We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“St Andrews crowd catch up” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barony Bar

Barony Bar
Ranked #737 of 2,437 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, Scottish, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Bar Scene
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Broughton & Calton
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“St Andrews crowd catch up”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Nice little boozer. I liked that it was rustic, friendly and attentive staff, easy atmosphere. I liked that there was no fruit machine, and no giant sports screen. Spot on!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank jfraser90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    36
    11
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beer and Blues.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

Found this great place just round the corner from our hotel. Too late on a Sunday to eat but the beer and the live music from Dougie and the Strong Men were excellent. Pleasant bar staff and an amiable landlord together will a foot-tapping, jigging around audience of slightly more mature years all made us feel very welcome. No anti-English sentiment here!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank YorkieGorilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,560 reviews
1,193 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 807 helpful votes
“Typical Edinburgh Pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

These types of old fashioned pubs cheer me up they've got a certain je ne sais quoi. Quite expensive but worth it.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank thefooddood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
134 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good food, good prices, good bar!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

What started as a pub lunch developed into a full Saturday stopover! The food was delicious and filling, there were plenty of great beers, the staff were friendly and the fire was warm so why leave!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Elginstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Poor management”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014 via mobile

Why would bar have an illuminated menu outside and a menu on every table, gen the kitchen is closed? Unfortunately I am therefore unable to comment on the quality of any food offered and will almost certainly never enter this establishment again. Poor management or staff who don't give a toss? Either way I won't be back.

Helpful?
Thank daveaberdeen54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Barony Bar also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Barony Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing