We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Great”
Review of Stack Dim Sum Bar

Stack Dim Sum Bar
Ranked #595 of 2,505 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Edinburgh
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Just Great”
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Been eating Dim Sum for years and this is a great place, menu has a few interesting new ones that I had not had before, so always nice to try new things. The curry mussels were great. Well done for opening up against the big players like the Imperial Palace.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank xfo01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    65
    13
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great little place”
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Enjoyable lunch at this little dim sum restaurant off Leith Walk. Fast service and fast food. Very tasty meal. Recommended.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Melancthon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“By far the best Yum Cha in Edinburgh”
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We have now had two absolutely fantastic Yum Cha meals at Stack Dim Sum bar in Edinburgh and both meals surpassed the quality of Dim Sum dishes we have had anywhere in Edinburgh or even the UK (Glasgow, London and Manchester included). I would go so far to say that it equals many of the Dim Sum restaurants we experienced in Hong Kong (the home of Dim Sum) and approaches the famous Michelin starred Tim Ho Wan for quality.

I would particularly recommend the Siu Mai dumplings as they are beautifully made and a prime example of how they should be - Although most of the dishes could be recommended. The only dish I would say was a slight (very slight) let down was the Beef Ho Fun, which was a bit under seasoned.

I have, however, only been able to give Stack Dim Sum four stars out of five due to the shortcomings in the restaurant decor (very basic) and facilities (a single toilet down a unpainted corridor) although I recognise at this £15-20 per person price point this is could be seen as fairly harsh.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RobAdair1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We have been here many times and loved the food - a gem in Leith. However our visit last week was very disappointing. The sui mai was a sad cousin to the plump and succulent ones served in the past, this time the diminutive prawn was wrapped in a chewy skin reminiscent of reheated frozen produce. The sticky rice was oversalted, dry and contained little meat. It may have been an off-day for "Little Cat" the chef so we will give it one more chance and hope he recovers his mojo...

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Authentic dim sum for the Asian taste”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Been there 3 times and have recommended lots of people there also the food is very good, and I'm very very fussy when it comes to food, specially Asian food where I eat in Asian many times , I can only say the food is the best I have tried in Edinburgh for dim sum, but the service is not friendly and is cold but polite I would go more times if the service was better , but will go back again for the food for sure I can recommend to anyone that really likes good dim sum , but if you just looking for some food and good service then is a no ! But if you after real authentic dim sum don't even think 2 times this is the place to go for sure

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kei Ngu N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stack Dim Sum Bar also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Stack Dim Sum Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing