We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food,no fuss.You get what you ask for” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of St. John's Restaurant

St. John's Restaurant
Ranked #1,410 of 2,437 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: St John's is a traditional Fish & Chip Takeway & Restaurant. We are fully licenced but offer a BYOB service. We have a busy takeaway and home delivery service and have opperated from the same location since 1980.We have 3 distinct areas of expertise. Our Fish & Chips. Our stone-baked pizza, and our home-made pasta. All types of food are available for Take-away, home delivery and in our Restaurant.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great food,no fuss.You get what you ask for”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013 via mobile

Probably the best kept secret in town.Great pizza,fab pasta,fantastic menu ,not to mention bring your own wine.George is a very helpfull waiter ,always has a smile and happy to help if required. Well woeth a visit especially when they start to provide fish and chips as an option from the menu.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    11
    1
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“St.John's Restaurant Corstophine, Edinburgh”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2013

We have been going to St. John's Restaurant for a number of years now and we have always found the food excellent, the staff are always very attentive. Excellent value for money and being a B.Y.O.B is always helpful.Look out for the Monday night Pizza offer. If you are visiting the Corstophine area check out St.Johns, we recommend it ....

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PTB76BBT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant Pasta”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2012

The Carbonara at the St. John's is second to none. Full of flavour and you get a nice big portion - highly recommended. We quite often get a few pizza and pasta dishes to share between us; this way you get to try a bit of everything.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDINBURGH
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best Carbonara in Edinburgh!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2012

Having visited for a meal with my family, I can honestly say it was an amazing experience! We had a wide menu to choose from (Italian and chip shop) and as we're dining in the restaurant you get to use both. The food was amazing. I had the carbonara and tasted the fish and chips, I can honestly say it was beautiful. The chippy was so fresh and not floppy with grease like other chips shops near by. The carbonara was so creamy and freshly cooked. Not heated up like so many others do.

Was sad to hear after such a beautiful meal that its now just Italian. I do hope the chip shop returns as it helps the indecisive families order in with such a wide menu. Thanks guys! Definitely returning!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HALESABOB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Family friendly restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2012

I have been to St. John's Restaurant many times with my young family and always get a very warm and friendly welcome from the owner & staff. The food is great & the mix of pasta, pizza as well as traditional fish & chips means there is something for everyone. In my most recent visit, I discovered that they had stopped serving fish & chips and had introduced burgers, panninis and really tasty homemade soup. It is great to see a local long-established family-run restaurant trying something different.....but please bring back the chippie - we miss you!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Weejay73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed St. John's Restaurant also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to St. John's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing