We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap, clean and cheerful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh
Ranked #106 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Cheap, clean and cheerful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

This hasn't been open long enough to even be on Google Maps but it is very handy for transport being directly across the road from Haymarket Train station, one stop from Edinburgh Waverly and a 15-20 minute walk to the City centre. It is bright and modern and although there are no frills you couldn't fault it for cleanliness. There are no carpets on the bedroom floors (laminated boards) and no bedspreads - fabulous as far as I am concerned as I cannot bear to think of the germs that lurk in carpets and bedspreads in hotels. The beds are high and comfortable, showers powerful and the TV was big and worked fine. There is AC and heating that is pre-set although you can control it yourself as well.
We booked through Experian £117 for 2 people, 2 nights, so we got the comfort package which included towels, shampoo, hair dryer, wi-fi and TV but there is a menu with prices for all of these so beware exlusive prices. There is no kettle in the room but the 24 hour reception will serve you hot water or tea and coffee at a reasonable price, there are also crisps, chocolate etc.
The walls are a bit thin and we could hear the man next door snoring but in all honesty you would go a long way to find such value in a capital city. I hope Tunes start spreading their wings around the UK.

Room Tip: We were at the back and there was absolutely no noise from the station, can't speak for the fron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mlw01246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray C, General Manager at Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
Many thanks for your review. Yeah we are on Google Maps? Just type in Tune Hotel Haymarket and there we are just opposite the Haymarket station. Many thanks for a great review though. I always find it interesting that guests think of Edinburgh centre as being Princes Street. We are in the West end of the city its as good as the centre, however, Edinburgh is a small enough city to be able to walk anywhere and everywhere and being based in any one location means a walk. Agree about the flooring at least you can feel its clean. Bear in mind that booking agents prices have the extras added on to the prices while the Tune Hotel Website gives you the option. If you don't want the hassle, just book the comfort package which includes it all. See you again soon we hope
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,326 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    766
    944
    392
    121
    103
See reviews for
227
1,189
169
166
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (459)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tynemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

Basic, clean and good value for money, it is better to have more to spend in Edinburgh than on a bed for the night! The Tune is still lovely and new...... so make the most.
Train station is just opposite the hotel to get to Waverley station on Princess Street or approx 15min walk to PrincessStreet, numberb three bus which is just outside Waverley Station on princess street also gets you back.
Staff friendly.
We got a room with windows and I'm so pleased as I don't think I could have handled a room without as it was nice to get some air.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrankB01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray C, General Manager at Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
Exactly. Have more of your money to spend in Edinburgh. Basics of great location, clean, powerful showers with masses of hot water, air con/ heating, good security for you and a great location are already provided. Just need to enjoy yourself. Many thanks for your review and I hope that we will see you again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

A clean and compact hotel, close to all major attractions. Only issue is doors aren't soft closing so can be quite noisy at night as there a lot of stag/hen parties. Staff were friendly and very helpful.

Room Tip: Get a room on the top floor with a window. Great views!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray C, General Manager at Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
Many thanks for your review. Its not usual to have lots of stag or hen party goers, however, most hotels in Edinburgh are a target. Each ne varies. Sometimes they are exceptionally well behaved and sometimes they are not. Our 24/7 reception team try and keep them in order to keep the noises down and not disturb other residents. Sorry indeed if you were disturbed by any doors. We try and keep on top of the self closing devices. Over 200 doors is quite a task. I find it amazing that people forget how to close doors these days and rely on the self closing device which is supposed to be there to prevent the spread of fire not provide an automatic closer for convenience. OK I do it myself as well. Hope that this didn't deter you too much and we get the opportunity to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

The ranking and approval rating were enough for us to book a stay here. In retrospect, can't say we'd agree entirely with it. The concept makes sense, pay for what you use, don't pay for what you don't use, and use it as a place to sleep and shower. The photos we saw on various sites looked like the room we had, but the field of view in those photos maked the room look wider and spacious whereas the actual size was alot smaller and made us feel a little chlosterphobic. The main portion of the room was barely enough to fit the bed, much less fit someone standing on either side. In contrast to the Tune Hotels website, it shows a bigger more spacious room. There was some room at the end of the bed, but I ended up crawling over my partner to get to the other side. The beds were definitely not 5 star as the website advertises, we needed some downtime to rest, but can't say it was quality rest. There wasn't much of a sound barrier between rooms, we could hear the conversation in the next room, and feel the room door slam shut. Some positive aspects of the hotel are: the hotel and rooms were very clean and tidy, powerful shower as advertised, very good security, good price, good location in proximity to airport/sights/restaurants/pubs, and the staff was friendly and helpful. I could see how this hotel would work for younger budget minded travelers, but as a couple in our late 30's, we're looking and willing to pay for a certain level of comfort. I would not agree that Tune Hotels offers a 5 star sleeping experience at a 1 star price. I would rank a 2.5 but could only mark a 3....

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonezin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray C, General Manager at Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
Well thank you very much for a very honest and fair review. Your opinion is appreciated. We tried to make the images representative of the rooms and it does depend which room you get. The majority are a fair size, however with all converted buildings there will end up with a few which are smaller and a few which are larger as well. The 5 star sleeping experience is more relative to the bed itself which is a Hypnos bed as supplied to some 5 star establishments. It provides a firm healthy base designed to give a better sleep. Waking up in the morning to a powerful shower with masses of hot water is also part of that experience. All at exceptional value for Edinburgh. Cant think of anything we do that is 1 star except the price. We will have to accept you rating of 2 to 5 overall and excel in all those things we do well,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

Nice hotel, no frills, but was clean, and modern. We used it for a stag do and it did the job. Staff were friendly and the rooms were nice and well decorated.
the location was handy in Haymarket and just across the street from the train station.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray C, General Manager at Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
Thank you. Glad you enjoyed your stay and hope we see you again on another visit to Edinburgh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

Probably the smallest hotel room I have ever stayed in! But clean, modern and with all the amenities you need. The bathroom was also clean and modern, and with a shower with good water pressure! (rare in Scotland).
Friendly and efficient staff.
The airport bus stops a few minutes away.
10 minutes by foot to Princes Street.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carrogreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray C, General Manager at Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
Thank you for a good review. Hope we see you again soon. How about space efficient instead of tiny? Keeps the prices low though.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

I've stayed in a twin bed room with my son on April, the price of the two nights 182 pounds (Booking,com), the room have a correct size and comfortable, excellent beds. very comfy( you don't have much space to put your clothes), the bathroom is pretty small, the shower is great with a good water pressure. In my rate were included the wifi, the use of the safe, the use of tv (32 inches) and toiletries, if you want any extra you have to pay at reasonable prices, like extra towels, housekeeping, etc, I recomend the use the Airlink (cheap and fast) as the transportation from and to the airport, the stop is next the hotel, The staff of the hotel were very helpful and kind AS EVERYONE IN SCOTLAND!

Room Tip: choose a room with window and upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdrianKek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray C, General Manager at Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
Well thank you very much for a good review. Just to remind you all that the travel agent bookings rates have the comfort package add on included. The Tune website direct does not so the prices are cheaper. Airport is on our side of Edinburgh so very convenient with the 100 airport bus just 2 mins from the front door.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
West End
Cityroomz Edinburgh
Cityroomz Edinburgh
#84 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#40 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,841 reviews
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#44 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh

Property: Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh
Address: 7 Clifton Terrace, Edinburgh EH12 5DR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located opposite Haymarket railway station in the heart of Edinburgh's West end and on both Tram and Bus routes with direct access to Edinburgh Airport (20 min) and the town centre (5 min). We are also within walking distance of Edinburgh International Conference Centre (5 min), Usher Hall (7 min), Princess Street (10 min) and Edinburgh Castle (20 min). Our rooms are clean, modern and compact (10 to 11sq metres) focussing on high-quality basics. All rooms are en-suite with power showers and Hypnos beds, air conditioning and heating with individual room control. Guests are safe and secure as access to the hotel is manned with 24 hour reception and key card access to all floors and rooms. Each room is equipped with a safe. Our unique pricing structure means that you only pay for what you use.Extras such as early check-in, late departure and luggage storage can only be requested during the guest's stay and subject to additional charge. Likewise daily housekeeping is available at an extra cost as rooms are automatically cleaned on day four of your stay. Tea/ Coffee and snacks are available from reception 24 hours a day with hotel access to a pub, Platform 5, adjacent to the hotel, with a wide range of food served between 7.00Am and 10.00Pm daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing