We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, a few steps away from the station”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh
Ranked #107 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Monifieth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location, a few steps away from the station”
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Great location, a few steps literally from the station and plenty of bars, restaurants and takeaways within walking distance. Not far from local convenience stores. As well as train on your doorstep also plenty of buses and taxi rank not far away. About a 10 - 15 minute walk from hotel to Princes Street. At present there is major roadworks as they are at the last stages of getting the tram lines in place for the trams which will be passing the Tune within a few months. That can't be helped. Be wonderful when it is finished. The room we stayed in was on the small side but I was advised by receptionist to ask for an accessible room next time for extra bathroom and bedroom space. I will stay again.

Room Tip: For extra space ask for an accessible room. Bigger bathroom and bedroom space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,364 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    771
    957
    402
    125
    109
See reviews for
231
1,203
170
174
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (469)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
129 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013 via mobile

We took advantage of an initson voucher and must say, as unusual it is to "customise" your items, from paying for towels, to tv, to late check out, etc.
Check in was straight forward, the room was nice, ok small, but clean and bed very comfortable.
Our TV didnt work, but full refund was given and a late check out offered free of charge.
Location excellent.
Will return.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StephanLisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

2 mins from Haymarket trainstation. Beautiful rooms, very clean, excellent customer service!!

I would recommened this hotel to anyone wanting great value for money! I will be back!! Thanks for a great stay!

J

Room Tip: Ask for a troom with a window (not all rooms have windows) take towels or you are charged £1.50 TV...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JordyBurns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

It was my first stay at the Tune hotels and I found it to be comfortable and affordable. rooms are bright clean a bit small but if you can adjust with that its a real value for money.
Its location is also a big plus, staff are cheerfull and helpful.

Room Tip: While booking you have option to choose between windowless rooms and windowed rooms,but if you want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We booked this hotel by an Itison voucher deal! It only cost us £19 so i wasnt expecting much.y expectations were exceeded and it was well worth it. I didnt read the voucher properly and had to pay an extra £8 for use of the TV/Hairdryer, wifi and for towels. This didnt bother me thou. The place was immaculate both inside and out. Great location adjacent to Haymarket station and a short walk away from the centre of Edinburgh. Staff were pleasant too. Will defo be back.

Room Tip: Make sure it is a room with a window as they have some rooms with no window :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grant_mul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray C, General Manager at Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh, responded to this review, 2 April 2013
Many thanks for your review. Really pleased that you enjoyed your value for money stay here. We cant always offer those rates of course. It was a very special offer, however, we always start the bookings ball rolling at very low costs, so the earlier you book the best rates will be available. Just to confirm that you must BOOK a room without window. You dont get one otherwise. Its just the cheapest option. Looking forward to offering you our hospitality onec again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Hotel was amazing location as it's right outside train station. We left out bags early before check in, £2 each. (So the add Ons begin)
Room was very small however also very clean and modern with great view.
Downside, you do not even get a bar of soap, towels or tv. Wish they had said at time of check in & would have added.
To get the tv activated £3, one towel (that's right only one) with wee bar of soap £3. I think it's same again for hair dryer!
I love a brew in the morning... No kettle!!!

Staff could not have been nicer!!!

If you appreciate how basic it is before you go and pay the add Ons... Then it's in good location. The room really is v small & bit of a squeeze to get from bed to loo.

I wouldn't want to put anything off as it's great location I just wouldn't spend much time in room!

For that reason, not sure if I would stay again!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alanna_Thornton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray C, General Manager at Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh, responded to this review, 2 April 2013
Absolutely correct. Less time in the bedroom and more time out enjoying Edinburgh. The rooms at Tune Hotel Haymarket are designed just for that. As you spotted a perfect location as well. Just to clarify re addon pricing - towel and toiletries £1.50, TV 24 hrs £3 and hairdryer £2 for the duration of your stay. Not sure how you booked but all on line bookings it is clear about the addons. Best way is to buy the comfort package at £8 and add that to the room price. OR just pick and choose what you want or need and that becomes your room price. This way you can keep your stay costs to your minimum. Thanks for your feedback though. Always gives us the opportunity to review the concept. I hope that we can welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013

I had the pleasure of staying here last Friday - a bit of a surprise for the Mrs. Staff were very friendly and helpful, hotel was immaculate and smart throughout - I would definatly stay again and tell others about it too. Its right next to Haymarket Train Station and a short walk to Princes Street - also many fantastic clubs, bars and restaurants within walking distance

Room Tip: There are different size rooms for different budgets - just check before you book
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clarkedale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray C, General Manager at Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh, responded to this review, 2 April 2013
Sincere thanks for your review. It is appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back for a future stay. You spotted the benefits of the West End of Edinburgh!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
West End
Cityroomz Edinburgh
Cityroomz Edinburgh
#83 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#39 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,873 reviews
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#44 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh

Property: Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh
Address: 7 Clifton Terrace, Edinburgh EH12 5DR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located opposite Haymarket railway station in the heart of Edinburgh's West end and on both Tram and Bus routes with direct access to Edinburgh Airport (20 min) and the town centre (5 min). We are also within walking distance of Edinburgh International Conference Centre (5 min), Usher Hall (7 min), Princess Street (10 min) and Edinburgh Castle (20 min). Our rooms are clean, modern and compact (10 to 11sq metres) focussing on high-quality basics. All rooms are en-suite with power showers and Hypnos beds, air conditioning and heating with individual room control. Guests are safe and secure as access to the hotel is manned with 24 hour reception and key card access to all floors and rooms. Each room is equipped with a safe. Our unique pricing structure means that you only pay for what you use.Extras such as early check-in, late departure and luggage storage can only be requested during the guest's stay and subject to additional charge. Likewise daily housekeeping is available at an extra cost as rooms are automatically cleaned on day four of your stay. Tea/ Coffee and snacks are available from reception 24 hours a day with hotel access to a pub, Platform 5, adjacent to the hotel, with a wide range of food served between 7.00Am and 10.00Pm daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing