We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Miso & Sushi - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Miso & Sushi
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian, Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner
Neighbourhood: West End
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Really good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

Ordered from here tonight it took a while to deliver, but less than the 90mins originally quoted! I was pleasantly surprised the food was amazing! I got a load of maki and nigiri and it was all fab. I also ordered some vegetable satay which was a big portion for a small price and it was really tasty far better than in most of the Chinese restaurants I have eaten in. We will def be ordering from here again. Reasonably priced too as sushi is normally very expensive but a meal for two came in at less than £30.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MasjaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    3
    2
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013

This is amazing sushi. Super fresh. Brilliantly made. I use the home devilery all the time. Seriously confused by the other commitments !

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sorryforothers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
87 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Wonderful Sushi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

I visited Edinburgh last week from Florida - where we have TONS of Sushi places. I was expecting company in my apartment in Edinburgh and, knowing how much they loved sushi, I ordered dozens of pieces. I thought it was excellent and we all enjoyed it immensely. I don't know what the negative posters expected, but it was great!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank RhodyGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“extremely poor food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

What can I say, first and last time I will be ordering from this extremely poor restaurant. We spent £31.70 (including £3.50 delivery)

First of all the food took 1hr 1/2 to arrive.
We ordered:-
1 X 106. Soft Shell Crab & Chicken Teriyaki Bento (Bento Boxes) - Cooked Food £ 14.90
It was barely warm, ok well not the end of the world if the food tastes good. The soft shell crab was soggy and actually cold. The Chicken meat was chewy, very fatty and looked to be poor offcuts of leg meat. The Rice was ok, but again hardly warm.

1 X 116. Chilli Beef Ramen (Ramen Noodles) - Stir fried spicy beef, wakame & fresh vegetables Cooked Food £ 8.00 I didnt think it was possible but this was even more disappointing than the chicken / crab dish.
The meat was again poor cuts, tasteless, bland (apart from the badly blended chilli dressing) the meat was actually slippery(like it had been coated in flour and fried at too low a temperature) - foul - inedible rubbish.
The noodles unceremoniously threw themselves out of the container in one solidified un-separable lump.

1 X 8. Grilled Japanese Dumplings (6) (Grills) - Cooked Food.£4.80
These were good, the only thing I could say was acceptable Japanese cuisine.

I contacted the restaurant and they couldn't have cared less about my issues ''this is how we cook this food'' ''this is the meat we use'' ''we supplied 2 cans of coke in compensation for the late delivery''.

.I would advise anyone who is thinking of using this restaurant to think twice. There is a wealth of choice in good restaurants in this city. Miso Sushi is not one of them.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BoabyK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great cheap food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

Stumbled across this restaurant while looking for somewhere to eat quite late in the evening and glad we did. It is a no frills place but they do have friendly staff, speedy service, great tasting food and are very reasonably priced.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cayleigh_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Miso & Sushi also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing