We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Light House Hostel
Nearby Hotels
US$320
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$129
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Murrayfield Hotel and House(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$122
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$273
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$247
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$226
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$198
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$331
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$181
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$133
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$121
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$209
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$194
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$758
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$611
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (252)
Filter reviews
252 results
Traveller rating
185
46
9
3
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
185
46
9
3
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree breakfastno shoe policybig lockersrefundable depositfemale dormquiet at nightevery eveningcommon areasnight's sleepwalking distancegrass marketstayed for nightsenjoyed my stayvisiting edinburghroyal miletrain stationarthur's seat
Filter
Updating list...
128 - 133 of 252 reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

Really nice place, very welcoming, comfortable and with a great atmosphere! Its in walking distance from the old town. The staff was very helpful and also accommodated special requests. Great value for money!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claudia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

excelent location just 15 minutes walking to the center.
the owner of the hostel is very kind and always ready to help.
during the fottball maches he turned on the big screen and we could always watch all the games.
trully recommended.
breakfast could have more options.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jlmscPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Light House Hostel for 1 week from January 22nd to January 29th in a dormitory with shared bathroom. We had a really nice stay and I certainly recommend the Light House Hostel. It is impeccably clean. The common room is comfy. The kitchen is a bit tiny but it also contributes to your feeling at home. The staff was really nice and they even emailed us when mail arrived for us at the hostel after we had already left. Some people in the review complain about the fact that you have to remove your shoes at the entrance. Well, they give you sleepers that are washed every day and that is why the hostel remains so clean so I think it's a pretty good system! It is quite a small and quiet hostel so maybe not the best choice if you are a party animal or if you are looking to meet drinking buddies. However, if you are looking for a more relaxed atmosphere in a clean and quiet environment, that's where you want to go.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

A great hostel not far from the city centre, stay there during Christmas and they cook a very nice scotish dishes. Warm welcome from all the staff and seems like all the travelers really enjoy their stay there. Including me :)

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TimOey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This is a wonderful little hostel, very close to the city centre and with an overall relaxing and homely experience. The price is very reasonable and the large home-cinema lounge is a happy surprise. The staff is helpful, welcoming and professional, and the beds were exquisite! I would definately stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElenaDeWachter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews