We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food friendly staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Greenmantle

Greenmantle
Ranked #665 of 2,438 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$13
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Southside & Holyrood
Fareham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent food friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

popped in here on my arrival in Edinburgh before checking into hotel young man served us very pleasant and extremely helpful had lunch and it was delicious I had the buffalo burger with haggis nicest burger ever and well mcsweens haggis all I can say is awesome. I returned here on last night of my holiday and again food was divine young man was not around when we ordered but came in whilst we were eating and made a point of coming to speak to us. Will definitely visit again when next in Edinburgh.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gilly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    35
    10
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice pub; great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

This small pub has a nice friendly atmosphere and good service. The food was good and plentiful; I had to leave half my main course so I had room for the gorgeous sticky date pudding!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 755denisen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“It's not a restaurant, but always a pleasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

I have been into this pub a few times to meet friends etc and on occassion, have had food. I have never had a bad experience. The staff are always pleasant and the food is always of a higher standard than one would expect from a pub. I have previously and would again highly reccommend anyone to visit.
Have said 'no' to the question 'is this one of the best meals you've ever had in a restaurant?' simply because it's not a restaurant and i wouldn't expect it to provide a better meal than the Michelin star establishments i have visited. That being said, it is better quality than some other restaurants I've eaten in.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely pub but terrible food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

Although I really liked the atmosphere within the pub and thought the staff were friendly, the food was extremely disappointing. Looking at other reviews I can only assume that they were short staffed. Our food came out burnt with no comment or apology. The table next to us had to wait over an hour for their food and when it came out the order was wrong. My partner was sick later that day and I felt ill the next day which we both felt was due to this meal. However, I would definitely go back there for drinks!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lily-Beth12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dalkeith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Small but nice pub, food is on the average side”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

We were meeting friends for a show at the festival, and for quickness, we decided to eat here for the first time. We ordered the Macaroni and Cheese, and it was OK, along with the traditional chips, plus a couple of Pints, it came to just around £20, good value for money. This is normally a stop of place for a couple of drinks when heading out in Edinburgh, and it will remain to be that as we do like it here. Good atmosphere and a friendly welcome from the staff.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cha-Cha-G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Greenmantle also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Greenmantle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing