We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (376)
Filter reviews
378 results
Traveller rating
213
114
32
7
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
213
114
32
7
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsno liftloch shieltop floormaster suiterainforest showersky tvboutique hotelloch earnwet roomyork place tram stopmini baramazing bathroomon arrivalomni centrecomplimentary upgradehuge bathlovely boutique
Filter
Updating list...
278 - 283 of 378 reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Stumbled across this gem whilst looking for somewhere close to the comedy club and so glad we did! This hotel is simply stunning, rooms to die for and staff who will bend over backwards to help! We had a minor issue with the television in our otherwise perfect room. Within 10 minutes of reporting this we were upgraded to an even more perfect room with fantastic views. We ate in STEAK the following day and had the best meal we've had in a long time with the friendliest, most personal service. Thank you to all the staff for making it a wonderful stay. Already planning our next trip!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Kerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

The reception staff were very friendly and the common areas, lounge and bar, were well finished and very clean. We stayed in the room "Loch Ness" it had great finishing’s, a good selection of complementary hot drinks (sweeteners needed) and good sized TV. The shower was great and the bed very comfortable. My only reservation for this room would be the number of stairs climbed to get to it, which although fine for me, may put off less able customers. There were rooms available on lower floors which would prevent these issues! :)

Overall: fantastic room, great nights sleep.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Archizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Stayed here for a night with my partner in April and what a lovely stay it was! Room was gorgeous - classy but understated decor and spotlessly clean - with a very comfortable bed and nice little extras. Good sized modern bathroom with very large shower, again very clean. Only thing I would think to note is that our room overlooked the main road and for very light sleepers this could be a problem as the road is quite busy through the night. However neither my partner nor I were troubled by the traffic. Also, as far as we could make out the hotel does not offer a breakfast service but there are ample cafes etc nearby so this was not problematic. All in all a stylish and very comfortable little hotel and we will definitely be coming back!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank E R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We stayed for two nights on a visit to Edinburgh in March. The reception staff were friendly and welcoming and room was above expectation for the price. The building is a lovely period property with lots of traditional features and a beautiful central staircase. We also liked the comfortable sitting room - an ideal place to sit and read on the leather chesterfield sofas.

The main bar was good, if a little pricey, and unfortunately not open mid-week. Though the room was very comfortable, it could have been improved with a little better attention to detail in cleaning and some better quality snacks provided rather than the usual average packet of biscuits. Location is reasonable with an easy walk to Waverley station.

Overall we enjoyed our stay and would return.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Timbo_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

My partner found Twelve Picardy Place online whilst we were planning our weekend break to Edinburgh and after looking at a few other hotels in the city decided that this one looked the nicest, offered what we required and also appeared to be extremely good value.

On arrival at the hotel we were warmly greeted by the staff and immediately noted the homely feel. We were shown around the hotel and to our room on the first floor 'Loch Levan'. The room was wonderfully decorated with heavy curtains (there is also a black out blind), deep colours and the most amazing feature wall! The bathroom continued the opulent theme with a gorgeous rainforest shower (and H2K toiletries).

We visited both the cocktail bar (fab French Martinis by the way) and Beer & Skittles during our stay and would recommend them to anyone visiting the area or hotel.

The location is fantastic no matter what your reason is for visiting the city with the castle and shops just a short walk away and some fantastic local restaurants as well!

Although there is no parking at the hotel, you can use the Qpark opposite at a discounted rate which was cheaper than most hotel car parks we have used in the past.

The hotel left us feeling relaxed and refreshed which was just what we needed - the bed was extremely comfortable and we got two very good nights sleep! The hotel was very quiet and a real oasis of calm.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone, I really didn't want to leave and can't wait to come back with friends later this year and try out Steak!

Thank you to all of the staff for making our trip so easy, you're fantastic!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EmmaH6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews