We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great”
Review of Jamie's Italian

Jamie's Italian
Ranked #558 of 2,527 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Price range: US$12 - US$26
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Neighbourhood: New Town
Description: JAMIE'S ITALIAN EDINBURGH A partnership between Jamie Oliver and his Italian mentor, chef Gennaro Contaldo, Jamie's Italianhas won thousands of fans for its delicious and affordable food since launching their first restaurant in Oxford in May 2008. The Jamie's Italian menu is based on dishes you'd find people eating all over Italy, made with care but delivered without fuss. The family-friendly restaurants are all about serving up rustic, Italian food made using the best possible ingredients, plus fresh pasta that's made on-site every day, and an award-winning children's menu, too. The spectacular Edinburgh restaurant is housed in the former supper halls of the Assembly Rooms on George Street, in Edinburgh's city centre. Perhaps their most elegant restaurant - grand ceilings, impressive cornicing and scarlet walls, teamed with red velvet chairs and chandeliers, make Jamie's Italian in Edinburgh an amazing spot for a special night out. The central location means it's easy to drop in at any time of the day or evening too.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
285 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

First visit to Edinburgh restaurant following good experience in Aberdeen. Took the opportunity for a quick lunch and service was very prompt and efficient. As you would expect the pasta's are excellent. Competitive pricing and will return.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,732 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,071
    994
    773
    519
    375
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Jamie's Nandos”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Eating here felt more like a nandos or Hard Rock Cafe than anything else. The food was over priced and very bland, the fake Italian theme was unconvincing and the staff, although polite, were unable to advise on wine (which was also expensive). There are so many better places to eat Italian in Edinburgh.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mr N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wadebridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great service, average food”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We have eaten in other branches of this restaurant and always enjoyed their food. This however, was probably the weakest of the branches we've tried for food. Waiting staff were great though so we still enjoyed ourselves. Not at all convinced by the tripple fried chips....sorry....twice is fine as long as they are crisp on the outside and fluffy inside.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank vdubcruising
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“I didn't even get in”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

On two successive nights, I was told there were no tables. Even though the place was half empty. I figure they don't want over fiftyish single diners.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lapper220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galashiels, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
445 reviews
256 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Another good visit”
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

This was our third time here and all have been good. With the club card, we got some freebie tasters and free desserts which was a nice touch.

I always think the staff are very nice. The restaurant is always very busy so don't go if you want a quiet time!

Starters of arancini and meat platter were really nice. I had carbonara for main, which could have been creamier, but at least this way it wasnt too filling.

Wine decently priced.

I know there have been mixed reviews but I'm happy to consider a return

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hawklord_pxr5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jamie's Italian also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Jamie's Italian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing