We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to go for a good honest cooked breakfast” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Breakfast, Brunch & Lunch

Breakfast, Brunch & Lunch
Ranked #574 of 2,437 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$11
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Southside & Holyrood
Description: We are a takeaway establishment, situated in the Pleasance area of Edinburgh.Our specialties are our homemade sausages and burgers, we also produce our own vegetarian sausages and burgers in-house.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great place to go for a good honest cooked breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

This tiny cafe was really close to our hotel and rather than pay over the odds for a hotel breakfast we called in here. A really good quality, really good value breakfast, no frills (we ate it from a take away box perched on a stool in the window) but no less delicious for it. Oh and an excellent streaming mug of tea. Just what the doctor ordered.

Quick and friendly service and top notch home made sausages! Would definitely call in here again to fuel up for a day of sightseeing.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank LouBLou76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    13
    7
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cute wee sausage”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

I loved the atmosphere and the people here. The man told us to try the sausages which he had made himself that morning as they were great. Its a delicious kind of no nonsense place with great pricing. All food seams to be given as take away so it would be perfect to pop into on your way up Authors seat.

Helpful?
1 Thank Ashton L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Barnsley, South Yorkshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“It's a takeaway!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

Went for breakfast after reading all the good reviews. Must admit was quite disappointed when our full breakfast came out in a plastic box! However, it does actually say above the door that it is a takeaway, though I don't think anyone had put this on their review! We did end up sitting at some stools and eating it with plastic knife and forks. Breakfast was ok, nice bacon, but only one slice, sausage home produced but to be honest, I wouldn't walk to the other end of Edinburgh for it again as there are so many lovely cafes in the centre. However, if you're passing and want a nice sandwich, the bread was lovely and would recommend this place as somewhere to grab a sandwich. Just wish we'd known that it wasn't somewhere you could sit and enjoy a leisurely breakfast.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
6 Thank ANTONLIZZY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lives up to the reputation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

Was looking for some good breakfast food for a reasonable price. Decided on this place after reading the rave reviews on trip advisor and they were spot on. Food was great, staff was friendly and helpful and the prices were surprisingly low. I'd definitely eat here again and recommend it to anyone looking for a great breakfast place.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Couldn´t have eaten in a better place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

I checked on tripadvisor before travelling to Edinburgh looking for a nice and cheap restaurant. Found about this one.....and let me say I couldnt have been any luckier!! It´s so close to the Royal Mile, so it´s quite centric, All the staff was welcoming and friendly. The food was fresh and homemade and best of all...The price!! It´s super cheap!!! It´s amazing to find quality at a reasonable price...... But ...be ready to pay cash!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank beasahez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Breakfast, Brunch & Lunch also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Breakfast, Brunch & Lunch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing