We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dated decor and pretty sharp landlady”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bellevue Guest House
Ranked #284 of 394 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Arrived and were greeted by the landlady who asked for cash payment right away. Then she took us to our room. Good bathroom, clean, good shower, Not much more to say. Old mismatching furniture, like an old auntie house. Very dark. The bed was comfortable though.
Continental breakfast in the morning, which I wouldn't mind if there was something fresh there! Everything on the buffet was just out of a supermarket shopping bag, no fresh croissants or pastries, Muller corner as yogurt option (which I don't mind but you get the point!), no fresh fruit. Some cereals with tiny bowls to eat them (my partner pointed out that this implies you eat less of it)....It lacks personality and warmth. It's just a budget accommodation.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarabach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (49)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2013

We have been a weekend during Easter for 2 nights and paid £100.
We arrived and we were able to leave our luggages at 8.30 in the morning. We came back at 14:00 and found out that they had already put our luggages in the room on the ground floor. The room was big, it was a triple room! (we booked a double room, so it was great). Ceilings are high and the interiors look luxurious. Bathroom is small, but will do the job. The room was bright and big flat screen TV. Coffee and tea facilities (with shortbread biscuits) are in the room.
The breakfast was nice, even though it was a bit cold in the breakfast room. I ate toasted bread, 2 types of cheddar, Babybels, 2 types of ham, butter, muffin, Activia yogurt, Muller yogurt with fruit jam, clementini all topped with tea/coffee and a jug of orange juice (for the two of us).
The men mananing is very friendly (speaks very good french) and offered us Ferrero Roche when leaving. We were also able to leave the luggages and come back at 20:15.

Top tips: 1. Book early via Booking.com
2. Room no 1 is the best room

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TheTraveller8989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

We stayed at the Belle Vue Guest House in February for a long weekend, Ideal base for visiting Edinburgh. Don't be put off by the neglected exterior and entrance hall, We stayed in room no 6 it was a lovely clean room and spotless on suite. We only paid £130.00 for 3 nights for two of us. Breakfast is a continental breakfast with plenty choice. Tea and Coffee in rooms. Bus stop just outside into Edinburgh buy a £3.50 all day ticket and have right money buses do not give you any change. Plenty of bars and pubs just up the road.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulcarol40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

We were in Edinburgh in September,2011. We decided to stay in Bellevue Guest House, you get really nice place to sleep for great price. Owners are really nice and helpful, they gave us free wi-fi password and help with anything we asked. We had nice breakfast , I think our room was number 2,on ground floor, it's quite small place and bathroom, but everything was clean,and well kept. It's approx.15-20 minutes walk to Royal Mile.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tamy91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2012

I just visit Edimburgh and I was in Bellevue Guest House. It's a nice place, comfortable and cheap! We paid 110 pounds for 2 nights in a triple room with a good breakfast!The place is 20 minutes by walk far from the city center. the owner, sara, is really cute!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeanlescarlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2010

Me, my husband & three small children stayed here for 2 nights. The family room was lovely, large with en suite and very clean. The breakfast served was lovely and they went out of their way to cater for our small children. The couple who run the b&b were fantastic, so friendly and went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed. The b&b is just a short walk into the centre. I would most definately recommend this b&b and if we are in Edinburgh again will be staying here.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cujo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2009

This house is well located close to downtown, but in a quiet location. Bus services connect to Royal Mile in least than 10 minutes.
In addition, rooms are charming, clean and comfortable enough.
Service is of good quality and employees are really nice and helpful for tourists. Breakfast could be heartier but is served in quantity.
As you can see, I really appreciated being there for a short trip

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tourist-addict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#89 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,613 reviews
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
2,015 reviews
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bellevue Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellevue Guest House

Address: 40 Minto Street, Edinburgh EH9 2BR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #284 of 394 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: £109 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Bellevue Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bellevue Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bellevue Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing