We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the Best Indian for Sure”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Royal Spice - CLOSED

Royal Spice
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$19 - US$45
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Pakistani
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighbourhood: Old Town
Description: Royal Spice is located on the Royal Mile, Next to TRON church Edinburgh. It is about 5 minutes walk from grass market, 8 minutes walk from Edinburgh Castle, 5 minutes walk from Edinburgh Train Station, about 10 minutes walk from Parliament ad about5 minutes walk from Edinburgh museum. Royal Spice is closest Indian restaurant to Grass Market.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“One of the Best Indian for Sure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

We tried this place in the past, so decided to go another go.. Its on excellent location and the food is superb, can easily give 5 stars for that...
Would go back again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Stuart C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

470 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    287
    112
    33
    25
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very fine Indian cuisine, friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

As the UK is famous for having an overload of choice when it comes to Indian restaurants, you usually can't go wrong by stepping into one as their food quality needs to stay up to par to survive. This time no exception: the food is delicious and by ordering a special offer menu for about 18 British pounds you will get out of the restaurant very satisfied, due to both the quality and the large amount of food. We were happy that we could be served after 9pm, as many other restaurants usually close their kitchen around that time. The atmosphere in the restaurant was ok, although after we had received our main dishes it had become almost empty (due to our lateness), so not very lively, and the music that was played was a bit of a nuisance at certain times. Luckily the staff and owner were a pleasure to be served by, very friendly and trying to make our visit worthwhile. All in all I'd definitely recommend going here, also due to its very central location and reasonable pricing.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SirRies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Exceptional”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

We ate there on a whim while in Edinburgh, and WOW were we impressed. My wife was extremely hesitant to try Indian food, as she is not an adventurous diner and had never ventured on Indian food, but we couldn't have been more pleased. The food was served hot and quick and the service was remarkable. We only wish we lived closer so that we could eat there more often. Definitely recommend this place. Excellent food and very tasty. Very convenient location in Edinburgh.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Decent food, but lacked atmosphere”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Coming from Birmingham (the curry capital of the UK), I have experienced many Indian/Bangladeshi etc restaurants. I found it quite strange, therefore, to firstly have to ask for poppadoms, and then be asked what pickles I wanted with them (presumably at an extra charge). In and around Birmingham, poppadoms are offered as soon as you sit down, and automatically come with a selection of sauces/salads/pickles. Having said that, the food was very tasty, and the naan bread I had with my lamb achari was very good indeed, and the staff were attentive. We were seated in a room at the back of the restaurant, on our own. Although a few more diners arrived a little later, there was a definite lack of atmosphere. I enjoyed my meal, but would not visit again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Graham546572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent food, atmosphere needs improving.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

Thank you for the wonderful dinner. It was fantastic food.

We had the starter to share and an Afghan lamb curry with potato and spinach as the mains. Very well cooked.

I give it 4 stars because of two key things not to do with the food. The lighting can be vastly improved as I honestly thought all my food was green in colour, including the naan and rice! It was not. The green room light right above our table made it look that way. Simple soft white light will do just fine.

And, the restaurant phone ringtone needs its volume lowered or the phone moved. The constant ringing of the phone indicated you are a busy restaurant but it can get a bit annoying for the customers.


Will definitely return, hopefully to the same great food and some improved surroundings.

Thank you.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LainCoubert345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Royal Spice also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing