We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value for money!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh
Ranked #106 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2013

We booked a room without a window which small but modern and extremely clean. The shower was spotless and the water temperature was perfect. The toilet had a frosted glass door which isn't really ideal for anyone other than couples... The hotel is in a good location as it is immediately across from Haymarket station and a short walk from Princes Street. Reception staff were very helpful and we stored our bags for £2 which was handy!
Already booked up for the Kings Cross one!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngieCandie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray C, General Manager at Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh, responded to this review, 2 April 2013
Many thanks for your review. Its good to see that you had spotted the Value of the Tune brand. I am sure that the team at Kings Cross will offer you a warm welcome as well. The bag drop before or after your stay at just £2 is another amazing deal. At Waverely they charge £7 per item (opens 7am to 11pm) and of course there is no left luggae at Haymarket station, so another fantastic deal from Tune.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,326 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    766
    944
    392
    121
    103
See reviews for
227
1,189
169
166
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (459)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2013

Spotlessly clean, style with no fuss, excellent value for a major city stay. Rooms have every thing you need for low price stay especially if adding the comfort pack . Staff so helpful, professional and friendly. One of the best overnight stays i have had in a long time rooms well insulated so no noise, a really peaceful place. WILL be using this hotel again, perfect for the city center and Haymarket train station.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobertaH675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray C, General Manager at Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh, responded to this review, 29 March 2013
Great feedback. Many thanks. You have spotted all the benefits. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weybridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2013

I feel I need to give at least 3 stars because the rooms were very stylish and also immaculately clean, which - being used to staying in Travelodges and the like - I wasn't expecting. However, the bedrooms were pretty much microscopic. There wasn't room to unpack our bag (luckily we were only there for the weekend) and you had to do some climbing to get to the other side of the bed. The room was very cold as the heating didn't seem to turn on unless your card was inserted, which wasn't really appropriate for -1C Edinburgh. I was also surprised that no one came in to do any housekeeping after our first night and we were expected to empty bins etc ourselves. All in all, reasonably comfortable, lovely staff, but I expect to have enough room to unpack. (Also, a minor point, they positioned the bedroom mirror so that it was too high for me - 5'2" - to look in it!)

Room Tip: The building's in a sort of X or T shape. Try not to get a room on an inside corner as they'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray C, General Manager at Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh, responded to this review, 29 March 2013
Many thanks for your review. Unfortunately we dont have variable pricing on rooms, so some are just a little larger than others. On average they are around 11 sq ft each, and it is accepted that we have created accommodation which is space efficient so that we can offer you the prices that you would like to see. Sorry about the bedroom mirror. Actaully there are 2 mirrors on the stand, although accept that if you hang your cloths on the hanger you dont get to see the lower one from 18 inches to about 4ft 6 ins. Room tip - store luggage in the recess under the bed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

Stayed here for two nights whilst visiting Edinburgh. It's a modern budget hotel in the Haymarket area a short walk away from the city centre. The rooms are clean and comfortable but are a little "compact", two to a room would be a little tight but probably manageable. We purchased the comfort package which meant a free towel, safe access and tv, these would need to be purchased as extras otherwise so definitely something worth considering. Check-in isn't until 3:00pm and if you arrive earlier you have the option of early check in for £5 or pay £3 to store bags. This is a little tight but it is a budget hotel so no real complaints. I would recommend this hotel as a base for visiting and exploring the city but do not expect luxury! Extra kudos to the staff who were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rhyd78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray C, General Manager at Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh, responded to this review, 29 March 2013
Many thanks for your review and the extra kudos. Our staff and your reception is an essential part of the value thatwe offer within Tune Hotels, so even though we state we are a limited service concept this does not mean we limit the attention and focus on our guests. Pleased that you noticed the difference. We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013

Fantastic value for money! Just an approximate 10 minute walk to the Edinburgh town center. I honestly couldn't be more happier with my stay, The staff are all friendly and provide the best customer service I have ever received.
The rooms are smaller than most other hotels, but that's not a problem as the standard the rooms make up for it.
The hotel as a whole is exceptionally clean and well maintained, the room we stayed in for the night was very clean and I could not fault housekeeping in any way, right down to every corner in the shower room/toilet was clean.recommended
Not only the room was a fantastic price, but an extra £8 for WiFi, Towels, Shower-gel/Shampoo, Soap & TV was excellent.
I highly recommend this hotel to everyone needing a place to stay whilst in Edinburgh!
I defiantly will be returning to this hotel in the near future!! :)

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCR2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray C, General Manager at Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh, responded to this review, 25 March 2013
We look forward to welcoming you back as well. Thanks for your review and recommendations. Just a note to confirm that the £8 comfort package includes towel and toiletries, in room safe, hairdryer, TV and Wi-Fi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
103 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013 via mobile

Stayed there for 2 nights using a voucher, hotel was light , bright and exceptionally clean.
Very security conscious which I liked.
Room was perfectly fine for a couple of days.
We added the comfort package and I would stay here again.
I would recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lambchpp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray C, General Manager at Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh, responded to this review, 25 March 2013
Many thanks for your review and your recommendation. We look forward to offering you our hospitality again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013 via mobile

I needed a last minute hotel for an overnight stay in Edinburgh. Work commitments saw me working until 2am and thus not being able to commute home as usual.

I booked my room at Tune the day before my stay and was still able to secure a room for £25.

The staff were excellent and I checked in with no problems despite it being 2 in the morning.

Room was rather small but ideal for purpose. Big comfortable double bed, plenty of space to store bags & hang clothes and a clean, compact bathroom.

I had a great nights sleep, the room was totally silent despite being mere yards from the very busy Haymarket Railway Station.

This is how commuter hotels should be; perfect location, great rooms and fantastic value for money.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulMarnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray C, General Manager at Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh, responded to this review, 25 March 2013
Cant do much to beat perfect! We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
West End
Cityroomz Edinburgh
Cityroomz Edinburgh
#84 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#40 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,841 reviews
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#44 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh

Property: Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh
Address: 7 Clifton Terrace, Edinburgh EH12 5DR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located opposite Haymarket railway station in the heart of Edinburgh's West end and on both Tram and Bus routes with direct access to Edinburgh Airport (20 min) and the town centre (5 min). We are also within walking distance of Edinburgh International Conference Centre (5 min), Usher Hall (7 min), Princess Street (10 min) and Edinburgh Castle (20 min). Our rooms are clean, modern and compact (10 to 11sq metres) focussing on high-quality basics. All rooms are en-suite with power showers and Hypnos beds, air conditioning and heating with individual room control. Guests are safe and secure as access to the hotel is manned with 24 hour reception and key card access to all floors and rooms. Each room is equipped with a safe. Our unique pricing structure means that you only pay for what you use.Extras such as early check-in, late departure and luggage storage can only be requested during the guest's stay and subject to additional charge. Likewise daily housekeeping is available at an extra cost as rooms are automatically cleaned on day four of your stay. Tea/ Coffee and snacks are available from reception 24 hours a day with hotel access to a pub, Platform 5, adjacent to the hotel, with a wide range of food served between 7.00Am and 10.00Pm daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing