We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New year stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh
Ranked #105 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“New year stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

Booked this hotel with a travel company.
Can only repeat what good things everyone else has said reference the location and rooms.
I would also like to say what a brilliant service the staff all gave. The lovely man on reception on New Year's Eve was again working early on New Year's Day but he still had a smile on his face and a welcoming manner.
Hope senior management appreciate what they have

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Carol N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray C, General Manager at Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Many thanks for your comments - we certainly do appreciate the great team at the Tune Hotel Haymarket. Long may we serve our Tune guests. Literally at New Year. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    752
    936
    383
    116
    101
See reviews for
220
1,172
166
161
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (451)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights for new year (booked through a package from a travel company). Great location literally opposite Haymarket station so really easy to get around (trains, buses, taxis). Room was modern and clean, not the biggest but more than enough for a city break when you are only in the room to sleep. Easily walkable to Princes Street and city centre attractions. No restaurant but snacks and drinks reasonably priced. Would definitely recommend and stay again. Our package included tv, towels, wifi although I gather these are not always included as standard - again if you are on a city break and getting out and about its not really an issue.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Nataliehancock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray C, General Manager at Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Many thanks for your review and your recommendation. See you soon then Jan - March best rates. Watch this space for a brand new pub restaurant next door serving breakfasts and all day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed for new year, distance good about 15 minutes walk from Waverley train station on Princess Street or you can get a train from Waverley to Haymarket train station 2 minutes away and hotel across road. Welcoming reception staff, comfortable, clean room no window but didn't miss this, well controlled air conditioning in room, small room but all you need for short stay. Location good plenty of coffee shops, had lovely fish and chips Haymarket pub, corner of Morrison Street, Indian and Chinese, nearby. Thinking of staying here in the spring.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gordonkaren894
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray C, General Manager at Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Many thanks for your review. Sounds like Hogmanay was a success for you. Could come early spring! Check out the best rates ever on Tune Hotels Facebook till end March.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

This hotel is a great find as its clean , modern , and is close to the city centre . We found the prices of tea , coffee , crisps good compared to other hotels we have stayed at and comparable to high street prices which was a pleasant surprise . In terms of the room , we would say these are reasonable small but have everything u need , the only thing which would improve it would be some tea/ coffee maker in the room rather than having to wander down to reception to get one or the Starbucks opposite . We also found a Greggs the bakers just up the street towards the city centre which was great for a cheap roll on bacon or sausage in the morning . All in all great value for money . We'll be back .

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StuartGLAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray C, General Manager at Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
I was pleased to read the confidence of your decision to come back in the future. Thanks for noting the great value for money especially with regard to our fresh ground coffee and teas at reception. I totally understand your desire for room based tea/coffee facilities, however, with slightly confined spaces it wouldn't be very safety conscious. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

We stayed at the hotel only for a weekend, me my partner and our 20 month old daughter. The room is pretty small but has got all the comforts you need for a short stay. The bed is very comfortable and the bathroom was spotlessly clean. Flat screen TV and big window, overall it gave a good and cosy environment. The location is also very good, approximately 25-30 minutes walking to the city centre (walking with a toddler!). There is a bus stop just outside the hotel, both for city centre and for the Airlink to and from the airport. The staff is very nice and friendly as well. Very good quality for a very cheap price.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terra79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray C, General Manager at Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Many thanks for your review. Pleased to see that the hotel ticked all the boxes for you and that you had a great weekend in Edinburgh. We look forward to offering you our hospitality in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

Hotel was spot on. Room was spotless and very nice and was lovely and warm. Only thing to add would be a bar and this would be a great hotel. Would recommend this hotel for anyone bus right outside to the city centre.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Cherylb88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray C, General Manager at Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Many thanks for your review. Ref the bar - while "we" wont be operating it, there will be a brand spanking NEW 200 seat pub/restaurant with direct access from the hotel, hopefully from April. We anticipate that this will be a great asset for our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Tune Hotel Saturday 21st - Monday 23rd December and can't recommend it highly enough.
We booked a windowless room for the cheaper price and it was more than enough room for two of us and had a lovely clean en suite. The walk is about 10mins to the middle of both new or old town and there are plenty of restaurants and cafés surrounding the hotel.

We were in a room next to the door to the corridor and unfortunately, as a light sleeper, I got woken up quite a few times when the corridor door was opened and shut. I mentioned this on our way out to reception the next day and they were so apologetic and immediately said when we returned later in the day they'd have a new room for us.

When we returned it was a different receptionist but she already knew all about our situation and gave us our new key card and told us to return our original one whenever we wanted and that the next day would be fine to return it! Brilliant! We went to our new room to find we had been upgraded to a bigger room with a window AND been given complementary tv access (normally £4 for a day). This just made the weekend :)

Thank you to all the smiley, friendly people at Tune hotel. I will stay at this hotel every time I go to Edinburgh.

Only downfall: There is no parking for residents at this hotel but we parked on the street next to the hotel and were lucky our full day was a Sunday as it was free, otherwise it's £2 and hour and a max stay of 4 hours. There are car parks near though if needed.

Overall would recommend the Tune Hotel to anyone and everyone!!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank CEBall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray C, General Manager at Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
And a perfect review. Sincere thanks and look forward to offering you our hospitality again in the not too distant future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
West End
Cityroomz Edinburgh
Cityroomz Edinburgh
#85 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Leonardo Hotel Edinburgh City Centre (Haymarket)
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#39 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,809 reviews
West End
Brooks Hotel Edinburgh
Brooks Hotel Edinburgh
#86 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh

Property: Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh
Address: 7 Clifton Terrace, Edinburgh EH12 5DR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located opposite Haymarket railway station in the heart of Edinburgh's West end and on both Tram and Bus routes with direct access to Edinburgh Airport (20 min) and the town centre (5 min). We are also within walking distance of Edinburgh International Conference Centre (5 min), Usher Hall (7 min), Princess Street (10 min) and Edinburgh Castle (20 min). Our rooms are clean, modern and compact (10 to 11sq metres) focussing on high-quality basics. All rooms are en-suite with power showers and Hypnos beds, air conditioning and heating with individual room control. Guests are safe and secure as access to the hotel is manned with 24 hour reception and key card access to all floors and rooms. Each room is equipped with a safe. Our unique pricing structure means that you only pay for what you use.Extras such as early check-in, late departure and luggage storage can only be requested during the guest's stay and subject to additional charge. Likewise daily housekeeping is available at an extra cost as rooms are automatically cleaned on day four of your stay. Tea/ Coffee and snacks are available from reception 24 hours a day with hotel access to a pub, Platform 5, adjacent to the hotel, with a wide range of food served between 7.00Am and 10.00Pm daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Superbreak UK and Odigeo so you can book your Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing