We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, warm welcome, ethical outcomes” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Social Bite

Social Bite
Ranked #230 of 2,437 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Fast food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: New Town
Oxon, England
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good food, warm welcome, ethical outcomes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

We stopped off in here after a nearby meeting. The lunchtime rush was over, but we had no difficulty in choosing paninis from the remaining stock that turned out to be wholesome, hearty and generously filled. The chap on the order counter was very friendly, and interesting in explaining the mission behind this social enterprise that ploughs the profits back in to charity, and allocates at least one in four of its jobs to homeless people. The serving staff were great, cheery and helpful, and the coffee was good, too. I'm interested in the 'suspended' coffee/sandwich idea that lets you fund lunch for someone who needs it. Prices were very reasonable, As I'll be in Edinburgh a lot in the next couple of months it will be my lunch spot of choice when I'm in that part of the city.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Caledonianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    32
    5
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Better than Valvonna and Crolla”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

We we're visiting Edinburgh for the day and had already been to Valvonna and Corolla in Jenner's early in the morning where we were served yesterdays food and came away feeling someone underwhelmed as tourists. At lunchtime we stumbled across Social Bite on Rose Street. What a fantastic place - great ethics, great food, great prices, very friendly staff. I have never been moved to write a TripAdvisor review before now but this place needs promoting! Hope they go from strength to strength and we see a Social Bite in Preston Lancs very soon!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank dharmagirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“great breakfast bagel in the sun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

good food, nice staff, cheap prices and an important cause. what else can you expect for a perfect morning?

Helpful?
Thank abisze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best place for a sandwich in Edinburgh city centre”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

I absolutely love that this is around the corner from my office. Delicious sandwiches for a reasonable price with all profits going to a great cause. I couldn't think of any reason why I would buy a sandwich elsewhere. Highly commend Social Bite's vision and the food is absolutely delicious!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ursula D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tullahoma, tn
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A great breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

We were looking for a place for breakfast and found Social Bite. We all had the bagels with a fried egg and bacon and they were great and the price was very reasonable. The young man behind the counter was extremely friendly and truly seemed to enjoy his job. We bought cookies to take with us for snacks on the train and they were some of the best I have eaten! We were so glad we stumbled upon this place.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank gray931b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Social Bite also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Social Bite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing