We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday Meal”

Three Birds Restaurant
Ranked #146 of 2,556 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 27 September 2016 via mobile

Had been looking to try three birds for a long time but every time I called they had no availability! Planned ahead and booked in for my birthday meal on a Sunday night.

A few thing not on the menu but the staff looked after us well and the food was excellent. It seems to be a small team who care a lot about the business and the food.

Thoroughly recommended. Have tried to go back but can never get a table last minute!

Date of visit: February 2016
1  Thank brownbeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Write a reviewReviews (887)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

280 - 284 of 887 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2016

Our meal was delicious. Most items are gluten free, which was a treat. The service was excellent. A wonderful dining experience,

Date of visit: September 2016
1  Thank WhiterockCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 19 September 2016

This was our second visit to the Three Birds, the first being earlier this year, which we thoroughly enjoyed. And so did this visit match up? Sadly not. Mildly enjoyable but nothing special - I'm sorry.
There was some mention of a new menu and certainly in terms of what we ordered, we both felt it didn't improve on the previous one.
My warm hake starter, was, well, ok. My trout main was, well, ok. And my wife's chicken on rice, was well, ok. In other words nothing terribly memorable. Puddings were good!
On a whimsical note with the door open to let in some cool air we were constantly swatting away flies! It didn't spoil our visit of course, which we did enjoy, but not quite as much as we'd expected.

Date of visit: September 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank aragon-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 19 September 2016

the Three birds is a little gem. tucked away in wee side street, it is bursting full of flavour, exciting dishes, and radiates love from all members of staff. we have never had a bad meal there. favourites have been the Bloody Marys, the steak and chips platter for two, any seafood dish and the homemade humus and pickles. the pigs ears is a family favourite with the kids ordering more than one portion! we will continue to visit the three birds as there is something new to try each time.

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LESLEY_C_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 16 September 2016

We went here as a family for an early evening meal during the Edinburgh Festival. It was our second visit. We'd been there in June for a family party. Again, we weren't disappointed. One of us needed gluten free, and that was no problem at all. The food is fresh and delicious. I had the Sprng chicken and veg soup, the market fish which was salmon, followed by ice cream. The wine list was nicely assembled. All of us thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. We'll be back!

Date of visit: August 2016
1  Thank lastword2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Travellers who viewed Three Birds Restaurant also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Three Birds Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.