We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great location - good place to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh
Ranked #104 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Preston
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“great location - good place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2013

Stayed 2 nights from 9/1/13 - we got a very cheap deal:) - lovely and clean, spacious room. Staff on reception very pleasant and helpful. Straight of the train and cross the road - good pubs and eating places very close by -

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lorra4ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray C, General Manager at Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh, responded to this review, 19 January 2013
Many thanks for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    752
    935
    382
    115
    101
See reviews for
220
1,171
166
160
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (451)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
cumbria
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2013 via mobile

Bargain hotel , beware no room for small child in room with you. Would not advise family visit! Two night stay just way too small, v clean bargain price didn't even mind paying extra for towels etc. understand it's a very low price hotel. Location brilliant, only one restaurant locally let us in with a 2 year old most were no children??
Would strongly discourage any families , would be ideal for one person per room extremely claustrophobic

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1234gtbr1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray C, General Manager at Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh, responded to this review, 19 January 2013
We dont actively market family rooms. However we do have 9 rooms which are larger and it is our intention to offer rooms with a child cot, so that we can be more child friendly. They are our accessible rooms, so have more space in the bathrooms as well. If you have a child, please ask and we will do our best to accommodate. We should really have spotted this on your arrival and made a change for you. Next time. I will search out local child friendly eating places so we can advise in future. Thanks for your response.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2013

Picked up a couple of nights in the opening offer and decided to give it a try.

Very clean and staff were ultra helpful. Anything other than a bed is extra, TV, Towels, Hair dryer etc and no drink making facilities in the room. If you are lucky, you get a room with a window, we didn't !

The room was the smallest I have ever seen but the bed was comfortable although the glass door to the toilet was a bit off putting, being opposite the bed. I would guess we ended up with this room because of the £5 price tag but wouldn't be too happy if I'd paid the full price.

Overall, ideal for a short stay on a budget and perfectly placed for the city centre.

Room Tip: Make sure you request a room with a window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank weebrian1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray C, General Manager at Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh, responded to this review, 19 January 2013
Many thanks for your review. Glad you enjoyed your stay. Just a note to point out that yes we do have some rooms without a view (a bit like a cruise ship where a few cabins are internal) but you have to reserve these. It isnt just pot luck, and of course they are the cheapest and £25 for a double room in Edinburgh is pretty good. The vast majority of our rooms are with window. The £5 offer rooms automatically went to windowless rooms. Deal of the century at £5 for a brand new smart double room though.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2013

Me and my partner stayed at the hotel for 3 nights during hogmanay.

Hotel it self is really good newly open last month so everything is spotlessly clean and upto date.

Staff were very friendly and helpfull on the desk :)

Only down side is that you have to pay extra for things like towels, tv and internet.

As far as the location is fantastic, the hotel is right outside Haymarket train station and takes 10mins to walk to princes street.

There is lots of shops pubs and restaruants by the hotel to eat at and get food to take back to your hotel room I would recommend a pub called the Mercat for breakfast, really good value for money and quantity is good to.

The hotel itself dosent have a restaurant so you will have to eat out.

Edingbrough zoo is just a bus ride which you can catch any three buses round the corner from the hotel.

If driving up to Edinburgh I would recommend leaveing your car at the sheriffhall park and ride and geting the 33 bus to Haymarket as there is no car parking.

All in all would use this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ClaireTaylor123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray C, General Manager at Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh, responded to this review, 18 January 2013
Many thanks for your review. You were some of the first customers and the very first to put on a review, so much appreciated. Just to clarify on the "extras", we offer a limited service concept which allows you the customer to dictate what you want or need to pay for. We give you great basics like the welcome, quality comfy beds, powerful showers, central location and secure environment and you are free to choose the extras you want or need. Its just a different way of presenting a price which allows you the choice to keep your stay cost at a minimum. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Leonardo Hotel Edinburgh City Centre (Haymarket)
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Cityroomz Edinburgh
Cityroomz Edinburgh
#86 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
Edinburgh Capital Hotel
#93 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,125 reviews
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#40 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh

Property: Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh
Address: 7 Clifton Terrace, Edinburgh EH12 5DR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located opposite Haymarket railway station in the heart of Edinburgh's West end and on both Tram and Bus routes with direct access to Edinburgh Airport (20 min) and the town centre (5 min). We are also within walking distance of Edinburgh International Conference Centre (5 min), Usher Hall (7 min), Princess Street (10 min) and Edinburgh Castle (20 min). Our rooms are clean, modern and compact (10 to 11sq metres) focussing on high-quality basics. All rooms are en-suite with power showers and Hypnos beds, air conditioning and heating with individual room control. Guests are safe and secure as access to the hotel is manned with 24 hour reception and key card access to all floors and rooms. Each room is equipped with a safe. Our unique pricing structure means that you only pay for what you use.Extras such as early check-in, late departure and luggage storage can only be requested during the guest's stay and subject to additional charge. Likewise daily housekeeping is available at an extra cost as rooms are automatically cleaned on day four of your stay. Tea/ Coffee and snacks are available from reception 24 hours a day with hotel access to a pub, Platform 5, adjacent to the hotel, with a wide range of food served between 7.00Am and 10.00Pm daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Superbreak UK so you can book your Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing