We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cosy place!”
Review of Light House Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Light House Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2014

love the showers,the common area,the free breakfast,and the fluffy bed!the staff here are also very helpful with all my queries,even allowed me to use the shower after check-out.great place!will be back again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irienaoki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (239)
There are newer reviews for Light House Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 239 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014

The best hostel I've been during my trip in May/14. First, all members of staff were very, very kind. The hostel is clean and the common spaces provided me tons of good conversation - and I've just stayed for 2 nights. The 8 bed room is comfortable, and there are very good and big lockers for your valuables or even your entire bag. There are sockets for everyone's notebooks or chargers! The kitchen is well equiped and the music was great haha.

I had no problem with noise from people who arrived late, everybody was very respectful concerning the roomies and hostel rules.

If you don't mind walking, you can reach almost every place in Edinburgh in 20 min max. It's easy to get there from the train station by bus, 10 min max.

I will definetly stay there when I visit Edinburgh again!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Guilherme C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I only stayed at the Light House Hostel for one night, but I will most definitely be returning next time I find myself in Edinburgh. First of all, I had made a mistake with my booking, and Ricky was kind enough to amend it for the next day at a very short notice without extra cost. The location is excellent, and the place is the cleanest I've ever stayed in. Not just hostels, any type of short term accommodation. For the budget traveller, it's like a 5-star hotel. The only drawback is early curfew, but I believe it has to do with respecting the fellow guests. ;)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank lauraengl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richardlo7, Owner at Light House Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Thank you for your fantastic review! With regards to curfew - we don't actually have a curfew!

Once our guests check in, each person gets a set of keys which they can use to come in and out of the hostel whenever they wish. We just ask that when guests come in late to be extra quiet so not to disturb other guests who may be asleep already.

Our check in time is from 3pm to 10pm. This is to ensure that all guests are checked into the hostel in good time and all guests have a nice relaxed evening.

It was great having you staying with us and we hope you come back to Edinburgh again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We brought a school party of 16 children here- in advance of the stay, Ricky could not have been more helpful-not only did he give us exclusive use, but he advised on places to visit, eat and gave us simple easy to follow directions.
The hostel itself is sparklingly clean, with excellent bathroom/toilet facilities. The kitchen is also very clean, with a good basic breakfast provided.
The lounge was pleasant, airy with access to a computer and printer.
Nothing was too much trouble for Ricky who helped us throughout our stay.
This is an excellent hostel which comes highly recommended- we will certainly be staying again. To be honest it was a hostel with hotel standards. Thanks for letting us stay!

Room Tip: The ensuite dorm is perfect for school staff!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TopTeach_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

Really nice place, very welcoming, comfortable and with a great atmosphere! Its in walking distance from the old town. The staff was very helpful and also accommodated special requests. Great value for money!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claudia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

excelent location just 15 minutes walking to the center.
the owner of the hostel is very kind and always ready to help.
during the fottball maches he turned on the big screen and we could always watch all the games.
trully recommended.
breakfast could have more options.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jlmscPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Light House Hostel for 1 week from January 22nd to January 29th in a dormitory with shared bathroom. We had a really nice stay and I certainly recommend the Light House Hostel. It is impeccably clean. The common room is comfy. The kitchen is a bit tiny but it also contributes to your feeling at home. The staff was really nice and they even emailed us when mail arrived for us at the hostel after we had already left. Some people in the review complain about the fact that you have to remove your shoes at the entrance. Well, they give you sleepers that are washed every day and that is why the hostel remains so clean so I think it's a pretty good system! It is quite a small and quiet hostel so maybe not the best choice if you are a party animal or if you are looking to meet drinking buddies. However, if you are looking for a more relaxed atmosphere in a clean and quiet environment, that's where you want to go.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Castle Rock Hostel
Castle Rock Hostel
#4 of 217 in Edinburgh
1,575 reviews
New Town
CODE POD Hostel
CODE POD Hostel
#2 of 217 in Edinburgh
1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Royal Mile Backpackers
Royal Mile Backpackers
#34 of 217 in Edinburgh
166 reviews
New Town
Haggis Hostels
Haggis Hostels
#18 of 217 in Edinburgh
408 reviews
Old Town
Safestay Edinburgh
Safestay Edinburgh
#11 of 217 in Edinburgh
1,634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Light House Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Light House Hostel

Address: 20 Gilmore Place, Edinburgh EH3 9NQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 217 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range: £14 - £40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Light House is a truly unique place to stay - our bright young team will welcome you to our beautiful Georgian townhouse bursting with character and charm. We have created a fusion of contemporary living space with good old fashioned family hospitality. Our guests often say it's more like a family home than a hostel, with a laid back attitude and cosy friendly atmosphere. The Light House is the place to chill out and make new friends. We are only 15 minutes' walk to Edinburgh Castle. Reception is open from 7am to 10pm and check in time is from 3pm to 10pm. If you arrive in the city before 3pm, please feel free to drop off your luggage and we will give you a map and introduction to Edinburgh, then come back after 3pm to check in. We aim to provide a good night's sleep for our guests so that everyone feels refreshed the next day to explore the city or to continue with their onward journey. Therefore there is strictly no check in after 10pm. If you plan to arrive after 10pm, then please do not book with us. This rule can be extended to 11pm in case of delays in transportation. After 11pm there will be no entry until the following day. The Light House is a loving, caring and sharing place to be - we donate 10% of our profit to a housing charity. So when you stay with us, you are also helping to provide homes for people in need. We are situated in the artistic area of the city centre. Nearby are 4 cinemas, 3 theatres, a concert hall, a wide selection of restaurants, bars, coffee houses - and a co-operative super market that opens till 10pm for your essential supplies! The communal living areas are clean and cosy providing a great space to relax and unwind after a busy day of sightseeing. We have a spacious comfy lounge where you can relax and enjoy a wide selection of movies on our home cinema system with HD projector and surround sound. We have a fully equipped self catering kitchen including a dish washer...... so no need to wash up, Yey! There is also a large back garden where we host regular campfires and BBQs - so bring your guitars and best (or worst) singing voices and join us for a good old sing along around the fire; dancing is optional! We provide all these free stuff: Free breakfast consisting cereal, toast, jam, butter spread, marmalade, tea and coffee. Free tea and coffee all day. Free Wi-Fi, free internet access on a desk top computer. Free lockers, free towel hire, free linen. Free power adaptor hire, free reading light hire. Free ear plugs, free shower gel. We offer a variety of bright and spacious rooms ranging from a 2-bed private room to a 10-bed dorm. The 2-bed private room has a double bed and a single bed - so it can accommodate up to a family of 3. We operate a no shoes policy in The Light House to keep the house in spotless order, a shoe rack and slippers are provided at the entrance making it feel like a real home from home. There is a no smoking policy throughout the hostel with smoking area in the front garden. There is no curfew. However, we are not a party hostel, therefore the communal areas are locked at midnight and we request that guests be very quiet when returning after midnight, this is to ensure other guests who are sleeping are not disturbed. Check-in is after 15:00 only - and till 22:00. Check-out by 10:30. Reception is open from 7:00 to 22:00. Cancellation policy is 72 hours in advance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Light House Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Light House Hostel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing