We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great modern concept in accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh
Ranked #109 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Cairns Region, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A great modern concept in accommodation”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

I love the fact you can chose what you want in terms of adds on and pay only for what you want, is kind of cool. Paid extra for towels and got great big awesome ones! The room was adequate for our stay, as we stayed before and after a tour to the highlands so was not in the room except to sleep. The check in staff were great and very accommodating and great security as you need a room card for everything. Perfect location and the restaurant next door is amazing value with very tasty food!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aquaox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray C, General Manager at Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Many thanks for your review. Delighted that you have read the can and benefited from the concept, because we do what we say on it. We look forward to offering our hospitality again.

Kind regards
Ray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,364 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    771
    957
    402
    125
    109
See reviews for
231
1,203
170
174
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (469)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Located in haymarket only a ten minute walk into the city centre. Room are nice, nice shower. Reception staff was really welcoming on arrival. The restaurant/pub next door was really nice too, great breakfast! Would defiantly recommend!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oneflower23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray C, Front Office Manager at Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your kind review regarding the location, room, power shower and staff here at the Tune Hotel Haymarket. We are glad to hear that you sampled the new restaurant / bar Platform5 next door to the hotel. This is operated by Greene King Belhaven and they offer a great range of food throughout the day (7am-11pm) at a great price. Not to forget the excellent Ales they also have on offer from JUST £2.49 a pint!. Glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope we see you soon

Kind Regards

David Taylor – Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK Sheffield
Level Contributor
202 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Great location right by the Haymarket. Short walk to town or on a major bus route. 25 yards from the railway.

The tariff of having Internet, TV, hairdryer, Towels and safe is an interesting one! Though the rooms are small they are fucntional and the shower was good.

If you are looking for an inexpensive, clean overnight stay, this is the one for you. Just be prepared to pay for everything other than your bed!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray C, Front Office Manager at Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking time to review the hotel. The Tune Hotel Haymarket is located in the West End directly across from the Haymarket Train Station, its just 25 minutes to Edinburgh Airport by bus or tram and just 15 minute’s walk to the Princess Street main shopping and the city centre. Here at tune hotels we believe that you should only pay for what you use. You can add a comfort package to your stay for just £10 and that includes: TV, Wi-Fi, Towels and Toiletries, In Room Safe and Wi-Fi. If you do not require any of these you can save a little money and only purchase what you need.

Kind Regards

David Taylor – Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Hi .. When first I booked this Hotel . . I really was not made aware . . that the room rate I chose . . would be for a "windowless" room . . . It was only after payment was made . . that ' windowless ' would be a feature (highlighted). I immediately made contact with the Hotel . . advised them that as a rather senior citizen . . windowless was unsatisfactory . . could they change it . . but . . they advised . . only on check in would they review same . When I did check in . . they advised it was
Staff were efficient, helpful . . and the Hotel itself was 'ultra modern' high tech. and spotless.
.

Room Tip: Choose a " Room with a View "
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heymon2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray C, Front Office Manager at Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Here at the hotel we have both rooms with window and without, to save a little more money you can opt for a room without. We know that this is not suited to everyone but the option is there should you wish to take it. I am glad to hear that we were able to help in this instance by offering a room upgrade to a room with a window. This option is not guaranteed and would be subject to availability on the day of arrival. Thank you for your review.

Kind Regards

David Taylor – Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We absolutely loved this hotel and would definitely be happy to stay again! I loved the whole look of the hotel it was extremely modern just my style. I can't stand hotels that are all brown and green and mouldy looking. This was very well decorated just right for a young couple.

The whole place was spotless too. From the reception to the stairwells to the rooms it was extremely clean which is very important to me. If I don't feel like a place is clean I can't relax in it at all.

The location was fantastic. 30 minutes from the airport and we were right outside our hotel. Close enough for a comfortable walk into town but not too close that it was very noisy and busy. It would of been very handy for the bus or tram into town too however we had gorgeous weather so chose to walk everywhere anyway.

The staff couldn't of been nicer, friendlier or more helpful we really liked them. That includes the staff in the bar platform 5 beside the hotel. So handy having that right there!

The room was great. Yea it was small but we don't go on holiday to hang out in a hotel room. I don't get people who do that I find it weird...get out and make the most of it! Again we loved the look of it very modern, kind of like a futuristic pod! Lots of space to put bags and lots of shelves, under the TV, above the bed, by the mirrors and in the bathroom. So despite being small there was plenty of room. Bed and shower were lovely no complaints there.

There were only really two things that weren't great about it. One was kind of our fault, I didn't even think about it when I booked a windowless room but realised then that when you wake up in the morning and get ready to head out you've no idea what the weather is like! So dressing for the day can be a guessing game! The other thing is that we found the temperature of the room quite difficult to control. It got either too hot or too cold quite quickly. Couldn't seem to get it just right! But wasn't a big deal.

So over all...loved it!

Room Tip: Get a window room I'd say the temperature in them would be better and you can see if it's su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aishling O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray C, Front Office Manager at Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your kind review. We are glad to hear you loved the hotel and the hotel style; we have been open for just a year and half so we are still fresh and new, no brown and green here. Thank you for your comments on the cleanliness, staff and transport to name a few. As mentioned we have rooms with window and without, you have to book a room without a window to get one, we would never put a guest who has booked a room with a window in one without. Please come back soon.

Kind Regards

David Taylor – Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We paid for early check-in so we arrived at 12 noon, we were greeted by two very friendly receptionists. As the hotel does not offer much food, we asked if there was any places to eat nearby and the receptionist guided us to a map on the wall (near the door to the rooms).She told us places which do breakfast for the mornings too. Very helpful! She explained that the construction going on next door would be a pub but would also serve hot food but would not be ready for another few months. To get through to the rooms you are given a card which you must swipe to get into bedrooms, the floor your room is on and also your room. The card must be placed in a slot in the wall to allow electrical equipment to work, good for saving energy. The room is well compact, but we knew this before we got there. There were two of us and we managed fine. The bathroom was of reasonable size considering it had a toilet, shower and sink in it. Shower stayed warm which was brilliant. The only downside to the room is that there is no where really to put cases. However cases can be kept at a small fee. The air conditioning worked brilliant in our room, contradicting some of the other reviews on this website. Make sure to pack extra coat hangers as the hotel only provides a handful. We stayed facing the Haymarket station, amazing views of the roof tops of the capital. Stayed on the fourth floor and left window open at night. We heard the night time traffic but it was not too loud. The hotel itself is situated within walking distance of the royal mile. Took us around 15 minutes. We also walked to Edinburgh zoo which took around 25 minutes.

The rooms are small and compact however they are comfortable! So long as you do not bring more than 2 large cases you should be fine. Perhaps bring an extension cord for plugs as there are not many in rooms. The hotel was brilliant and excellent value for money, I think we paid £75 for 2 nights. Will most definitely be back.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Haymarket station are relatively noisy if window kept open. However, nothing that will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alanna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray C, Front Office Manager at Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your review, there are many places around the hotel to go for a food ranging from small local cafes, Chinese, Indian, Italian and Japanese restaurants all close by to name a few, our team are always happy to recommend places to go. I am glad to hear you took time out to go to the Zoo, this is around 20 minutes from the hotel and is easily accessible by the number 26 bus. It is good to hear that you enjoyed your room, we recommend that cases are stored underneath the bed which will free up room and give you additional space. Thank you again and we will look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards

David Taylor – Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jellico, Tennessee
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The Tune has pros and cons about the property, as do most. Pros include the hotel staff, Vlad who helped us daily to find attractions and restaurants. He, and others in the lobby, were so kind to take time out of their day to be our travel agent away from home. The location of the property is good. There is a bus stop and train station right across the road from the hotel. The Royal Mile itself is a walkable distance, we walked and rode the bus both from the hotel to downtown. The cons are also apparent while staying in the hotel. Upon walking into the room I thought I may have went into a closet. You cannot walk all the way around the bed without touching the wall, the television, or the window. There may be 12 inches surrounding the bed. There is no where to unpack your clothes or store suit cases. The shower is so small you had better not drop the soap. There is air conditioning which has a minimum temperature of 20 Celsius, it felt warmer than that in our room. They do not service the room, so you had better hang up your wet towels to dry. Everything in the hotel is extra. If you check in early or check out late there will be a fee. We asked to store our luggage while waiting on the flight and were charged for bag storage. All in all it wasn't a horrible experience, the breathtaking views of the area made us forget all about the itsy bitsy spaces. Scotland you are beautiful and thank you for sharing your views with us.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DonnaSingley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray C, Front Office Manager at Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your kind words regarding our staff, we believe we have a great knowledge of Edinburgh and we are also happy to share this information. Here at the Tune Hotel Haymarket our rooms are space efficient with the average size of a room being 10 to 11 square meters in size we are glad you enjoyed some of the stunning views from the hotel across to the Pentland Hills and around the west end of the city.

Kind Regards

David Taylor – Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
West End
Cityroomz Edinburgh
Cityroomz Edinburgh
#84 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#39 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,874 reviews
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#44 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh

Property: Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh
Address: 7 Clifton Terrace, Edinburgh EH12 5DR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located opposite Haymarket railway station in the heart of Edinburgh's West end and on both Tram and Bus routes with direct access to Edinburgh Airport (20 min) and the town centre (5 min). We are also within walking distance of Edinburgh International Conference Centre (5 min), Usher Hall (7 min), Princess Street (10 min) and Edinburgh Castle (20 min). Our rooms are clean, modern and compact (10 to 11sq metres) focussing on high-quality basics. All rooms are en-suite with power showers and Hypnos beds, air conditioning and heating with individual room control. Guests are safe and secure as access to the hotel is manned with 24 hour reception and key card access to all floors and rooms. Each room is equipped with a safe. Our unique pricing structure means that you only pay for what you use.Extras such as early check-in, late departure and luggage storage can only be requested during the guest's stay and subject to additional charge. Likewise daily housekeeping is available at an extra cost as rooms are automatically cleaned on day four of your stay. Tea/ Coffee and snacks are available from reception 24 hours a day with hotel access to a pub, Platform 5, adjacent to the hotel, with a wide range of food served between 7.00Am and 10.00Pm daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Hotel.de, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing