We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh
Ranked #106 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
Reviewed 1 July 2013 via mobile

very good location, just need to cross the street for the airport shuttle. Groceries stores and many restaurants nearby. And the staff very kind and helpful. Even before my arrival the manager helped me a lot on what to see and do in scotland.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walbertassi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray C, General Manager at Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
Hey William - Glad you enjoyed your stay in Edinburgh and enjoyed the Tune experience. My staff and I are always willing to help nice people like yourself. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,313 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    762
    942
    387
    119
    103
See reviews for
225
1,184
167
165
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (458)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

My partner and I stayed here for three nights last week.

Things that met our expectations:

1)The hotel is new and has a simple, modern decor. It's location opposite Haymarket station isn't the best as you have to walk 15 minutes to Princes Street, but that is what one compromises to save money. The airlink bus from the airport leaves you one minute away, which is convenient.
2)There are a few (not many) restaurants in the area. We recommend Mercat, The Haymarket pub, and Omar Khayyam. Also, the takeaway nearest to the left of the hotel does deep fried Mars bars or any other chocolate bar for £2. Try it!

Things that surpassed our expectations:

1)The bathroom already came with two towels and some nice shower/shampoo gel which we were not expecting.
2)The hotel does fresh coffee and tea at a very reasonable price.
3)Excellent and friendly customer-focused service from reception staff. The two girls who checked us in (Eastern European) were both very pleasant and friendly.

We had booked a room without a window for the first night and a room with a window for the following two nights but we were "upgraded" to a room with a window for the whole of our stay, which was a very welcome surprise.

On the second day, I went to reception in the morning to pay for the use of tv for 2 days and instead of waiting for the 3pm check in time, the girl immediately activated it for us to use right away.

Also, we had one toilet roll for three days so I had to ask for more at reception. This was no trouble for the guys who gave us two rolls. Don't be afraid to ask reception for things you need.
These are examples of staff giving just a little bit more to make you feel valued.

Things that failed to meet our expectations:

1)The room was not as clean as people have said on here. There were blonde hairs from previous occupants on the floor (neither of us are blonde)
2)We knew the room would be small but it was smaller than we thought it would be. We have stayed in small rooms before (such as in Hong Kong Ibis) but this was the smallest we have ever stayed in.
3)I was looking forward to a view of Edinburgh. Unfortunately, the view was obstructed by the rooftop (see pics)
4)There was not a lot of space where to put things on. Some of it had to go on the floor.
5)The air in the room was either too cold or too warm. The air con temperature could be lowered or raised by 3 degrees but this meant that the room would be too cold or too warm. It was difficult to find the right temperature.
6)For some reason, the temperature in the communal areas of the hotel was always too hot and stuffy.
7)The beds are advertised as 5* but are nowhere near this in terms of comfort. The first night I struggled to sleep and kept waking up as the double bed was too narrow for us and not long enough. Our bed at home is bigger and comfier! I have stayed in truly 5* beds (Sofitel) and this was nothing like it!

Getting a good night's sleep is one of the essentials of staying in a hotel and we did not sleep well during our stay. For this reason, unfortunately, I do not feel that I can rate the hotel higher than average. Having said that, I would still recommend the Tune concept and may stay at another Tune hotel in future.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank filthiestfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray C, General Manager at Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
Many thanks for your comprehensive comments. Its always nice to see a well thought out reflection of a persons experience. I am sorry that we did not meet all of your expectations this time round and very sorry that we did not hit the cleanliness target. If you had mentioned this we would have put it right at the time. Another time perhaps.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Our room at Tune Hotel was nothing impressive. The room is windowless and tiny. It is pretty much a budget hotel and you have to pay extra if you want toiletries, TV, wireless, hairdryer and safe to be provided. But we paid only total of GBP60++ for two nights (inclusive of the extra amenities), and if you only need to room to wash and sleep, this is actually a great place to stay. The room was very clean and new, albeit not very soundproof (we could hear doors opening and closing clearly).

The hotel is just across the road from Haymarket Station (we made the mistake of alighting at Waverly Station, but luckily it is just a 10-15min walk to Haymarket and there are many buses we could take to Princes Street). But be warned that there is NOTHING to see at Haymarket. Maybe due to the roadworks at that area (the entire main road is closed off), Haymarket seemed very empty compared to the bustling Princes St.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neyeis144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray C, General Manager at Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
Many thanks for your response. Sounds like you enjoyed Edinburgh. Just to say again, as often as I can, that the only way of getting a windowless room is by choice and it is the cheapest option. Tram works are on going in Edinburgh for the rest of this year. They would have been gone from Haymarket by end June however a few quality issues meant the contractors had to re do some of the track. So hopefully by end of July a clear path to Haymarket station will exist.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

The Tune is a bare bones hotel and they tell you this up front.
My mother, who is 88, and I stayed here in early June. The staff saw that my mom was using a cane and they nicely put us in a handicapped suite, which I know is bigger than a regular room, but not much.
The staff was nice and friendly and you really got what you paid for, which isn't much but it was fine for the night.
The location is right across the street from the Haymarket train station. There is a lot of construction going on around the area so you can't take a taxi to the front door they have to drop you off at the corner.
There is a Starbucks right across the street if you don't want to pay for coffee at the hotel.
I wouldn't recommend staying here for more than a couple of nights. There isn't even a chair in the room if you want to sit and watch some TV. But, if you don't need anything extra this is the place for you.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray C, General Manager at Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
Many thanks for your review. Tram works kind of on going in Edinburgh till the end of this year. It doesn't really hold you up or cause any major issues, it just isn't as pretty as it should be. Who needs a chair when you can lie on the bed watching TV. Thank you though. Hope we see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013 via mobile

We got an Itison deal for a stay in this hotel for £19 for the night! Unbelievably good value. The hotel was brand new. Whilst the rooms were small and if you wanted any extras they needed to be paid for, staying here was much less than getting a train home. Will be looking out for similar deals in future.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Toosoondeid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray C, General Manager at Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
The deal was a one off, so probably wont be pushing that price out very often, however, the earlier you book the cheaper the price. We always give earliest bookers the best price at the time of booking. Pleased that you enjoyed your experience and hope that we can welcome you back soon. just one point - if you want a latish night in Edinburgh the trains all stop running quite early, so you can make the most of your night out by a stopover.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

I have stayed in a couple of the Tune hotels in uk cities and they are a perfect base , clean , great staff , simple but stylish rooms and amazing value for money ! I stayed at the haymarket Tune hotel this week for 3 nights and I am staying at the Tune hotel in Liverpool street tomorrow , I just wish they would open some more uk sites next maybe Manchester , please ?? :)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelsbels32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray C, General Manager at Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
Many thanks for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back. Liverpool and Dublin next, unless you want to travel to Melbourne, India, Japan or Africa. Keep a look out for York, Birmingham, Glasgow and Manchester in the future. Rome wasn't built in a day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberfeldy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Brilliantly situated right opposite Haymarket station and on one of the main stops for the airport bus. The hotel is bright and clean, staff friendly and professional, and all the fittings and services good quality. As a walk-in finding I couldn't get further north at 10.30 at night, I paid £53 including TV. They charge extra for bits you may or may not need - eg hairdryer, telly, etc. Bed very comfortable, shower and loo clean and brand new. I decided not to pay extra £10 for a room with a window (although the views from here must be great) because all I wanted was to collapse. They don't do breakfast, but there's a nice Starbucks over the road and loads of places round about, so why sit in a hotel?

It looks great now because it's brand new - but time will tell, because these places often don't spend enough on maintenance and can get tatty quite quickly. But if you're looking for somewhere to crash with the minimum of fuss, I'd recommend it.

By the way - staff in terms of quality and professionalism were way ahead of my Travelodge experience.

Room Tip: At the moment, for many convoluted political reasons, work on the tram line in Edinburgh right in fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shadbury_bonwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray C, General Manager at Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
Many thanks for your review. You are absolutely right. Don't worry about the tram works. You can ignore them and get on with enjoying Edinburgh. They are not as bad as they seem. Should be done with them by end July outside the hotel anyway. We serve the best and cheapest Latte in the West End of Edinburgh in our reception.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
West End
Cityroomz Edinburgh
Cityroomz Edinburgh
#85 of 150 in Edinburgh
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Leonardo Hotel Edinburgh City Centre (Haymarket)
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#39 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,832 reviews
West End
Brooks Hotel Edinburgh
Brooks Hotel Edinburgh
#86 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh

Property: Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh
Address: 7 Clifton Terrace, Edinburgh EH12 5DR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located opposite Haymarket railway station in the heart of Edinburgh's West end and on both Tram and Bus routes with direct access to Edinburgh Airport (20 min) and the town centre (5 min). We are also within walking distance of Edinburgh International Conference Centre (5 min), Usher Hall (7 min), Princess Street (10 min) and Edinburgh Castle (20 min). Our rooms are clean, modern and compact (10 to 11sq metres) focussing on high-quality basics. All rooms are en-suite with power showers and Hypnos beds, air conditioning and heating with individual room control. Guests are safe and secure as access to the hotel is manned with 24 hour reception and key card access to all floors and rooms. Each room is equipped with a safe. Our unique pricing structure means that you only pay for what you use.Extras such as early check-in, late departure and luggage storage can only be requested during the guest's stay and subject to additional charge. Likewise daily housekeeping is available at an extra cost as rooms are automatically cleaned on day four of your stay. Tea/ Coffee and snacks are available from reception 24 hours a day with hotel access to a pub, Platform 5, adjacent to the hotel, with a wide range of food served between 7.00Am and 10.00Pm daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing