We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for a city break” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh
Ranked #105 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Perfect for a city break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

My partner and I stayed here in March for 2 nights. As there is no car park we chose to travel by train and we were delighted to see how close the hotel was when we walked out of the train station. The rooms are compact but immaculate and all you need for a crash pad. Unfortunately the restaurant hadn't opened yet when we stayed but there is so much choice available within a very close vicinity it was difficult trying to pick somewhere.

Next time we are in edinburgh we would definitely pay a return visit.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillys83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray C, General Manager at Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Agreed - perfect location. See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    752
    936
    383
    116
    101
See reviews for
220
1,172
166
161
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (451)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

No room for any size of suitcase in the room. No windows meant no ventilation and we were tired constantly because of this. The bathroom door is glass so my friend could see me going to the toilet or having a shower - very uncomfortable. My advice would be to definitely stay in a room with a window and 2 single beds (as these rooms my have more suitcase space. It astounds me that a hotel doesn't provide space for even one suitcase..
However, the room was very clean and modern and we were thankful for the air conditioner providing some sort of relief from the stuffiness of the room with otherwise no ventilation.
Not a choice I will be making again!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Carla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray C, General Manager at Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Just a few points to mention. Rooms without a window are purchased out of choice. They are cheaper (usually by £10 a night) than rooms with windows. The majority of our 179 bedrooms have windows. Storage for cases is under bed - by design. The bathroom door is frosted glass, Adds to the modernistic feel of the accommodation. Fresh air from the roof is pumped in to the windowless rooms plus extraction plus air con controlled in the room. Sorry that the room style didn't suit you. Pop back and have a room with a view next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coventry uk
Level Contributor
159 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

I stayed at this hotel for one night.

Due to train chaos I didn't arrive until midnight. Check in was easy.

The rate I paid through Booking.com included towels, tv, wifi etc. But I was shocked these were optional extras for others.

The room was extremely tiny, not good for anyone claustrophobic. The bed was tiny and rock hard. The linen was thin and didn't cover the whole bed. It was looked grubby.

The bathroom was very small, but clean.

Quite a few of the tv channels did not work.

The worst issue was that the room was so noisy. I was awoken several times in the night, by banging and traffic. As a lone female traveller, I didn't feel very secure.

The pub next door did a lovely breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank couchguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray C, General Manager at Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
I was sorry to learn that you had disrupted travel plans. Not the best way to enjoy our hospitality. Particularly sorry that you encountered noisy traffic and banging. As you read other reviews, you can see that most have not had disturbed nights, so I am very sorry that this was the case for you. I will look in detail at the room you were allocated and review its presentation. Understand your observation given that you booked through a third party. We are very up front about the great cost saving opportunities that some of our guests can enjoy and do enjoy playing with what they want or need, to keep down the price. Have a look at the Tune website if you have another visit to Edinburgh. Let me know you are coming and I will ensure that you get a nice quiet room.

Kind regards
Ray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield, Ohio
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

A pleasant clean hotel ideal for a short stay. The staff were very helpful, honest and friendly .
The hotel is well situated with easy access from the airport and next to the train station. A big disadvantage is no parking facilities at the hotel, I was given directions for a cheap parking garage over the weekend which was advertised at five pounds per day unfortunately this seems to end at midnight on Sunday and was actually charged thirty pounds on the Monday morning. Probably if I was on a short stay I would used the hotel but would get around by taxi rather than hiring a car..

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Techdirect45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray C, General Manager at Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Very pleased to read that you had a pleasant stay with us. Sorry about the parking. Edinburgh City hotels have limited if no parking and its not the easiest and certainly not the cheapest city to bring a car. My advice to would be car drivers is to leave the car on the outskirts - eg Ferrytoll and catch the bus or train in to the centre. Parking is then free and the bus fares reasonable. You would be amazed how many commuters do just that. Unfortunately Edinburgh City Planning Department would not allow parking at the developed Tune Hotel in Haymarket wishing to encourage visitors to come by train/bus/tram.

Kind regards

Ray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brockworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Stayed in this hotel fr two nights in June 2014 . Main reason for choosing it was its proximity to Edinburgh International Conference Centre. It was only 5 minutes walk from the centre. To leave my bag in reception I was charged £2 when I checked in in and on day of check out. This was the first time I had to pay to leave my bah in a hotel where I was staying. Room was small but clean and modern. I could only find one electricity socket which was slightly inconvenient. Room was not cleaned and pin was as I left it when I came back on my second night. Primary advantage is location in front of Haymarket station. Not sure if I would choose to stay there again although it is very convenient for a single business traveller.

Room Tip: Room on sixth floor was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dendoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray C, General Manager at Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Really sorry that you went away with that impression. The concept is to keep the costs to you down by stripping out those elements that you do not want or don't really want to pay for. We do not service rooms every day and therefore the cost savings are yours. It wasn't something that we overlooked. The way the charges work is that if you use something, then it is charged for so baggage drop is a service at the hotel which enables you to get out and enjoy Edinburgh, or as in your case leave your luggage while you went to the conference without having to carry it with you or check in a day earlier. Very cost effective at £2. If you didn't want or need to drop your luggage why would you want to pay for it? Every service in a hotel has to be paid for whether it is used or not, so we only charge if you use it. Seems fair? Just as a comparison - Waverley Station charges £10 per bag over 3 hours. I can see that you are a seasoned reviewer and we will take your view into account when looking at how we continue to work with add on charges. As you said though - its a great location especially its proximity to the Edinburgh International Conference Centre. Just 5 mins walk.

Kind regards
Ray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
141 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

The rooms are not extremely big but suffiicent. You pay for what you get. I had goods nights of sleep in this hotel. It was very clean te staff adress and correct promtly any issue you may have. Your are located from walking distance of many attraction of the city.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StephfromMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray C, General Manager at Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Many thanks for your review. From a well seasoned reviewer we appreciate your input and hope that we see you again soon.

Kind regards
Ray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns Region, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

I love the fact you can chose what you want in terms of adds on and pay only for what you want, is kind of cool. Paid extra for towels and got great big awesome ones! The room was adequate for our stay, as we stayed before and after a tour to the highlands so was not in the room except to sleep. The check in staff were great and very accommodating and great security as you need a room card for everything. Perfect location and the restaurant next door is amazing value with very tasty food!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aquaox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray C, General Manager at Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Many thanks for your review. Delighted that you have read the can and benefited from the concept, because we do what we say on it. We look forward to offering our hospitality again.

Kind regards
Ray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
West End
Cityroomz Edinburgh
Cityroomz Edinburgh
#85 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Leonardo Hotel Edinburgh City Centre (Haymarket)
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#39 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,806 reviews
West End
Brooks Hotel Edinburgh
Brooks Hotel Edinburgh
#86 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh

Property: Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh
Address: 7 Clifton Terrace, Edinburgh EH12 5DR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located opposite Haymarket railway station in the heart of Edinburgh's West end and on both Tram and Bus routes with direct access to Edinburgh Airport (20 min) and the town centre (5 min). We are also within walking distance of Edinburgh International Conference Centre (5 min), Usher Hall (7 min), Princess Street (10 min) and Edinburgh Castle (20 min). Our rooms are clean, modern and compact (10 to 11sq metres) focussing on high-quality basics. All rooms are en-suite with power showers and Hypnos beds, air conditioning and heating with individual room control. Guests are safe and secure as access to the hotel is manned with 24 hour reception and key card access to all floors and rooms. Each room is equipped with a safe. Our unique pricing structure means that you only pay for what you use.Extras such as early check-in, late departure and luggage storage can only be requested during the guest's stay and subject to additional charge. Likewise daily housekeeping is available at an extra cost as rooms are automatically cleaned on day four of your stay. Tea/ Coffee and snacks are available from reception 24 hours a day with hotel access to a pub, Platform 5, adjacent to the hotel, with a wide range of food served between 7.00Am and 10.00Pm daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing