We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Buns, bagels, batches”

Bite Me! sandwich bar
Ranked #464 of 2,457 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: West End
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Buns, bagels, batches”
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

Nice people, good food and teas. This is our third year at the Fringe and we always come here which is as high a recommendation as I can give.

Helpful?
1 Thank Treaders76
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    24
    8
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“amamzing”
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Couldnt ask for better amazing food and the staff were friendly as well 10 outa 10 and it was a short walk from the hotel room we r staying at which made or morning we could get breakfast on our way into town of Edinburgh it self

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank keith h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great service”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Just called in for coffee and a quick drink.
Excellent attentive staff, as about to close, but happy to serve us, let us sit and drink whilst they cleaned and closed up !
Must say very clean !!
Sandwich/ bagel menu looked scrummy - wish we had gone there earlier !!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Normal789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Okay....could be better”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Looked very promising from the street and staff were welcoming. But our breakfast was totally served like it was "to go" even though we stated it was for eat in and we sat at a table. There were about eight tables in all. My tasty granola came in a plastic bowl with lid, our coffees in cardboard cups, Scottish fried breakfast came in a cardboard box, cutlery was plastic, my toast came buttered with jam and brought over to me in a folded over brown paper bag. This must be the culture of the place...just disposable, whether you eat in or out. I felt this was a shame on environmental grounds. But if you don't mind that then by all means check this place out. Scottish fry up was very greasy though. They also had no toilets for customers...strange.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dechtire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alanrstewart, Manager at Bite Me! sandwich bar, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
I'd like to thank you for your custom this week, and I'm sorry to hear that we didn't meet your expectations.

As I explained when you ordered at the counter, we are a takeaway shop and serve our food in takeaway containers, but despite this our customers are always welcome to sit in.

With regards your point about environmental issues, all of our disposable containers are 100% compostable. You may not have noticed, but we have 3 recycling bins within the shop and we actively encourage our customers to recycle.

I'm surprised that you thought your scottish cooked breakfast was greasy as all items are cooked on a hotplate rather than in a greasy frying pan.

I hope you enjoyed your stay in Edinburgh, and hope to see you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pitlochry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Distinctive, stylish food and great service”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Had a business meeting over a delicious light lunch here a few weeks ago. Truly tasty salad - fantastic vegetarian choices, so unusual!
Interior is intelligently laid out which enables one to have a quiet conversation sitting in, even whilst the cafe buzzes cheerily with take out and other sit in customers.
Quietly classy and super staff.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank K L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bite Me! sandwich bar also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Bite Me! sandwich bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing