We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Late Sunday lunch, a new place it needs to get a lot better before we'd consider going back.”
Review of The Galley Leith - CLOSED

The Galley Leith
Cuisines: Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: A new bar & bistro on the corner of Leith. Offering a fresh new seasonal menu of local sourced produce for breakfast, lunch & dinner. Menu changes daily, check our Facebook page for daily post updates. We can cater for all dietary requirements; specialising in using gluten free ingredients, and prepare fresh gluten free baking in house.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Late Sunday lunch, a new place it needs to get a lot better before we'd consider going back.”
Reviewed 14 April 2013

I ordered fish main course, but three battered fish tails, or goujons turned up when I was expecting a nice big fish like it said on the menu, the chips were Ok, and probably really were hand cut but still way off the great ones from cheuchters landing, £9.95 for 3 fish tails in batter with mediocre chips, not impressed.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nickadimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    8
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Expected better”
Reviewed 7 April 2013

After reading other review's, and have visited the sister Restruant, the compass, we were disappointed, the service was polite, but very slow, the fish cakes were quite bland and the main coarse of ox- tail and chorizo stew was served lukewarm, and had no real kick to it, may be just a bad night, we will go back, but not to soon.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alec g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lovely Restaurant”
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Have been to this restaurant a few times now and the food is excellent. However our meal last night was slightly disappointing. May have been my choice Goulash which was a bit bland. It was really busy but only one member of staff having to deal with taking orders, bringing out meals and serving behind the bar - too much for only one girl. However I would recommend the restaurant, good menu choice, which changes regularly, and the atmosphere is relaxed. The wine list is not extensive but what is on offer is very good.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Elaine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A lovely warming lunch on a snowy day”
Reviewed 28 March 2013

I went on to the Galley on Tuesday with 6 friends for lunch. The food, service and surroundings was first class! It was a horrible wintry day and the chef had a choice of 2 soups which most of us decided to sample, we were not disappointed! I opted to have the soup and open sandwich combo, bowl of soup was huge and sandwich served on soft bloomer bread with layers of Ayrshire ham and chutney, my friend had the smoked salmon and horseradish, i had a bit of food envy when it arrived as it looked delicious! The Chunky Chips were amazing.... They alone will be enough to bring me back! Please try this place, good honest food and clearly using quality ingredients, all served in stylish surroundings. 10/10.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chrissie18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gluten free Heaven.”
Reviewed 23 March 2013

The galley is the most amazing gluten free haven, we have always had difficulty finding anywhere with breakfast choices for coeliacs but no more! The variety and quality of gluten free options here is truly astounding. Best breakfast place in Edinburgh for those who just want to enjoy the great food and laid back ambience and those with gluten intolerances. Just as I finish typing this a complementary plate of gluten free cakes has been delivered to the table - bliss!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TCameron8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Galley Leith also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing