We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real gem of a small excellent hotel in the heart of Edinburgh”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Twelve Picardy Place
Ranked #91 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Bsth
Level Contributor
62 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A real gem of a small excellent hotel in the heart of Edinburgh”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Great staff, spectacular rooms, great interior design, great location. Small boutique hotel where a great deal of thought has gone into the interior design and fittings. The rooms are spectacular and very big. Don't book here if you really need a lift as they don't have one. The steak restraint attached is brilliant and the bar and patio area well designed with lots of TV's. Amazing range of beers. No breakfast available but very easy locally. Close to the end stop of the tram so very easy for the Airport. We (family of 4 over 16) had a great time and we're well looked after by the very accommodating and professional staff. When we are back in Edinburgh this is where we will stay -if we can get in!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clarke O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    94
    30
    7
    10
See reviews for
12
218
10
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

This was honestly one of the nicest places I've ever stayed! More expensive than you're average hotel but so worth it. The decor is absolutely lovely and I couldn't fault the customer service! Really handy that the room came with sky TV, an ironing board and iron, hair dryer etc at no extra cost. Beware of the expensive mini bar though haha.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank BeeS_x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicosia, Cyprus
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We only stayed two nights with my husband at this hotel but the room was extremely comfortable and the staff were very welcoming. There are no lifts in the hotel but we didn't mind and our luggage was taken up to our room by the staff. The hotel is currently being refurbished and having renovation works carried out and we have seen some negative reviews about this but we have to say that there was no noise and we were not disturbed at all by the refurbishments when we stayed during 14th to 16th July 2014. There was no breakfast served but the hotels great location meant that there are several cafes in close proximity to the hotel that offered delicious breakfast. All in all, a lovely stay and positive experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

The rooms do their pictures justice. Comfortable and beautiful. Really nice hotel, lovely staff that were very helpful and responsive. Great location. Booked this last minute and was very impressed, the price was fair for the standard on offer, thumbs up from me!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank fraser g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
181 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This was a hotel with lovely, high design rooms and good hitech features, in a good part of the New Town. I have no complaints about the excellent rooms. On the other hand, the service, though very friendly and helpful, was a bit frazzled when certain problems came up. If you are paying these prices you expect the staff to be very assured and prepared. Originally we were booked in two rooms on separate floors, but then we found out that in one room the phone jack did not work. We were given another room when the problem could not be fixed, which was good, but we found out that we now had two rooms on the same floor. Why had we not had this originally? Also, I had the sense that there were key things that should be expected from a very expensive place like this that were not available. There was no lift (elevator). This was because it is a listed building, but still... Also, there was no way to phone from room to room. I know that is so old school, to expect working landline phones in hotel rooms, but still...Overall, a very good experience, and my son absolutely loved his hitech IT experience in the room, but it could have been even better with a bit more attention to details.

Room Tip: if you don't like climbing lots of stairs, pick a lower level room. On the otehr hand the views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StevenBeller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Excellent location for the business meetings i was attending, the Master Suite more than lived up to its names and was well priced in comparison to the last minute booking availability in that area. the only down fall for myself was that the hotel was going under some type of refurbishment meaning that breakfast was not available. This over all took the edge of this boutique hotel as their was simply no prior warning on mention of it when i checked in. Overall a spotless hotel where you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmilyBlueman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at Twelve Picardy for 5 days when we visited Edinburgh and have nothing but good things to say about the hotel. It is located under 10 minutes walk to Princes Street and Waverly station, and another 10 to the Royal mile.

The rooms are modern and well decorated, with a big screen TV, bright open windows, and unique wall murals. The rooms are immaculate and safe (anyone entering the hotel has to pass right next to the front desk staff). Speaking of the desk staff, they are very friendly, helpful and knowledgable about the city.

The only issue some people may have is that the rooms on the top floor were a little bit of a climb up several flights of stairs (this is a good way of burning off those Scottish ales had in the evening...).

A nice bonus to the location of the hotel is a discreet Tescos supermarket a few doors down, and several nearby pubs with an authentic feel (Mather's and the Barony).

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JMenOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh
#74 of 148 in Edinburgh
794 reviews
New Town
Tigerlily Hotel
Tigerlily Hotel
#17 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,622 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh
#61 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
Courtyard by Marriott Edinburgh
Broughton & Calton
The Place
The Place
#111 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,025 reviews
No. 11 Brunswick Street
#35 of 148 in Edinburgh
987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Twelve Picardy Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twelve Picardy Place

Property: Twelve Picardy Place
Address: 12 Picardy Place, Edinburgh EH1 3JT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#49 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Twelve Picardy Place 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Twelve Picardy Place Hotel is an oasis of comfort, style and sophistication in the heart of Edinburgh City Centre. Centrally located in a Georgian townhouse, it is one of the most innovative venues that can be found in the Scottish Capital and an extravagant playpen for the most discerning of guests. A celebration of edgy Scottish glamour and individuality, Twelve Picardy Place is small boutique hotel with a big personality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Twelve Picardy Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Twelve Picardy Place Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing