We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brave, delicious food”

Three Birds Restaurant
Ranked #146 of 2,556 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Reviewed 20 May 2017

I have been here several times and the food and wine is alwasy surprising and very good. It's quite a small space but the smooth servers manage to make it not feel cramped. The homemade ice cream is amazing and the specials are fabulous. You need to check you prejudices at the door regarding what goes with what (they do things like mix miso and dairy). It's a great wee restaurant and for how interesting it is I think the price is fair. Such a relief after so much same-old/same-old in Edinburgh.

Date of visit: April 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank frozenkugel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Write a reviewReviews (887)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

210 - 214 of 887 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2017 via mobile

Small but really great local restaurant with lovely food and a warm level of service.

Definitely worth a visit if you're in the area...

Date of visit: May 2017
1  Thank robinf62
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 10 May 2017 via mobile

We were so happy to have found this gem of a restaurant in Edinburgh. It has a casual atmosphere that we loved and the menu was full of unique choices. Everything was yummy.

Date of visit: May 2017
1  Thank Sparkie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 3 May 2017 via mobile

Small place which is relaxed and informal, perfect for dining with family and friends. Really interesting and fresh sounding menu with food combos which will make you want to try something new. However, we were not sold on the 'hogget' description!

Friendly and attentive staff, great value for money, will be back another time.

Date of visit: May 2017
Thank 155lisas155
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 2 May 2017

Great atmosphere and great service!!
I felt sick after the venison so not sure if maybe my stomach just wasnt used to eating it or what was wrong.. It was quite expensive but a lovely spot all the same.

Date of visit: February 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank riona166
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Travellers who viewed Three Birds Restaurant also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Three Birds Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.