We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice drinks...shame about the service!”
Review of The Raeburn Bar - CLOSED

The Raeburn Bar
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighbourhood: Stockbridge & Dean Village
Description: The first curiosities & oddities lounge in Scotland/UK a refreshing addition to Stockbridge offering great experimental premium cocktails, modern beers and larger, worldly wines and a variety of homemade sourdough Pizzas and Tapas dishes. Newly reopened and renovated with knowledgeable and friendly staff. A step into the past with the 1900 style decor and a feast of collected objects from around the world to capture your imagination.
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Came here with friends shortly after 8pm on one Sunday and can honestly say won't be back here for a while! We were all rather peckish and asked the bar waitress if there was any snacks like chips or something and she replied "sorry kitchen closed now and plus there no chips either"!! Her attitude wasn't great at all and then started to roll her eyes at us!

On a positive note, the cocktails were lovely, decor very nice but still improvements to be made. Why not introduce live music or something?!

It is a nice place but the service was a let down, perhaps brush up on your customer service skills!

1  Thank Hayles_s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rhltd_2012, Owner at The Raeburn Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

This page is for The Raeburn Bar in Dean Street, Edinburgh which does not serve food. I think you may be trying to review someone else's business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (56)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 45 of 56 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

We had Sunday Brunch outside which was a great option. I have a very enjoyable Black Pudding, Bacon, Croutons and Poached Egg Salad. The others had Eggs Benedict, two full Scottish Breakfasts all excellent. Very nice attentive staff, excellent surroundings with loads of tables inside and out. Children and dogs welcome outside.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Agnes2golf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rhltd_2012, Owner at The Raeburn Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

This page is for The Raeburn Bar in Dean Street, Edinburgh which does not serve food. I think you may be trying to review someone else's business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Efficient and courteous service, a good menu to choose from though don't go if you're REALLY hungry as portions aren't huge. We had a most pleasant meal with reasonably priced and quality wine, away from the rowdy bar area which was well within earshot, but mercifully segregated by the efficient staff. The loos will need attention before too long, though. Surprising considering the clientele that this venue is aiming at. The bar has an outside seating area on the first floor, seating at the front of the building at picnic-style tables, a 'library' and a few hotel rooms that we haven't seen or had occasion to use.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank rayduns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rhltd_2012, Owner at The Raeburn Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

This page is for The Raeburn Bar in Dean Street, Edinburgh which does not serve food. I think you may be trying to review someone else's business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

Been here on 3 occasions now, once for bar food and twice for drinks. Perfect on a sunny day! Food good and reasonable for location etc. Drinks pretty expensive but nothing to complain too much about - I don't mind paying for a decent wine. Service friendly and efficient. Will definitely be back, and plan on trying the restaurant. A great addition to Edinburgh's outdoor food/drinking scene.

1  Thank Needinfo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rhltd_2012, Owner at The Raeburn Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

This page is for The Raeburn Bar in Dean Street, Edinburgh which does not serve food. I think you may be trying to review someone else's business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Arrived slightly early for our booked meal so went into very crowed but buzzing bar for a drink prior to meal. We tried in vain to attract bar staff so after about ten minutes gave up and explained to the very charming young lady who shows you to your table about what happened. She said she would take us back to the bar and get us a drink, she called out quite loud to a barman who then promptly served us much to the annoyance of a very large young man at the bar who barked out that he had been waiting a considerable time for a drink himself without any luck.
I suggest the bar manager tries to solve this problem as it is a lovely bar with good quality drinks but sadly this spoils your night out.
As for the meal the choice was varied but unfortunately my favourite starter of all time was now off the menu so had to choose something else which was good but not what I wanted.
My wife and I both enjoyed the reasonable priced mains with a good bottle of wine.
The serving staff at our table were very professional and added to the ambience of a lovely restaurant.
Overall good but would I go back - not sure

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank gordondixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rhltd_2012, Owner at The Raeburn Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

This page is for The Raeburn Bar in Dean Street, Edinburgh which does not serve food. I think you may be trying to review someone else's business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Raeburn Bar also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing