buggies.

The food was very, very nice. Soup & croque Monsieur combo at £6 was great value & so tasty. What a size of sandwich!

The reason for 4/5 is that the table was a bit crumby & the loos a wee bit untidy. Apart from that it was a great find & a buzzing place with diners able to sit outside in the sun.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank McAnnie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    97
    38
    21
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

We stopped here for lunch as it was dog friendly. I assumed with the location it would be expensive but it was very reasonable. The staff were friendly and the food was very fresh and good sized portions. The menu was full of good healthy food and I will definitely be visiting again.

Helpful?
Thank Robert O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Favourite bar in Edinburgh”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

A bar that myself and my friends visit on a regular basis.

Best cocktails (on a budget) in Edinburgh, staff are super friendly and nice, everything clean and well maintained with nice views outside.

Please visit if you have the chance because its a really really great little place.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyMacandrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Best rhubarb crumble in the world”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Delightful wine bar\cafe, eclectic mix of furniture, friendly efficient waiting staff. Rhubarb crumble was crisp on top, creamy underneath with lashings of rhubarb. Fabulous!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank m25doc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelso, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Evening drinks and Sunday lunchtime”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

This is such a nice, relaxed and friendly bar. I have read through some of the previous reviews and I am really surprised that people have commented on the staff being unfriendly - our experience really couldn't have been more different. We went in there for a night cap on Saturday night as it was right next door to our apartment, and we were barely sat down when a very polite man came over and asked us for our drinks order, he even helped my pregnant sister 'design' her own special mocktail. The atmosphere was cosy and chilled, even with the football being shown upstairs, at no point did the noise get too loud on the ground floor.
The following day we popped in for lunch and although it was much busier, with families, students, people of all ages, the services was again, extremely welcoming and friendly. There was a minor mix up with our food order and the girl really couldn't have been more apologetic and we were offered coffees on the house to make up for this.
I liked how 'untrendy' this place was, it was as a bar/café/coffeehouse/restaurant ought to be in my view. Good food, good prices, friendly service....we definitely plan to go back!!! Go and find out for yourself.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank aj2232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hemma also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Hemma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing