We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mean” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh
Ranked #104 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Mean”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

Hotel well located, clean but very, very small room. We knew that there was no service but there was nowhere to put clothes. So while I am happy, for the price you pay to operate out of my suitcase, there is an issue when there is no room other than on the bed to open your case. The pillows were dreadful and we had to ask for more and was surprised that we were not charged, because that is the trap they charge for everything. Upon our arrival we were an hour early for the room, but we could pay extra for early check-in, which meant they had a room available. So when we declined we enquired about leaving our luggage and there was a cloaking fee. Very mean. Even when we vacated the hotel we had to cloak our bags and pay again. We actually did not consider that this hotel was good value and thought it overpriced. Added with the attitude of trying to get more money out of people we would not stay there again or recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 455Naomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray C, Front Office Manager at Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Thank you for your review and comments regarding our location and cleanliness. Here at the Tune Hotel Haymarket we operate on a pay as you go system, we believe that you should only pay for the items you use within the room, why pay for a hairdryer if you are just not going to use it. We also charge a small fee of £2.00 per bag for luggage storage which is becoming common practice within Edinburgh, It would cost £9.00 to store luggage at Waverley Train Station per item and they are not open 24/7 so we believe our luggage storage is a great deal..

Kind Regards – David Taylor
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    752
    935
    383
    115
    101
See reviews for
220
1,172
166
160
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (451)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Located in a great spot! Near a tram stop and across from a train station. And easy to walk to a lot of things.
Very clean and modern.
We were annoyed by the lack of servicing, we read that it was every 3 days however it never happened. We had to dispose of our own rubbish and request toilet paper.. Also no space for storing luggage, even though they suggest under the bed - this is not right.
Air con couldn't be set to a low temp, we had a room without a window so we were very hot at night.
We paid a steep price for the room but didn't feel like it was value for money at all.
Would probably stay again if the price was cheaper for a bigger room, and if servicing was more frequent.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Megan_A25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray C, Front Office Manager at Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Thank you for your review and comments regarding location with Haymarket Train Station located just across the road from the hotel and the bus and tram stop also on our doorstep. We service our rooms after every third night to enable us to lower cost and in turn sell our rooms cheaper, this is also done to compliment environmental impact and works with the lifestyle approach to our concept. I am sorry to hear that you had to dispose of your own rubbish, we recommend leaving excess outside your door in the morning and our team would dispose of it, this is however something we are going to look in to further and will probably be introducing a different inclusive service in the near future that will enhance our guest’s experience. Additional toilet rolls can be collected or requested from the front desk team at any time and air conditioning temperatures can also be adjusted to your preference from the front desk. Minor changes can be undertaken in room however we are always happy to increase or decrease temperatures of individual rooms from the central control.

Kind Regards – David Taylor
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silloth cumbria
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Opposite the railway station , although small rooms everything clean and everything you require for a couple of nights stay , very good bar adjoined.close enough to walk to most places.Great weekend stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cufc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray C, Front Office Manager at Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Thank you for your kind review. I am glad to hear that you found our rooms clean and had a great weekend stay. Platform 5 situated just next to the hotel is a great asset offering food and drink from 7am until 1am operated by Greene King Belhaven. We will look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards - David Taylor
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Great location for the sights and train station. Restaurants close by including Starbucks. Rooms were very nice, comfy and clean but tiny. One thing that was unusual was the fact that there was no phone in the room. We were from outside Scotland, so no cell, and family had a hard time contacting us.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray C, Front Office Manager at Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Thank you for your kind review, we are located just across the road from Haymarket Train station and just a 15 minute walk to the corner of Princess Street. There are many restaurants / cafe’s / bars close by in the West End, Haymarket area including Starbucks as mentioned across the road. Thank you for your comments regarding our rooms being nice, comfy and clean.

Kind Regards – David Taylor
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Was a bit concerned after I made my initial booking but have to be honest and admit that I was really surprised. Yes it is what it says on its website and if you can accept that and stop to compare with the traditional hotels out there then you can see the positives. It was clean, modern, secure and the staff very helpful and then there is the location easy access to trains, buses, trams and taxis and actually the city centre is only a 15 minute walk away so you can't complain. Yes the rooms are small, yes there is very limited luggage space but if you are going on a break to spend all your time in your hotel room then this is not for you! Great location and I would have no problem staying here again. Even the fire alarm and evacuation on Saturday morning could not spoil things.

Room Tip: Double room at rear of hotel if you want your windows open but don't want to be disturbed by str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fredahills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray C, Front Office Manager at Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Thank you for your review. I am glad to hear you found the hotel clean, modern, secure, our staff helpful and the location good. Really sorry about the fire alarm on Saturday morning, this was activated by the detectors next door at Platform 5 and I would like to point out that this is not the norm. Please do come back soon.

Kind Regards – David Taylor
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

First impressions were very good. The hotel is very conveniently located opposite Haymarket Station. The staff were welcoming and friendly. The reception area and our bedroom were modern, bright and clean.

However, the room was cramped for two with very little storage space and limited facilities. More seriously, I was astounded to discover that the hotel only services the bedrooms once every three days. This meant that, for our six-night stay, beds were made, bins emptied and fresh towels provided only twice. This would be unacceptable in a basic guest-house, let alone a two-star hotel. Guests can obtain fresh towels more often but at extra cost: very mean!

So I would not stay at this hotel again, at least not for more than one night,



Room Tip: Don't stay at this hotel for more than one night and only with light luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
1 Thank 515David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray C, Front Office Manager at Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Thank you for your review. I am glad to hear that you found us conveniently located and that our team were both welcoming and friendly. The average size of a room at the Tune Hotel Haymarket is 10 to 11 square meters and we are transparent about this across all the booking websites. We clean our rooms after the 3rd night and an additional towel and toiletries set can be purchased from reception for a small fee of £2.00.

Kind Regards – David Taylor
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Sounds like common sense but it must be said: if you know exactly what you're getting when you book this hotel, you'll enjoy your stay.

The rooms are small, but very clean. The bed is spacious enough and comfortable. We had a room that faced the street, but we didn't find it noisy, even when we opened the window.

Things like toiletries, wi-fi, television, etc cost extra, unless you book it under a promotional rate that includes these things already.

Location-wise, it's really convenient. Right across from the Haymarket Railway station, the excellent shuttle bus from the airport stops a very short distance away, and great access to buses and trams. The walk to Princes Street and Edinburgh Castle is quite long, maybe 20 minutes, but it's a pleasant walk.

The staff are nice and friendly.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pamplem0usse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray C, Front Office Manager at Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Thank you for your review. I am glad to hear you found our rooms clean and the bed comfortable. Thank you also for your comment regarding our staff being nice and friendly it is appreciated by the team.

Kind Regards – David Taylor
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Leonardo Hotel Edinburgh City Centre (Haymarket)
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Cityroomz Edinburgh
Cityroomz Edinburgh
#86 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
Edinburgh Capital Hotel
#93 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,125 reviews
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#40 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh

Property: Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh
Address: 7 Clifton Terrace, Edinburgh EH12 5DR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located opposite Haymarket railway station in the heart of Edinburgh's West end and on both Tram and Bus routes with direct access to Edinburgh Airport (20 min) and the town centre (5 min). We are also within walking distance of Edinburgh International Conference Centre (5 min), Usher Hall (7 min), Princess Street (10 min) and Edinburgh Castle (20 min). Our rooms are clean, modern and compact (10 to 11sq metres) focussing on high-quality basics. All rooms are en-suite with power showers and Hypnos beds, air conditioning and heating with individual room control. Guests are safe and secure as access to the hotel is manned with 24 hour reception and key card access to all floors and rooms. Each room is equipped with a safe. Our unique pricing structure means that you only pay for what you use.Extras such as early check-in, late departure and luggage storage can only be requested during the guest's stay and subject to additional charge. Likewise daily housekeeping is available at an extra cost as rooms are automatically cleaned on day four of your stay. Tea/ Coffee and snacks are available from reception 24 hours a day with hotel access to a pub, Platform 5, adjacent to the hotel, with a wide range of food served between 7.00Am and 10.00Pm daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Superbreak UK so you can book your Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing