We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible Smoked Salmon Tian!!!!”
Review of Riverlife

Riverlife
Ranked #38 of 2,529 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$21
Cuisines: Caribbean, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: riverRLife has been nominated as one of Scotland's fantastic restaurant serving cuisines from around the world in the Scotland's Best Rest Of The World Restaurant category! If you want riveRLife to be in the running to become Scotland's best,then please spare a moment and vote for riverRLife using the website link on our Facebook page as link will not be accepted on this tripadvisor page. riverRLife is fully BYOB, no corkage charged! riveRLife opened it's doors to the public in mid-July 2012. A very friendly, family run restaurant, 5 minutes walk from Haymarket Train Station in Edinburgh. Our cuisine is an unusual fusion of French Provencal and Caribbean. We take pride in the fact that our food is tasty, freshly made every time, using locally sourced produce and very good value for money. Our price range is £ 4.95 To £16.95. We look forward to serving you and yours at here at riveRLife at some point.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Incredible Smoked Salmon Tian!!!!”
Reviewed 3 September 2014

We have visited The Riverlife for a couple date not knowing what we should expect. We have bought a voucher from Amazon for a three course dinner but ended up ordering form the main menu as well. I had as starter the "Salmon Tian" which was just incredible! My wife had the "Spicy Lentil & Sweet Potato Broth" a delight with the taste developing in your mouth until it hits you after a few seconds. Very accomplished! My main was "Slow Cooked and Browned Pork Fusion" with the meat melting in your mouth. My wife had "Coconut, Coriander & Almond Fish Fillet" with a very interesting combination of flavors which actually worked just great. The deserts were exactly what a desert should be like, a joy :) All in all we have enjoyed our meal a lot and will definitely return. The service could have been a bit faster in the beginning but that might be just the German stinginess in me :)

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy_Hudson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    362
    99
    16
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
Reviewed 31 August 2014 via mobile

Lovely food, I have no spice tolerance so found it a little hot but ate it all as it was so nice.
Husband said it was he best jerk chicken in ages.
Reasonably priced and byob so cost was kept down. Staff were very friendly. We'll definitely go back.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank willos23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“You have to try this restaurant”
Reviewed 31 August 2014

I ate here for the first time last night. From the off, the staff were welcoming and friendly and there was a lovely atmosphere in the restaurant which was the good kind of busy on a Saturday night.
The food we ordered was magnificent. I had the king prawns with garlic and ginger, the Caribbean goat curry, then the exotic lime cheesecake. Each dish was beautifully presented and the flavours were outstanding.
I can't wait to go back and try some of the other dishes.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ElainePMcC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely people and relay nice food.”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

I all ways fancied Goat curie and I was not disappointed, the others had various other selections from the menu and all were delighted.
We entered without a bottle, but the patroness encouraged us to go and get some from the local off-licence or co-op near by as it is unthinkable to the French to have a meal without wine.
The restraint was quiet but I can't understand why.
This area of Edinburgh seams to be a cluster of "really fine" eating establishments. (note translation as English is a common language that separates us all "Really Fine" in Aberdeen dose not mean OK but a bit Naff it is the highest praise possible).

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great!”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

A large group of my friends and I visited the restaurant and the food was not only delicious but arrived quickly and all at the same time.
There was something for everyone on the menu and it catered extremely well for vegetarians and dietary requirements.
Great value for money.
Thanks riverlife! xxxx

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 861Sophia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Riverlife also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Riverlife? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing