We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely little pad in the heart of Edinburgh”
other travellers have booked this property
The Grassmarket flat - situated 3rd floor on right
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Grassmarket flat - situated 3rd floor on right
Room with a view Meal for two
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
62 reviews
The Grassmarket flat - situated 3rd floor on right
Room with a view
Meal for two
Living Area
Scottish themed soft furnishings
Kitchen. Complimentary tea,coffe,and milk is provided plus a bottle of chilled wine on your arrival.
New shower room
Comfortable sleeping area
Tastefully decorated living area
The Grassmarket view
Complimentary Xmas/New Year Hamper
Scottish soaps
Scottish theme throughout
Wine for two!
View from windows at night
Meal with a view
Edinburgh Castle seen from the Grassmarket
Edinburgh Military Tattoo - 3 minutes walk from flat
Grassmarket skyline at night
Street entertainers outside
A Christmas treat !
Victoria street leading to Grassmarket.  This street is just outside
Fair In Grassmarket precinct
Our flat is centrally situated at the bottom of Victoria Street
studio/Lounge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
Studio, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 62 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Laura B
Leeds
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely little pad in the heart of Edinburgh”
Reviewed 28 May 2013 for a stay in April 2013

My fiance and I stayed here for 2 nights in April. He is a born an bred Glaswegian; me on the other hand have never visited the Scottish capital before so I decided to enter the city's Rock n Roll Half Marathon and chose the Grassmarket Flat primarily due to its location which was very close to the start line. Well what a pleasant surprise it was! Light & airy, spotless and furnished beautifully throughout. We particularly loved the Scottish theme with thick tartan curtains and thistles (which as a result we have decided to include in our wedding flowers!). The only criticism I could make was that the bars outside the flat were quite noisy on the saturday evening, but it was a saturday after all and I guess its to be expected with a flat right in the middle of town so we couldn't complain! We still had a perfect nights sleep and would definately stay here again! Thankyou!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Scottish theme
Liked least: Neighbours quite noisy
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbernauld, Scotland
Reviewed 8 May 2013 for a stay in March 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sophie a
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Beware: this will make you think other apartment rentals are rubbish :)”
Reviewed 14 March 2013 for a stay in February 2013

What can I say about this accommodation apart for this: we are telling all our friends and family to stay there and we will definitely be back!
Spotlessly clean, 5* hotel décor, extremely stylish (contemporary "Scottish" theme yet extremely cosy and romantic. It made me wonder if professional decorators had been involved?) superb attention to details, excellent location, outstanding customer service with personalised touches and little extras... you can tell the owners work extremely hard to make this apartment a little heaven and they have certainly succeeded.
While you are there would like to recommend:
- Heading to "Hula" the juice bar (across the street) for a delicious smoothie. The staff are so friendly, I was told if you give them a ring they would even home deliver for you as the apartment is so close. My husband loved their "hangover" detox smoothie!! I loved the fresh smoothies, home made soups and delicious cakes.
- The Greyfriars cemetery ghost tour for a little bit of fun night time entertainment. We only realized towards the end of our stay the cemetery is actually two minutes away from the flat!!!
- Find the local mini supermarket (I can't remember if it's a Sainsbury's or Tesco?!) at the beginning of your stay if you need to buy a few extras (the owners kindly provide basics like milk etc).
We hope you enjoy your stay as much as we did!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The décor
Liked least: Needing to take your rubbish out at the end of the stay!!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Mar 2013
Thank you very much for this fabulous review. Our aim is for guests to feel as comfortable as possible. It is great to see our efforts are appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew K
Shawnee, Kansas, United States
1 review
“Great location, Comfortable”
Reviewed 11 March 2013 for a stay in February 2013

Richard and Pauline provided such a great place to stay and wonderful experience! It was more than comfortable with all the amenities you could need. The apartment is completely updated and will make you feel at home. The complimentary Wine and assortment of teas was a very generous touch! It's in the Grassmarket area which has many great pubs and the view from the apartment is spectacular. Such a great feel. I recommend this to solo travelers or couples!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Stairs - Haha
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Mar 2013
Andrew, thanks very much for taking the time to leave a review. We are pleased that you enjoyed the view and your stay! Regards - Richard & Pauline
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buttercup...
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A cosy little flat in a top location”
Reviewed 11 February 2013 for a stay in January 2013

Hi Pauline,

We just wanted to say thank you for such a lovely stay in your cosy little apartment in Grassmarket. We had a brilliant time in Edinburgh, and it was great to be in such a central location to explore the city. The little extra touches of a bottle of wine and some milk in the fridge really made it for us. We hope that we will be able to stay here again next time we visit this beautiful city.

Kind regards, Pete and Amy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Feb 2013
Thank you for taking teh time to leave this great review. We are glad you enoyed the central location. Regards, Richard & Pauline
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 16 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the flat was charming and location perfect
Liked least: upstairs neighbors could be a bit noisy at times
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
16 Jan 2013
We worked hard to ensure this stay over the festive period was just that bit more special. We are glad that it was a memorable break - job done!
Regards, Richard & Pauline
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Greeneyes...
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Beautiful, cosy flat in great location, perfect for couples”
Reviewed 7 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012

We had a fab time at the Grassmarket Flat for Hogmanay 2012. It's a beautiful little place, very cosy, clean, warm and inviting. It's just a short stroll to the castle and Old Town, and shopping on Princes Street is only a ten minute walk away. The Grassmarket has some lovely pubs and restaurants, so you need not venture far from your door.

We were so impressed by the flat. The decor is lovely, it's modern and has all you need. We could happily have stayed longer. The christmas tree and extras were unexpected, yet greatly appreciated. Thank you!

Thank you so much Richard and Pauline for all the extra special touches. We will definitely recommend and hope to come back to experience the beautiful city, and lovely flat, another season.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It felt really homely and inviting.
Liked least: Leaving it : (
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jan 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your break in our flat at this special time of year. We do aim to please and it's great that guests feel inclined to show their appreciation with such reviews. All the best, Richard and Pauline
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing