We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good doorman, rude bar staff”
Review of Sportsters Bar - CLOSED

Sportsters Bar
Price range: US$6 - US$16
Cuisines: American, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighbourhood: Princes Street and Gardens
Description: American style sports bar and grill. We have multiple screens and projectors showing live sports across 3 separate satellite feeds so just ask if there's something particular you'd like to see and we'll try our best to help. Food is American style with a wide selection of burgers, pizza's, some traditional British classics and great bar food all served from 11am till 9pm. We serve a great range of draught beers and have a nice selection of craft bottled beer, wines and cocktails too
Grantham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good doorman, rude bar staff”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

I visited this place with a few mates for a drink. The doorman, like pretty much all in Edinburgh, are polite & welcoming. Pity the batman wasn't. The place wasn't busy yet you'd think he was doing us a favour to serve us rather us being customers paying his wages. Lazy, rude & patronising. Don't go there, spend your hard earned brass somewhere else in lovely Edinburgh.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MrMuriel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sportsters E, Manager at Sportsters Bar, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear customer

We are deeply regretful that you have not had the experience in our bar that you should have had. We strive to ensure our customer service is at the highest standard and can only apologize if you did not receive this.
Could you help us identify the member of staff by giving us some more information? What date did you come? What time you were in the pub and a description of who served you if at all possible so we can deal with it and ensure this does not happen again.

We would like to invite you down for a complimentary meal to hopefully make amends.
If you wish to proceed with this in a more private manner, please dont hesitate to email myself directly at marc.ludwig@clg.co.uk

Regards
Marc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    29
    18
    12
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bolton
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Rude”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

6 of us went to this bar early Saturday evening , we made up half the customers in there. We were stood at the bar and had put a couple of jackets on the bar at the side of us. The barman then walked over and without saying a word pushed our jackets onto the floor. One of us picked them up and was told not to put them back there. He was the most ignorant person so my friend insulted him and he then shouted for security to have my friend removed. Doorman was very polite and offered to get the manager when we explained what happened but we did not want to spend anymore time in the presence of the horrible bar man. Don't go to this bar!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 46clarkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sportsters E, Manager at Sportsters Bar, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear customer,

We are deeply regretful that you have not had the experience in our bar that you should have had. We strive to ensure our customer service is at the highest standard and can only apologize if you did not receive this.
Could you help us identify the member of staff by giving us some more information? What time you were in the pub and a description of who served you if at all possible so we can deal with it and ensure this does not happen again.
I have looked through the CCTV from when the stewards were on from and cant see anything untoward. You said that it was quiet when you were in whilst the stewards were on, which is confusing as we were very busy.

We would like to invite you down for a complimentary meal to hopefully make amends.
If you wish to proceed with this in a more private manner, please dont hesitate to email myself directly at marc.ludwig@clg.co.uk

Regards
Marc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent for sport!”
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

Both myself and dad visited this sports bar to watch football results on a Saturday afternoon....booked a booth with our own tv, which was no problem and had food which was excellent in quality and quantity! Only negative was that sitting in here was very cold and sometimes uncomfortable for my dad... This shouldn't be the case! Otherwise, very enjoyable for what we needed.

Helpful?
Thank Phelpsy09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Can't Complain”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Visited for the build up for Scotland vs Coratia next week, and I have to say i was very impressed. Their new food menu is a vast improvement upon the old, bar standards have definitely moved in the right direction and the staff were as helpful as you could hope for. Overall, will be my first stop for a pint or a meal as i get off the train in the future!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Atmosphere
Helpful?
Thank Nexus804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“Outstanding”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Food is absolutely brilliant now the kitchen has brought out new menu! Would definitely recommend the chicken club! Staff are all very friendly and lovely!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jack F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sportsters Bar also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing