We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst service ever”

Michael Neave's Kitchen and Whisky Bar
Ranked #32 of 2,504 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Old Town
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Worst service ever”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Went there yesterday to loan the toilet. I kindly asked the bartender but he refused and told me in an extremely arrogant way, that it wasn't possible due to 'company policy'. I offered the man to pay and he still refused - only for paying customers. Fair enough - i then asked him to get me a Coke, which he also refused. I insisted and he reluctantly served me a Coke, whereafter i went down to the toilet. It is also worth mentioning that the upper bar was completely empty and that the toilet is placed just down the stairs - not visible to anyone in the dining area. This tells you a lot about the service level and mentality at the place - i would recommend to stay clear.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

869 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    657
    162
    35
    13
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burleigh Heads, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“So different, so good!”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Michael Neave's Kitchen is tucked away from the Royal Mile down a steep, narrow alley. We came across it by chance as we searched for somewhere a little different from the multitude of taverns offering the same-old fare. The venue itself is a refreshing change from the crowded and rowdy taverns - serene and stylish. The decor is modern and every aspect is really well designed; everything harmonises to produce a really lovely ambience.

The meals themselves were wonderful. Imaginative combinations of produce presented in eye-pleasing and delicious combinations, both traditional and innovative. This is high-end gastronomy of the best possible kind. Of particular merit was the scallops, pork belly and celeriac mash - just stunning.

Michael Neave is a young Scottish chef who deserves to do well - very well - as he presents a fresh, new take on Scottish cuisine at very reasonable prices.

Try it; you won't be disappointed!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Burleighboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Lothian
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Excellent service and great staff. We've tried Saturday set lunch with friends, a la carte in the evening on our own and the Express Lunch today. All have been FAB. Lunch today was excellent value. Express lunch doesn't mean you are hurried out if you are not in a rush. Food is really good, tasty and not too pretentious. Good portion sizes. Can't fault it really.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank j7jpc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Food and Service Supreme”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We visited this restaurant some weeks ago for Saturday lunch and followed it up a week ago for Dinner. Would the standards be as good ?? They were.

The food was first class and the service was excellent delivered by a staff who looked and acted as if they meant it.

I noted a larger party than ours about nine people all had their mains served together; a nice touch.

This has to be one of the best restaurants in Edinburgh. I shouldn't really be reporting on it; next time we go I'll have to book weeks in advance.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Exceptional value and delicious food”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I visited recently for the Saturday Fixed Price Menu.

For a restaurant of this class, in this area, 3 courses for £14.95 is exceptional. All the food was well-cooked and beautifully presented - I particularly enjoyed my duck salad starter.

Our waitress, Lauren, was friendly and professional and helped to make this meal and even better experience.

I will definitely be returning for dinner!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mebanana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Michael Neave's Kitchen and Whisky Bar also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Michael Neave's Kitchen and Whisky Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing