We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never go there”
Review of Sportsters Bar - CLOSED

Sportsters Bar
Price range: US$6 - US$16
Cuisines: American, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighbourhood: Princes Street and Gardens
Description: American style sports bar and grill. We have multiple screens and projectors showing live sports across 3 separate satellite feeds so just ask if there's something particular you'd like to see and we'll try our best to help. Food is American style with a wide selection of burgers, pizza's, some traditional British classics and great bar food all served from 11am till 9pm. We serve a great range of draught beers and have a nice selection of craft bottled beer, wines and cocktails too
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Never go there”
Reviewed 9 March 2013 via mobile

Waited outside for it to open 12mid day on a rugby international day when allowed in staff were very rude travelled from wales for the international but every table in there had a reserved name on it even though it was empty. We were a party of 8 and planned to stay all day but we walked out as did many others. Never experienced anything so ridiculous and will never return. One positive it's good to see a business doing so well that they can turn away so much trade well done to you

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nyreesummerof69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sportsters E, Manager at Sportsters Bar, responded to this review, 12 March 2013
To Whom it may Concern,

Firstly, my sincerist apologise that you didn't have the experience in Sportsters that you deserved especially after travelling up all the way from Wales. There was no way the staff should have been rude to you so my humbelest apologies.

Unfortunately we don't open till 12 o'clock as stated on our opening times, and we could never have expected to have people waiting outside before 12 as this wouldn't normally happen.

Yes, we were fully booked for the day with all of our tables reserved, people phoned weeks in advance to ensure they got a table for this fixture as they knew we would be busy on the day, i would advise that you consider this next time to ensure you avoid dissapointment. The tables were still empty due to the fact as you said yourself, you were one of the first groups in the building.

I won't apologise for being fully booked though, as i don't see what else you could have expected us to do for you? We are one of the few Sports Bars in Edinburgh and this was a massive sporting occasion for us. There was a lot of standing space in front of the bar and stools for people to use and there are TV's in every corner of the bar so you would most certainly have seen the game had you stayed.

I do feel slightly distraught that you felt that badly treated by us, to have to leave a negative comment as this reflects badly on the business.
I hope you had a pleasant stay in Edinburgh otherwise.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    29
    18
    12
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first

Travellers who viewed Sportsters Bar also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing