We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fish and Chips at their best !!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of St. John's Restaurant

St. John's Restaurant
Ranked #1,407 of 2,437 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: St John's is a traditional Fish & Chip Takeway & Restaurant. We are fully licenced but offer a BYOB service. We have a busy takeaway and home delivery service and have opperated from the same location since 1980.We have 3 distinct areas of expertise. Our Fish & Chips. Our stone-baked pizza, and our home-made pasta. All types of food are available for Take-away, home delivery and in our Restaurant.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fish and Chips at their best !!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

This fish and chip restaurant is improving DAILY. It is now the BEST in EDINBURGH without question. Parking is not an issue most nights.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Iain S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    11
    1
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Surprisingly Good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

Basically we went here because the restaurant down the road was full. It looks a bit grim from the outside - like a cafe and it is joined to the Fish & Chip shop which doesn't help with the Italian theme. However, don't let any of this put you off. The staff were lovely and the food was excellent. If you are looking for well cooked, good quality Italian food at a very reasonable price then I would definitely recommend St Johns.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pammyjz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amerongen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“good value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

We just had dinner at St. John's. From the outside not the most attractive place to eat, but inside cosy and clean. The food was very good! The waiter super friendly. When you are staying outside the centre and are looking for a good italian restaurant for an affordable price, pick this one!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Eline v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level Contributor
62 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

We were staying at the Marriott Hotel which is a short 15-20 min walk away.We were searching for somewhere to eat and this popped up. oh boy well worth a visit it is really an Italian with a limited fish an chip option but food was lovely and the gentleman that was waiting front of house is a real professional a warm and genuine welcome. Also great value for money,but not big.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank smokiecheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good Food Reasonably priced”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

The St. Johns Italian/Fish and Chip restaurant in Corstorphine offers mainly Italian food, ie. pizzas, pastas etc. with the more traditional Fish and Chips, they have recently got a new fryer, and another source of fish. Although we like Italian, this is one of the few places in Edinburgh to serve decent traditional fish and chips

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tenaza65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed St. John's Restaurant also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to St. John's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing