We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good price and helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh
Ranked #106 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good price and helpful staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

Very good location, directly opposite Haymarket station me near the Airlink bus stop if you're coming from the airport. Room is a little small but it doesn't bother me, although if you used the fold down tray in front of the TV, you'll need to clim onto the bed to get to the other side.

Wifi and other things like TV are chargeable if you book directly from them, so book via booking.com to get these free

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank chayh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray C, General Manager at Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Many thanks! Just a point about that drop down shelf. Its kind of designed to take a laptop and sit on the end of the bed using it.

You are correct that we charge for the extra items, we also have a lesser price to compensate. Probably nothing in it in price, however the terms and conditions and freedom of options are much better with Tune website.
No cancellation and no alterations within the booking.com terms and conditions. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,320 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    765
    944
    389
    119
    103
See reviews for
227
1,186
168
165
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (458)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rothwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Tune hotel in Edinburgh is great if you want somewhere clean and simple to stay. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The centre of Edinburgh is only a 20min walk away or you can easily catch a bus right outside the hotel. Only downside was the beds were a bit 'lumpy', but I slept fine after all the walking! Recommend this hotel and they are opening a restaurant/ bar to link through in May which looked really smart.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray C, General Manager at Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Many thanks for your review. Quite correct about the pub restaurant next door with resident only direct access from the lobby! Greene King Belhaven leased the building from us, put in aprox £1,000,000 of development and open "Platform 5" on 02 May. Best value breakfasts in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Nice, clean and bright and you feel safe. However room are very small and if you use the drop down shelf you have to climb over the bed.
Also no kettle so after 3 nights all became a pain. To top it woke up at 9am Sunday morning by drilling. They are renovating the bar!

Room Tip: Ok for one night. No more
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray C, General Manager at Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Really sorry about the drilling - all finished now - AND - There is a saying that “it is always better to travel than to arrive”, however Platform 5 at Edinburgh’s famous Haymarket junction aims to challenge that notion.
The new bar & restaurant takes a nod to the Station and tram terminal opposite and is quickly establishing itself as a valuable asset both to those in need of refreshment before or after transit but also to local workers and residents including those staying at the Tune Hotel overhead.
Inside, the contemporary interior benefits from a spacious layout which is enhanced by glazing to the rear of the premises making a visit all the more relaxing. Within the bar area a well-equipped private room provides an ideal venue to hold meetings or events, with full food & drink service and audio visual resources to hand
Laid out over two levels, Platform five offers a panoramic view to Haymarket station through its bright frontage, where on a dry day customers can also enjoy an alfresco meal or drink on the licensed terrace. Our Bars have an extensive range of products to suit all tastes & pockets, including a wide range of world beers and Cask ales from £2.29 , a generous selection of Whiskies and a comprehensive wine list.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

I stayed at Tune Hotel Haymarket for one night in April 2014, and I booked this hotel due to the extremely low price and the proximity to Haymarket station (it is literally across the road from the station). The hotel's way of booking rooms was perfect for my needs, as all I needed was the room itself and towels, meaning the total came to £30 for the night. I couldn't get anywhere near this value in such a close proximity to the location I wanted, therefore the value for money this hotel offers is second to none.

Check-in was very fast and efficient, the lady on reception was very pleasant and handed over my room key within a couple of minutes. The room itself is very small and spotlessly clean, but again, was perfect for my needs. I checked in quite late on - around 6-7PM - and only spent the one night in the room, but found it to start getting a bit cramped and claustrophobic later on in the night. Therefore, I'd say that this hotel is perfect if using it as a base purely to sleep, where you won't spend a lot of time in the room. If you want to spend a lot of time in the room, I'd say this hotel wouldn't be ideal, as it's small size makes it a bit claustrophobic at times. Also, using it as a stopover to stay the night in proximity to Haymarket station is also ideal.

The bed itself is fairly comfortable and given the hotel's prime location to Haymarket, the noise proofing in the rooms is excellent and I experienced little to no noise from outside. Overall, this hotel is an immense value option if you want to stay close to Haymarket station or if you need somewhere to sleep for the night in Edinburgh without breaking the bank.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marklgraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray C, General Manager at Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thanks. And the motto is come to us and don't break your bank.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
99 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Great location.
The hotel is clean. The rooms are small but we only slept there,so it did not matter.
We had problems with the safe, it did not work.But the staff fixed it instantly without problems.
The staff are helpful and friendly.
wifi was god.
The only thing that is bad is the bed,it is too short and not so comfortable.
But for the price you pay you get a lot.
I recommend this hotel and if we come back we will stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray C, General Manager at Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
And we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

The hotel is located directly opposite Haymarket train station and an easy stroll up the hill will take you to Princes St in the heart of Edinburgh. Both normal buses as well as the airport (Airlink) bus have stops directly outside of the hotel and the trams were just being trialled whilst we visited and will be ready soon I believe. The hotel is well presented and clean. The rooms are small but it's to be expected for the price you pay and with the windows overlooking the street below they feel larger.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bridget d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray C, General Manager at Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Many thanks. Hope that we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troon
Level Contributor
65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

Great place to stay if it's only overnight or a couple of days. Straight across from Haymarket station and only a 10 minute walk along the road to the city centre.
The shower cubicle was a bit on the small side so beware if you're larger than average but overall great value for money with everything you need in your room.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scottishlassieTroon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray C, General Manager at Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Sincere thanks for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
West End
Cityroomz Edinburgh
Cityroomz Edinburgh
#83 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Leonardo Hotel Edinburgh City Centre (Haymarket)
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#41 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,837 reviews
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#45 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh

Property: Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh
Address: 7 Clifton Terrace, Edinburgh EH12 5DR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located opposite Haymarket railway station in the heart of Edinburgh's West end and on both Tram and Bus routes with direct access to Edinburgh Airport (20 min) and the town centre (5 min). We are also within walking distance of Edinburgh International Conference Centre (5 min), Usher Hall (7 min), Princess Street (10 min) and Edinburgh Castle (20 min). Our rooms are clean, modern and compact (10 to 11sq metres) focussing on high-quality basics. All rooms are en-suite with power showers and Hypnos beds, air conditioning and heating with individual room control. Guests are safe and secure as access to the hotel is manned with 24 hour reception and key card access to all floors and rooms. Each room is equipped with a safe. Our unique pricing structure means that you only pay for what you use.Extras such as early check-in, late departure and luggage storage can only be requested during the guest's stay and subject to additional charge. Likewise daily housekeeping is available at an extra cost as rooms are automatically cleaned on day four of your stay. Tea/ Coffee and snacks are available from reception 24 hours a day with hotel access to a pub, Platform 5, adjacent to the hotel, with a wide range of food served between 7.00Am and 10.00Pm daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing