We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh
Ranked #104 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Superb!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Great Location for a hotel. right beside the train station, pub and restaurant next door and a quick walk to the centre of Edinburgh. the whole hotel was spotless, cleanest place I have ever stayed. it has a great design, modern and cool. and the staff were so helpful and genuinely friendly! i will be recommending The Tune hotel to anyone who is heading to Edinburgh, and to be honest, if they decide on another hotel they are making a mistake!

Room Tip: You can pick between a room with no window or with a window. we picked no window but next time we wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StephDeane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray C, General Manager at Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Sincere thanks for a great review. Many thanks for the recommendations. My team and I appreciate your contribution.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    752
    933
    381
    115
    101
See reviews for
220
1,170
164
160
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (451)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Level Contributor
64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

While the hotel is fine, I didn't feel honored as a guest here. Everything is an up charge. Seriously? You pay extra for towels, hair dryers, TV, checking in a bit early, storing luggage, etc. While the value was good and it felt clean, I felt like a commodity. In the future, I'd skip it and find a nice B&B.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank golda57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray C, General Manager at Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
What can I say? We value all of our guests and that is one of the reasons we offer you, our guest, the choices of what you want to pay for. You are able to keep the price down if you want or need to, or just prefer to. However, if you require a relatively normal hotel experience, then just add on the comfort package at just £10 and use this price to compare with other hotels. I think you will see that we are still great value for money. We do what we say on our can/website :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wagga Wagga, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel was perfect for our needs. We were happy to walk to wherever we needed...

Laundromat nearby too..

Wi-fi, TV etc all included in our deal but better than the room was the pub attached. Ate breakfast and dinner here each of our 3 nights - great staff and very friendly!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank paintball89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray C, General Manager at Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Many thanks for your review. Glad to hear that the hotel was perfect. The pub restaurant is a new venture by Greene King Belhaven and they have invested heavily to create a great provision within the footprint of our building and direct access to our reception. Needless to say that we are delighted that they are there and providing a complete addition to the service to our guests. Hope we see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

I got this hotel through a cheap package deal. Although you normally have to pay extra for the towels, hairdryer, TV, WiFi and a safe - We had this all included in the price. The place was spotless. The staff very helpful and there is a large bar/restaurant next door which opens at 7am so you can get breakfast there. We were 15 minutes away by cab from the airport - a 30 minute walk to the Royal mile - Haymarket train station and M&S directly opposite and a taxi rank outside. It was everything we needed to have a short break in Scotland. Would definitely use this chain again

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank munchtastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray C, General Manager at Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thanks for that - allow me to expand on the next door offering -
There is a saying that “it is always better to travel than to arrive”, however Platform 5 at Edinburgh’s famous Haymarket junction aims to challenge that notion.
The new bar & restaurant takes a nod to the Station and tram terminal opposite and is quickly establishing itself as a valuable asset both to those in need of refreshment before or after transit but also to local workers and residents including those staying at the Tune Hotel overhead.
Inside, the contemporary interior benefits from a spacious layout which is enhanced by glazing to the rear of the premises making a visit all the more relaxing. Within the bar area a well-equipped private room provides an ideal venue to hold meetings or events, with full food & drink service and audio visual resources to hand
Laid out over two levels, Platform five offers a panoramic view to Haymarket station through its bright frontage, where on a dry day customers can also enjoy an alfresco meal or drink on the licensed terrace. Our Bars have an extensive range of products to suit all tastes & pockets, including a wide range of world beers and Cask ales from £2.29 , a generous selection of Whiskies and a comprehensive wine list.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Can't fault the location, literally opposite Haymarket Train Station, 20 minutes leisure walk to Princes Street. Staffs - friendly and helpful. Small but functional rooms.
However, there's no heating in the bathroom, be prepared to freeze once you've opened the shower door! A small blood stain on my duvet cover.
I would hesitate to stay here in the winter as it wasn't that cold during my visit but my friend and I both found the bathroom too cold...and the blood stain on duvet cover as a hygienic reason.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mingowingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray C, General Manager at Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Very sincere apologies about the duvet cover. These things don't usually slip by our eagle eyed housekeepers or the excellent laundry services that we use. We will have to do better! Sorry that you felt cold. A small secret to pas on - just ask at reception and we can increase the temperature range of the air management system. I reckon you had one of the accessible rooms with the large bathrooms. I use these whenever I stop over on my GM nights. Hot shower makes up for the cold stone tiles I think.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

The concept of the hotel is simple - basic stuff (bed, shower and heating/AC) is included in the initial price, if you want anything extra - you pay for it, or bring your own. Staff is friendly, helpful, location great, just ask for the off-street room. There are couple of cons here too - you can hear the ventilation a little bit as well as TV playing in the next room if it is on. It is worthwhile the money though!

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray C, General Manager at Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Many thanks for your review. I say you cant have everything! My wife says why not! Hope we see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Stayed at the tune hotel for 2 nights. We were very pleased with our choice of Hotel. We are already planning another trip to Edinburgh and will be staying at the tune hotel. Very friendly staff. The restaurant joined to it served an amazing breakfast. We would love to try there main menu as well.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank margaretholmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray C, General Manager at Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Many thanks and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

May I take the liberty - There is a saying that “it is always better to travel than to arrive”, however Platform 5 at Edinburgh’s famous Haymarket junction aims to challenge that notion.
The new bar & restaurant takes a nod to the Station and tram terminal opposite and is quickly establishing itself as a valuable asset both to those in need of refreshment before or after transit but also to local workers and residents including those staying at the Tune Hotel overhead.
Inside, the contemporary interior benefits from a spacious layout which is enhanced by glazing to the rear of the premises making a visit all the more relaxing. Within the bar area a well-equipped private room provides an ideal venue to hold meetings or events, with full food & drink service and audio visual resources to hand
Laid out over two levels, Platform five offers a panoramic view to Haymarket station through its bright frontage, where on a dry day customers can also enjoy an alfresco meal or drink on the licensed terrace. Our Bars have an extensive range of products to suit all tastes & pockets, including a wide range of world beers and Cask ales from £2.29 , a generous selection of Whiskies and a comprehensive wine list.

Fantastic value - just like the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Leonardo Hotel Edinburgh City Centre (Haymarket)
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Cityroomz Edinburgh
Cityroomz Edinburgh
#86 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
Edinburgh Capital Hotel
#93 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,125 reviews
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#41 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh

Property: Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh
Address: 7 Clifton Terrace, Edinburgh EH12 5DR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located opposite Haymarket railway station in the heart of Edinburgh's West end and on both Tram and Bus routes with direct access to Edinburgh Airport (20 min) and the town centre (5 min). We are also within walking distance of Edinburgh International Conference Centre (5 min), Usher Hall (7 min), Princess Street (10 min) and Edinburgh Castle (20 min). Our rooms are clean, modern and compact (10 to 11sq metres) focussing on high-quality basics. All rooms are en-suite with power showers and Hypnos beds, air conditioning and heating with individual room control. Guests are safe and secure as access to the hotel is manned with 24 hour reception and key card access to all floors and rooms. Each room is equipped with a safe. Our unique pricing structure means that you only pay for what you use.Extras such as early check-in, late departure and luggage storage can only be requested during the guest's stay and subject to additional charge. Likewise daily housekeeping is available at an extra cost as rooms are automatically cleaned on day four of your stay. Tea/ Coffee and snacks are available from reception 24 hours a day with hotel access to a pub, Platform 5, adjacent to the hotel, with a wide range of food served between 7.00Am and 10.00Pm daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Superbreak UK and Priceline so you can book your Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing